We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bug bite? Unfinished bathroom cleaning? No thanks.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I got a bug bite on my neck that I think happened in the room on the bed. I'm hoping it was an unruly mosquito and not something else, but it itched fiercely, so I headed for the shower. Went to use the shower and found a towel over the curtain area. Our bed had been made but maybe they got interrupted because it was a damp used towel. Not bad enough to change rooms but our experience at A Channel View B and B later in the trip was so superior I wouldn't ever stay here again. Only stayed here because needed a place without 2 night minimums. Good breakfast provided. Sufficient for one night but not impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Storyteller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWKodiakInn, General Manager at Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your input on TripAdvisor. In regards to a bug bite you received while on Kodiak Island, I cannot speculate as to the location in Kodiak that you were bitten, as we are close to nature even in town.
I apologize the room was not complete and ready for you upon check-in, and I have spoken with the head housekeeper to make sure we maintain rooms that are clean and ready for our hotel guests.

Thank you,

Susan Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a nice hotel, very clean, and friendly staff. Would recommend to family, friends or co-workers to stay for whatever reason. Located right in the middle of town,but still quiet. Walking distance to the big processing plants if that is your business.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Location is the key thing about this place. Nice overall and I would stay again. Easy walking to shops and restaurants. The hotels restaurant is good, on Wednesday night B&B a very good deal.
Book early.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel looks nice. The Hot tub is broken and has been for awhile. They advertise a BBQ area; it is 1 charcoal grill like the type in a state park, outside right under the trees. The drain in the shower is so slow you end up in 8" of water at the end. The wiring is all messed up! The plug in the bathroom is connected to the light switch so you have to have the fan/light on to make coffee, use the hair dryer or night light. The ceiling fan turns itself on during the night and it also turns on the light; even while turned off. There is very little parking!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel is outdated and smells musty-parking near the hotel is almost impossible-our harbor view was standing in a corner between the sofa and TV stand and looking out a dirty window. You are within walking distance of some things but really need a car to get around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank MEADAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

In town for work. Nice staff, rooms against the hillside were quiet, fast internet, comfortable bed. Food was actually pretty good at the restaurant / bar including the free breakfast. This town is expensive, so the free breakfast was helpful. Great location (in town) so it's within walking distance of restaurants, including the Kodiak Island Brewing Co. I will return for more work and will definitely stay here again. Outside of a pricey B&B, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I'm a frequent traveler and have been to many (not so populated) cities across the country. This hotel looks very warm and cozy from the outside and the walking into the lobby you know you have arrived in Kodiak Alaska. It has a log cabin feel with a stuffed Kodiak bear to welcome you at the entrance. Unfortunately, this is where the pleasantries end. The inside of the room is dated. The wooden furniture while attempting a rustic look ends up feeling old and not to clean (not to say it isn't). I arrived in the summer and some days it feels warm inside the room. The thermostat will let you THINK that it will make the AC work but upon calling the front desk I was informed that there IS NO AC in this hotel. Great! Lets turn on the fan. The fan makes so much noise at night that you have to chose between sleeping or having some air blowing at you. The TV and cable box remote controls are two separate items and both work intermittently. The whole room smelled like a smoker's den. Who in the world allows smoking in rooms these days?!! There's even an ash tray on the desk top! Breakfast is better than the Hampton inn (if you're fed up with their breakfast like me) but today I found myself pouring orange juice from a bottle labeled "Maple Syrup" urghhhh. The breakfast "staff" behind the bar seems to care so little about their job that it makes you wonder how they have one. Folks, stay here if you must (you wont find bugs, roaches,dead bodies or sleep uneasy at night) but you have been warned. Many people say "It's good for what it is". If they mean its good for Kodiak, I am not impressed. Being a national chain, they may want to take some notes from their friends across the bay. Next time I will rather stay at a B&B than staying here.

Advice to management: Rather than making excuses and providing counter facts, please put your efforts at making this a better hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodiak Island hotels
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Kodiak
Comfort Inn Kodiak
#4 of 5 in Kodiak Island
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shelikof Lodge
Shelikof Lodge
#5 of 5 in Kodiak Island
30 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranky Crow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Kodiak Russian River Lodge
Kodiak Russian River Lodge
#11 of 20 in Kodiak Island
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kodiak Bed and Breakfast Kodiak Island
Kodiak Bed and Breakfast Kodiak ...
#11 of 18 in Kodiak Island
5 reviews
1.5 mi away
Russian River Roadhouse
Russian River Roadhouse
#3 of 11 in Kodiak
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center

Address: 236 W Rezanof Drive, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-6044 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kodiak Inn and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Price Range: £89 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Visit Barbados, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kodiak Island
Kodiak Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing