We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pictorial history of Kodiak” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baranov Museum

The Baranov Museum
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Pictorial history of Kodiak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

An historic house full of artifacts, photo albums, and video clips. You can learn about the volcanic eruption that coated the island in ash, the tsunami that flooded its shores, and the Russian influence in the area. Well worth a visit for a small fee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Go1fer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kodiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Russian History Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a great museum with all items from Russian and gives the history of the Russian influence on Kodiak. A gift counter has beautiful items for sale.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskagrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King Salmon, Alaska
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Russian-Alaskan history in Kodiak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

The museum gives a taste of the native Alaskan, Russian, and more modern influences in Kodiak, Alaska. If I had to choose, go to the Alutiq museum.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanWilderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Busy but worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

This museum focuses on the eary European/Russian settlers more than Native Alaskans, lits of artifacts and recreation of home and furnishings. Worth a visit. What? You're too busy on Kodiak Island?

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

It only took us about two hours to go through this museum, and it would have taken far less had we not started going through photo albums of the earthquake that hit Kodiak. There are not many exhibits, but what they have is interesting. If you are a Russian History buff, you might enjoy some of the Russian information more than we did.

Since the admission was only $5 and we even used a buy one get one free coupon from the Toursaver or the Northern Lights Coupon Book, we got our money's worth.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank zzzbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Baranov Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Baranov Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing