We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Summit Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summit Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I found Summit Lake Lodge on the internet while in Anchorage. We arrived and had no problem with checking in. We had one of the rooms which was small, but perfectly comfortable. The quietness of this lodge was wonderful. Even though we were facing the road, no noise bothered us. Dinner was excellent. The salmon was the best my husband had had on our trip. A complete breakfast was provided the next morning and it was a real treat. We tried to book another night, but they were full. If we are in Alaska again, we will definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    58
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
99
152
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We arrived on September 3, thee electricity was off due to maintenance, I believe. We saw the men working on the power lines up the road. So when we got into our lovely n awesome cabin it was cold but what can the manager do???? We've been here before and the cabins are excellent, we love the décor basically everything. We even love "Henry" thee owner's dog, he was so cute !!!! The next morning we got up early and thought breakfast was at 7, nothing like being an hour early !!! But the owner was really nice and gave us coffee while we waited. The breakfast was awesome. Thee owners and the staff are wonderful to work with, no complaints; every time we had a question, they answered it politely. We also stayed another night. When we got back to cabin, it was clean and freshly made up. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Just ask thee owners or the staff. Our cabin #3 was quiet, plenty of room for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinkx C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camino, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Spent one night here very pleasant stay. The lake was beautiful, wish the weather was better so we could have gone out on the lake. Liked the little cabin, nice that it had TV. Bed was comfy. Great idea to have ground coffee to make your coffee with instead of those terrible packages of coffee! Did hear road noise but not much traffic at night so not a problem. Food was really good in the restaurant. Wifi only in lobby but I had a Mifi which worked fine in the cabin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kruizerkarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in a Cabin. It was bit small but well maintained with enough heat in the room and good bathroom facilities. The room was well decorated with Alaskan touch to the interiors. It has a beautiful lake next to it. And, very impressive part was the free breakfast they had offered. The omelette was just amazing.. In our whole trip to Alaska ( Anchorage, Whittier, Denali, Talkeetna & Seward ), the breakfast and the hospitality at Summit lake lodge had its impact and we couldn't forget in our whole trip. We stayed on August 31'2012 while we were heading to Seward for Kenai Fjord tour. I would definitely recommend.Book in advance and stay in cabins near to woods rather than getting into a hotel in Seward city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemanth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice place, affordable, good food, comfortable, and when the rain stopped-beautiful location! The owner was very nice, and offered suggestions when asked. Rooms are small-but I don't need a big room to sleep in. Kayaks, canoes available for guest use! Wish I had the time to use them-but just couldn't do it. I stayed here while visiting Seward and Homer and then back to Anchorage, and it worked out well for my day trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sethelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My parents and I arrived 1.5 hours after check in time, but the place was deserted. Black windows, locked doors, no cars or people anywhere. It was CREEPY!

Since it's in the middle of nowhere, with no Internet connectivity available outdoors, we just walked around the grounds hoping to find someone to help us since finding another hotel online was impossible without wifi. We had a reservation for 3 nights -- imagine our growing ire as checking in seemed more and more impossible.

And lo and behold, a sign on the main cabin door came into view. It essentially said 'Closed until tomorrow for employee appreciation day.' Um... a phone call or email a few days (if not weeks!) prior, letting customers know the situation, would have gone a LONG way. What exactly are your paying, previously excited, customers supposed to do if you are closed on the day they are scheduled to check in? (The nearest restaurant, I later learned, is 17 miles away.)

We finally found one sole employee (Marty's daughter) cleaning a room. She offered no apology or explanation, just "I can offer you a refund if you don't like it."

Well, we took her up on it. The customer service here is awful, the worst I've ever encountered, and the place, while pretty, is right on top of a busy road with traffic speeding loudly by. We went to the close-by Inn at Tern Lake and had a fabulous time! Imagine, all it took was being Open.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summitak, Owner at Summit Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Wow! Once again, my apologies to you for your inconvenience. Yes, we decided to close to the public on the day you arrived. We felt that all of our employees had worked very hard all summer and we thought that we would surprise them with a trip to the Alaska State Fair, in appreciation of all their hard work. My daughter ,Lyndsey volunteered to stay behind and clean rooms and check in all guests We put a sign on the main entrance to the Lodge explaining this to the public. Right next to this sign we posted another sign to all Lodge guest that they were welcome and to come around to the side door and we would help them check in and if we were not there , gave a phone number to call since she may be cleaning rooms. We had a total of 7 check ins on this day, all other guests thought it was a great idea to take our employees to the fair and understood but you for some reason felt that this was not appropriate Everybody got checked in to their cabins including you. Your reservation was for a cabin with a king bed, upon your arrival you requested a cabin with two queens. Lyndsey got you into a cabin with two queens. I believe she did everything possible to accommodate you. Also, I do not appreciate how rude you were to Lyndsey , all she was trying to do was help you

Marty
Owner Summit Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Situated in the middle of the Kinai Pennisula, Summit Lake Lodge is the perfect spot and the perfect place to enjoy everything Alaska has to offer. From the moment we walked in to our lovely cabin until a week later when we sadly had to catch a flight home, our stay was beyond our expectations. The cabin was more than comfortable with wonderful beds and continuous hot water from the Rinnai heater. Our hosts and owners, Marti and June, were always available to organise trips or just to chat and answer questions. The staff, led by manager,Brad O'Farrell, was friendly and efficient. The food was delicious and the cozy bar, after a full day of enjoying glaciers, fjords and nature in all its glory, was a great place to unwind and relive our adventures. I look forward to returning with my family to enjoy Alaska all over again!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are good for overnight. For an extended stay, I would stay in a cabin for the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLK317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
11.4 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
18.1 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
7.9 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
1.7 mi away
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
#3 of 3 in Moose Pass
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lake Lodge

Property: Summit Lake Lodge
Address: 51826 Seward Hwy, Moose Pass, AK 99631-9707
Region: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Moose Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Summit Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Summit Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lake Hotel Moose Pass
Moose Pass Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing