We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Location is the key thing about this place. Nice overall and I would stay again. Easy walking to shops and restaurants. The hotels restaurant is good, on Wednesday night B&B a very good deal.
Book early.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    80
    68
    24
    2
See reviews for
38
49
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san jose, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel looks nice. The Hot tub is broken and has been for awhile. They advertise a BBQ area; it is 1 charcoal grill like the type in a state park, outside right under the trees. The drain in the shower is so slow you end up in 8" of water at the end. The wiring is all messed up! The plug in the bathroom is connected to the light switch so you have to have the fan/light on to make coffee, use the hair dryer or night light. The ceiling fan turns itself on during the night and it also turns on the light; even while turned off. There is very little parking!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manistique,Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel is outdated and smells musty-parking near the hotel is almost impossible-our harbor view was standing in a corner between the sofa and TV stand and looking out a dirty window. You are within walking distance of some things but really need a car to get around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank MEADAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

In town for work. Nice staff, rooms against the hillside were quiet, fast internet, comfortable bed. Food was actually pretty good at the restaurant / bar including the free breakfast. This town is expensive, so the free breakfast was helpful. Great location (in town) so it's within walking distance of restaurants, including the Kodiak Island Brewing Co. I will return for more work and will definitely stay here again. Outside of a pricey B&B, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I'm a frequent traveler and have been to many (not so populated) cities across the country. This hotel looks very warm and cozy from the outside and the walking into the lobby you know you have arrived in Kodiak Alaska. It has a log cabin feel with a stuffed Kodiak bear to welcome you at the entrance. Unfortunately, this is where the pleasantries end. The inside of the room is dated. The wooden furniture while attempting a rustic look ends up feeling old and not to clean (not to say it isn't). I arrived in the summer and some days it feels warm inside the room. The thermostat will let you THINK that it will make the AC work but upon calling the front desk I was informed that there IS NO AC in this hotel. Great! Lets turn on the fan. The fan makes so much noise at night that you have to chose between sleeping or having some air blowing at you. The TV and cable box remote controls are two separate items and both work intermittently. The whole room smelled like a smoker's den. Who in the world allows smoking in rooms these days?!! There's even an ash tray on the desk top! Breakfast is better than the Hampton inn (if you're fed up with their breakfast like me) but today I found myself pouring orange juice from a bottle labeled "Maple Syrup" urghhhh. The breakfast "staff" behind the bar seems to care so little about their job that it makes you wonder how they have one. Folks, stay here if you must (you wont find bugs, roaches,dead bodies or sleep uneasy at night) but you have been warned. Many people say "It's good for what it is". If they mean its good for Kodiak, I am not impressed. Being a national chain, they may want to take some notes from their friends across the bay. Next time I will rather stay at a B&B than staying here.

Advice to management: Rather than making excuses and providing counter facts, please put your efforts at making this a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice in 8 days. We had two different rooms. One was in the older and one in the newer part of the facility. Both rooms were fine, we were satisfied with both. The service was very good. One day the room was only partially serviced but this wasn't really a problem. All the staff were very friendly. The included breakfast was very good by the standards of similar facilities. The wifi worked well. We would choose to stay here again should we return to Kodiak. We had dinner in the hotel twice. The food was fine, the service at dinner was spotty.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chingachgook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a great place to stay in rural Alaska. The are lots of bad choices when traveling throughout Alaska, this is one of the really good ones. The staff is super friendly and helpful. I left my cell phone charger at home and my phone ran out of power. They had a spare and lent it to me! The restaurant is first rate and the service is superior. You just can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodiak Island hotels
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Kodiak
Comfort Inn Kodiak
#4 of 5 in Kodiak Island
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shelikof Lodge
Shelikof Lodge
#5 of 5 in Kodiak Island
27 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranky Crow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center

Property: Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
Address: 236 W Rezanof Drive, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-6044 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kodiak Inn and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kodiak Island
Kodiak Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing