We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“piece of paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manley Roadhouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manley Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manley Roadhouse
Coupeville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“piece of paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Spent 2 nights at this great roadhouse! If you love privacy in a remote place this place is for you!The staff is great good food and clean rooms and wonderful scenery.
Jack is is a great cook/bartender and has been in the area for years.
Diane is a great cook and her husband Frank is a Prince!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed at the Roadhouse in June, having taken the bus (twice weekly) from Fairbanks. It was a really interesting place to stay. There is a well stocked bar and a restaurant. I ate a couple of meals there and they were OK (fish was very good), although nothing special. The ground floor has lots of really fascinating things on display, like a large mammouth bone.
I stayed in a small double room, which had a comfy bed. There was a nice looking TV, which wasn't yet wired in - but hopefully this will happen. The bedroom window allowed for a nice breeze in the heat, and was screened, so only a couple of mosquitos found their way in. The shared bathroom could do with modernising, but was sufficiently clean.
The laundry room was useful and cheap.
Staff were always helpful in our interactions, and after two nights I felt like I was getting to know a bit more about the local community.
I particularly enjoyed visiting the local thermal bathhouse, which is set in a lovely greenhouse. Be sure to phone up and reserve in advance, as it is only one party at a time for specific time slots.
I flew out from the local airstrip, taking the mail plane, which was fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthWestLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Good food, clean rooms and friendly service. Jack, Rob, Heath and Trampas made us feel like family! Got to meet a few of the local characters and had an overall extremely pleasant stay. We were traveling on motorcycles and appreciated the advice on road conditions and places to see very much. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmrchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

This is the only place to stay (unless you want to use the campground or car-camp) in Manley, and we loved it.

Manley is located near the end of road that is the furthest West you can drive in the United States. Anyone traveling there is already probably expecting (and looking forward to) a roadhouse.

The rooms are sparse and sit above what can be a noisy bar. Some are tiny, only big enough for a couple beds, and you have to use shared bathroom and shower in the hall (though we stayed in a room with a bathroom/shower). They are priced using the where-else-are-you-going-to-stay calculator.

However, no-one we met staying there expected anything different, and everyone seemed happy.

There is a well-stocked (really) bar as well as restaurant on the first floor, and everyone sits at community tables. The locals are friendly and the staff are great.

There is also a hot springs (Manley Hot Springs) nearby, which has been channeled into indoor baths inside a greenhouse.

As a final plus, we were able to bring our dog. They asked for a deposit which we received back in full once they determined our pet did no damage.

Staying at the roadhouse is part of the experience when visiting Manley, however if your budget requires you to camp instead, you can always grab a hot meal at the roadhouse.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ktn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Manley Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manley Roadhouse

Property: Manley Roadhouse
Address: 1 Main Street, Manley Hot Springs, AK 99756
Region: United States > Alaska > Manley Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manley Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing