We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kodiak Treks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodiak Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kodiak Treks
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

To see the bears in their natural environment and not in a zoo, far from a multitude of tourists while living a unique experience away from civilization and give it to fishing, walking, look no further, go with kodiak trek!!
It is the journey of life we ​​live is made Bridget and Harry Dodge in July 2010. An unforgettable experience burn forever. Totally confident, it was with real professional. We would have liked that time lasts longer. Thank you!!
Audrey et Jérôme from France

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyetJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I am sorry it's taken this long to write this review. Note, our trip was August 2006, but Trip Advisor doesn't allow selecting a date going that that far. I think a review can still be helpful, since our memories of our stay are still very clear.
We have traveled to many special places and I realize when people ask "what's been the best?" that Kodiak Treks needs to be shared with others.
We spent 4 nights at Kodiak Treks several years ago and saw more than 60 bears during that time. It was a priviledge to see these magnificent creatures in a "low-impact" setting. We were told that we would have done well if the bears never knew we were there, so we did our best to remain quiet and hidden.
We never felt unsafe, although we were in the midst of very large predators (and their cubs!). Harry Dodge earned our trust by his experience and knowledge of Kodiak Bears (and he carried a rifle just in case!)
Accommodations were simple, small cabins, with an outhouse (ours had no door, but we were so far into the wilderness this was not a problem!). No electricity except in the main house where we had meals cooked by Brigid Dodge. Nights were cold, but the cabin was warm with propane heater (and heavy covers).
Although there are so many wonderful places to visit we rarely repeat a place, we have thought about going back to Kodiak Treks one day. In the meantime, if you want the best possible bear viewing experience in a natural, quiet setting, we highly recommend this for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: We liked our cabin, the "Honeymoon Cabin".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diver-Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OR
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My stay at Kodiak Treks was an incredible adventure. The scenery is beautiful and the bear-viewing simply astonishing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank dineOwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2008

We spent several days with Harry Dodge, Kodiak Treks, at his remote wilderness lodge for a bear viewing experience. We were not prepared for the magnificent, amazing and awesome creatures that we had the opportunity to encounter. We saw more bears than we could count along the beach of Uyak Bay feasting on salmon making their way to the spawning grounds. We were privileged to watch a sow with her 4 cubs - truely a rare occurence - interact at one location at the mouth of a creek. We watched many other bears, some closer than we even imagined we would be, in their own natural world. Camping out in bear country is not for the faint of heart! In addition to the bears, we were treated to watching sea birds of all kinds, bald eagles, Sitka black tailed deer, humpback whale, and seals. This was truly a trip of a lifetime!

Helpful?
5 Thank jano-staugustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodiak Island hotels
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kodiak Inn and Convention Center
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Kodiak
Comfort Inn Kodiak
#4 of 5 in Kodiak Island
53 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cranky Crow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodiak Treks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodiak Treks

Property: Kodiak Treks
Address: 11754 S Russian Creek Rd, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-9319
Region: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Kodiak Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing