We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BW Kodiak Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Anchorage, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BW Kodiak Inn”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a great place to stay in rural Alaska. The are lots of bad choices when traveling throughout Alaska, this is one of the really good ones. The staff is super friendly and helpful. I left my cell phone charger at home and my phone ran out of power. They had a spare and lent it to me! The restaurant is first rate and the service is superior. You just can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    77
    64
    23
    2
See reviews for
37
46
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Overall, I had a nice stay at the Kodiak Inn/Best Western. I remember staying there 10 years ago and I don't think anything has been updated in a long time. I was in my room ten minutes when someone else was trying to get in as well. Wanted to use the hot tub but it did not appear clean. The location is nice for getting around in Kodiak on foot. Parking is a pain. I recommend staying here versus the alternatives, but be sure to set your expectations to so-so.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boatchick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWKodiakInn, General Manager at Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank your for your response, and I am glad that you had a nice time in Kodiak.
I apologize someone was trying to get into your room, as all doors are key card activated for entry.
We have made improvements over the past years, the most recent one with new bedding/drapery for the guest rooms, new lobby tile, and a stone exterior accent in 2011. This year we are updating the public carpeting and additional lobby upgrades.
We keep a daily log on the hot tub chemical levels, and record the number of guests to help determine when water needs to change, and we will make sure the hot tub is ready for you if you visit Kodiak again.

Thank you,

Susan Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Best Western Kodiak Inn has been my hotel of choice for several years for business trips to Kodiak because it is centrally located and service seems to improve every year. This year the pleasant surprise was that wi-fi, essential for my work, was better than ever, both in the rooms and conference area of the hotel. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are complete with a small refrigerator, coffee service, etc, stuff not always readily available in some Alaska hotels. The housekeeping staff is pleasant and efficient too, something NOT to be taken for granted! Guests also have access to coffee service in the lobby and a platter of fresh baked delicious cookies in late afternoon.And of course there is the complimentary breakfast buffet, well done with a good variety of healthy food and a magnificent view of the harbor. Coming back here every year on business is like coming home to a very special place.

Room Tip: Book EARLY. THis is a very popular hotel! I book three months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hookedonBristolBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We used the Best Western Kodiak Inn while we were in Kodiak for work. It was conveniently located to the main part of town and had all of the basic amenities you needed. The staff was all friendly and helpful. The hotel is in need of some work and is showing it's wear. While it is pretty simplistic it sufficed for what we needed and was a reasonable price.

Room Tip: There are two buildings, the main building where the lobby and restaurant and some rooms are and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I flew on two day's notice to Kodiak to catch a ship at the Coast Guard Station there. My phone contact with the hotel was pleasant and efficient.

Their shuttle arrived at the airport promptly, and the driver was kind. My room was ready when I got there, and the staff always had smiles on their faces.

Breakfast didn't have a whole bunch of selections, but the eggs and sausage were great, and that's okay with me! The rooms were clean, and everything met my expectations. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Good restaurant and excellent location within walking distance to harbor and downtown area. Prices for everything in kodiak are high, including the hotel restaurant.
Shuttle to airport was great. Front desk let me store a goat hide and meat in the freezer and helped me get it to the airport with enthusiasm.
Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center

Property: Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
Address: 236 W Rezanof Drive, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-6044 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kodiak Inn and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kodiak Island
Kodiak Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing