We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Summit Lake Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Trail Lake Lodge(Moose Pass)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
292
63
15
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
63
15
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskenai peninsulabreakfast was includedpaddle boatsbeautiful lakemade to order breakfastcooper landingheated floorselectric fireplacetwo sinksseparate buildinglakefront cabinmain buildingcomfy bedpizza and ice creamplace to staybreakfast and dinnergift shop
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Enjoyed staying here. The accommodations in Seward didn't appeal, so we ended up here. The room was probably the best of our week in Alaska, only complaint was that the walls were a bit thin. Otherwise, comfortable and perfectly fine. My favorite part was the included breakfast, which is made to order.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat8888486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed in one of the Fireweed Room for one night. The lodge has a restaurant/bar and cafe, but they shut down early (9-10 pm) and there is nothing open late anywhere close by. The staff was friendly, but it was a little confusing as to where to check in since the desk is actually in the restaurant. The lodge can bill itself as remote, however it sits right on busy Seward Highway. A combination of no blinds in the room, translucent curtains, and truck traffic I was awakened early in the morning. The room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless, but apparently guests are expected to bring their own shampoo. Fortunately, not providing shampoo was not an issue for me because there was no hot water in the shower!

The room came with a pretty good and free cooked to order breakfast. The food was served quickly and the portion was acceptable. For the price during the high season the lodge is a good deal for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anotherlevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were skeptical at first because we drove by to do some exploring in Seaward before returning for the night. It looks a lot like a skivvie truck stop from the highway. It's not. The owner is the manager and she cares. This makes all the difference. The grounds are clean and everything we needed we had. We checked in late so we go the smallest room closest to the highway (#1), but we didn't care, the bed was so comfy we slept amazingly. The room and bathroom is small, no doubt, but it was super clean and well thought out. So it was fine. The shower handle needs to be set at cold to get it hot, this can save you 5 minutes of waiting. Burgers at night were awesome, Breakfast was awesome. Staff was awesome. This place was great, even if we only stayed for 10 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sokalled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Great spot to use as a "base camp" for day hikes and exclusions. Comfortable cozy cabins, friendly & engaging staff in a prime location. Started our days off with a delicious breakfast that included Raindeer sausage , ended day with cocktails in the lounge and gourmet dinner. The staff was very attentive and booked all our outings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLEETWOOD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The advertising was accurate - they did not oversell the accommodation. We got a double bed with ensuite shower. It was very cosy, with little room for suitcases. No internet in room (as advertised), but very clean, bed was comfortable, and not too noisy (there was some traffic noise), Internet was available in reception area. Breakfast was included, had a good range of choices, and the staff were delightful. We had evening meals there (we were there two nights) and they were OK - I suspect that at least some of the dishes are pre-prepared and cooled/frozen.

Room Tip: If I stayed again I would probably get a cabin, but that does cost more and we were on a budget (we chose food and wine over a larger room!)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GentlemanAuditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summitak, Owner at Summit Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

We Thank you for your review and are glad that you had a good visit.

You are correct the cabins are a great value! I encourage you to get one on your next visit.

We do not advertise that internet is available in the rooms just in the common area of the Lodge. We have satellite internet and it is hard to get wifi that long of a distance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews