We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Customer Service AND close to airport!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Kodiak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Kodiak
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Customer Service AND close to airport!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is a great place to stay for two simple reasons: Stellar customer service and you can walk to the airport. This is especially helpful if you need to catch a float plane out to an adventure or a flight back to Anchorage. And believe it or not, it's quiet, so don't worry that being close to the airport will keep you up. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the customer service was the best I've seen, and I'm a Hilton Diamond, Marriott Silver and Hyatt Gold member. I will stay there again, because let's face it, customer service trumps fancy amenities every time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturegirlusa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    13
    8
    0
See reviews for
7
15
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Not a first or second choice in Kodiak. Unprofessional front desk staff. The canopy entry appears to be a smoking lounge and is filthy. The rooms are ok and the price is commensurate with a better rated hotels and B&Bs. The breakfast room is uninviting.

Room Tip: Kodiak Inn is a better option for a similar price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ferdinand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The only good thing about this Hotel, the cheerful receptionist on duty when we arrived!
Our 2 night stop-over during a comprehensive highway re-paveing project, meant clouds of dirt & dust everywhere.
Carpets in the foyer were dirt engrimed. Everything looked 'tired' & well past it's sell-by date.. The room was crampt & the free-standing extracter fan made a small impression only if the window was open, not much use on the front overlooking the carpark! Clean linen but little else. Close proximity to the airport wasn't an issue.
'Beakfast' left much to be desired.
All in all, not somewhere I would wish to re-visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letrips66
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I read something online that called Kodiak Island "practically a 3rd world country." It wasn't that bad, but things will not you'd expect in the lower 48. The hotel is literally next door to the airport and there was a little noise but nothing too bad. The owners, Angie and Kelly were very friendly and personable and that was one of the best parts of the stay -- try to meet Lily and Leo, the Boston Terrier pups. The room was fine -- they don't have king size beds but everything else seemed fairly modern. The cost was $180/night but that was not unusual anywhere we looked at on Kodiak. We got back from our bear viewing trip and were too tired to go back out so we had dinner in the hotel -- the Buskin River Pub and Grub. The food was okay -- the homemade chili was pretty good and I heard the jalapeno corn chowder was also good. The bar was pretty busy and one woman was taking care of all the customers so the meal was a little slow to come out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letrips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rescue, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel is old and right next to the airport - you can walk across the rental car parking lot and you're at the hotel. We did not hear the airport, so there weren't issues there. The breakfast was good and quite unexpected. We thought bagels and coffee, but it was much more. Hot scrambled eggs with cheese, corned beef and hash, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Lots more than we thought. The staff was very friendly and took great care of us. We were only there for 2 nights, so we didn't need much. The only complaint we had was the walls were very thin. The people in the room next to us were very loud and we finally had to complain at 1:30 a.m. The noise subsided and we were fine. It was good enough for our short trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanaka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Recently had a business trip to Kodiak. Naturally, it was during a terrible snow storm. The hotel was excellent. They are upgrading all the rooms and mine was beautiful. The hotel is clean, no smells, very service minded staff and affordable. This hotel is right by the airport. It is about a 10 minute drive to the center of town, but beautifu sites along the way. The parking is excellent, not like the other hotel in town, where you park on the street. The second night I was there the owner of the resturant closed due to weather. The hotel staff went back into the kitchen and found me something good to eat. The next night it was again closed due to a terrible snow storm and they made arrangments to make a pizza for me in the bar. I will always staff at this hotel when in Kodiakl!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Decent, updated hotel rooms but they need to get new TVs, great breakfast in the mornings, much better than the Best Western in downtown Kodiak, great location right near the airport, good restaurant and bar located inside the hotel, the internet was actually really quick for Alaska, the rooms do have a mini-fridge and microwave, which is a really nice touch, overall a good choice for a hotel in Alaska

Room Tip: get a room on the backside of the hotel, so you don't hear all the cars parking in the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggity15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodiak Island hotels
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kodiak Inn and Convention Center
5.8 mi away
Cranky Crow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Kodiak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kodiak

Property: Comfort Inn Kodiak
Address: 1395 Airport Way, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-6853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn Kodiak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kodiak Island
Kodiak Island Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing