We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly beautiful setting with top notch customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zachar Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodiak Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zachar Bay Lodge
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly beautiful setting with top notch customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We took a family vacation to Zachar Bay Lodge. Had an amazing float plane ride to get there seeing mountain goats, deer and bears from afar. Went hiking with Andy while my husband and father were down the river catching salmon. He pointed out arnica flowers and other local flora as we walked. He took us to a beautiful spot with a gorgeous waterfall and then out comes a mother bear that started catching fish for her cub . Seeing the beautiful and HUGE bears in their natural setting was such a special experience. The next day we went out halibut fishing with Marty and my father pulled in a HUGE halibut that was nearly as tall as he was. While out there we saw puffins, sea lions, otters AND a pod of orcas feeding. One orca came up very close to the boat and checked us out. It was literally a foot away from us. It made eye contact with us. AMAZING. Back at the lodge our rooms were always kept very tidy. The food was amazing a lot of which is home grown or fresh caught. Every night you sit down for a family dinner and you really get to know the Eaton family. Just an overall great experience that I will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

my parents and i spent about a week with the Eaton family. we got our limits of halibut and silver salmon each day. we also got to see fin whales, puffin, seals, otters and a few energetic Kodiak bears playing in the river. and as a side bonus all you can eat raspberries. the cabins are nice but we didnt spend much time in them.The history of the cannery is very interesting, especially the resident bears.Marti and Lindsay are great hosts as are Linda and Andy. We left with them being family, i think that says it all. As for the food,its five star all the way and i daught anyone could find better anywhere.If you are looking for an experience that will keep you wanting to return, Zachar Bay Lodge is the place to go. Eric Dirks

Room Tip: date not correct, and pool cold.lol but the rooms on top of the hill are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Charming host family; best chef of the entire vacation; quaint lodging; excellent fishing; bear viewing best done when salmon run; float plane transfer with Kingfisher gives an opportunity to see gorgeous scenery and some wild life.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfenbüttel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I spent 3 days at this lodge of Kodiak Island. It was an old cannery build up by Lindsay and Marti.
Though the wether was a little instabile a good "program" was offered. Halibut-fishing, hiking , bear watching. the whole family is anxious around one without press to want. The rooms are pleasant, the meal very rich and alternating. I only can recommend a visit at this nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My son and I spent a great five days a Zachar Bay Lodge with the Eaton family. We limited out on halibut and silver salmon each day. We spent two days hiking up the Zachar River for salmon fishing, which was tremendous. They flew us out to Geographic Harbor at Katmai National Park and had unbelievable bear encounters. The family took great care of us. The food was often home-grown and each meal was spectacular. The old cannery was a fascinating property that the Eatons have turned into a wonderful lodge. My son, who is 20, said this was the best trip he has ever been on. We also saw wildlife ranging from whales to bald eagles to sea otters and two types of puffins. This is a great place and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby Magna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We came for the back country wildlife viewing and found it at this family run lodge. Bears,birds,sea life abundant. With two small float planes and boats available we could see so much. Not regimented but well organised it was great with the plus of good wholesome food and comfortable accommodation as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodiak Island hotels
52.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kodiak Inn and Convention Center
53.4 mi away
Cranky Crow Bed and Breakfast
47.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Kodiak
Comfort Inn Kodiak
#4 of 5 in Kodiak Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zachar Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zachar Bay Lodge

Property: Zachar Bay Lodge
Address: Kodiak Island, AK 99615-2609
Region: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Kodiak Island
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Zachar Bay Lodge our guests enjoy the remote wilderness of Alaska's Kodiak Island while relaxing in accommodations that are both welcoming and comfortable. Our lodge offers a variety of different options for daily excursions ranging from sport fishing trips on both fresh and saltwater, to other outdoor activities such as wildlife viewing, sea kayaking, and hiking. We would love nothing more than to show you a Bear, help you catch a Halibut, and share with you for a short while the pleasure that is life on the Kodiak Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing