We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry's Great Alaskan Restaurant

Henry's Great Alaskan Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Friendly restaurant. Good food. Reasonable prices. We were given good directions to find the place - it's on the back side of town in strip mall. A lot of locals were eating there so we just listened to the fisherman telling their tales.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RAFtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    77
    35
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have eaten at Henry's on past trips to Kodiak but past experiences have been better than this one. You only have a couple of options for a full restaurant in Kodiak and Henry's is the one we usually choose. The place is fairly noisy. The food was okay but not great. Prices are a little rich for my budget but the menu does offer some interesting choices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachguy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Henry's is the place to eat in Kodiak.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were in Kodiak for a few days and ate Henry's at least once a day. Not only because it was the only place to eat but it is also very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BETUFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very cozy place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This restaurant had a very cozy atmosphere, and many interesting selections. We had fish and it was delicious. Dessert was an apple cobbler with ice cream that was terrific..large enough to share.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went to Henry's at the suggestion of the local residents that we have known for years. It was described as the place where the "locals" go. It certainly was that. Good food at fair prices for the lunch that we enjoyed there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henry's Great Alaskan Restaurant also viewed

 
Kodiak, Kodiak Island
 
Kodiak, Kodiak Island
Kodiak, Kodiak Island
 

Been to Henry's Great Alaskan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing