We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Wedding - breathtaking!”
Review of Inn at Tern Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Tern Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Moose Pass B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2011

After visiting many of the common locations for a wedding in Anchorage, Alaska, the Inn at Tern Lake was by far the obvious choice. With an amazing backdrop, beautiful lodge and wonderful host's, Jeff and Rose, we felt our ceremony and reception would be in good hands.

Jeff and Rose were readily available via email and phone for many of my wedding questions (nervous bride). Master Chef Rose was also very accommodating when I requested lamb to be added to the menu - which she had never cooked before!! Nevertheless, she prepared it beautifully and the traditional mint sauce was perfect.

With over 90 wedding guests, fresh snow on the surrounding mountains, a break in the clouds, we had a ceremony better than we could have ever dreamed. Many of our guests commented on the uniqueness of our wedding, the delicious food and its dramatic, beautiful location.

Thank you Rose and Jeff for sharing your home with our friends and family, we will never forget the three days we spent at the Inn on Tern Lake - Kevin and Paula.

Room Tip: While all rooms have their own view, balcony and bathroom, number 1 and number 4 are the largest wit...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Tern Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

my husband and I stayed at the Inn at Tern Lake for five nights and loved it. Jeff helped us plan our trip before we arrived and while we were there. The location is perfect for day trips on Kenai. We went fishing on the Russian River one day with Jeff and Rose's son Corey. Jeff caught a fish which Rose helped prepare for the grill. The best salmon we have ever had. Rose's breakfasts were fabulous and different every day. Our room was huge and comfortable and overlooked a mountain and lake. We can't say enough good things about our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jantrachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

This was my first bed and breakfast, and I think I'm spoiled. The spacious, beautiful rooms were spotless, and the view out of every window was breathtaking. Rose's flowers add color and beauty to the already amazing inn. Every morning I looked forward to Rose's gourmet breakfasts served in the dining room. It was there that we met new friends that gave us ideas of where to find bears, moose, and fun hiking trails. Jerry and I were married at the inn, and Rose and Jeff along with our new friends made up our wedding party. It is a vacation I will never forget. Jerry and I plan on returning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmaesweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

It was our first time to Alaska. I have wanted to go there since I was a kid. I wasn't disappointed. Jeff and Rose, the owners of " Inn at Tern Lake" made it and great trip! They were very accommodating, helpful, and gracious. The place was in a great location to explore different areas of the Kenai Peninsula . The Inn was clean and breakfast was great. The views from the Inn were breath taking. The place actually looks better in person than its picture on the web site. We met some neat people from different areas of the country. We'll be back! Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We spent four days on the Kenai Peninsula and did not want to be moving each day. The setting for the inn is between two picturesque mountains rising almost straight up and a view of Tern Lake. The Inn provided only fair Internet access.

Rose was the best baker we met in our travels. Shortly after our arrival she informed us we would be having four different breakfasts. Each breakfast appeared to be special.
1st day – Blueberry muffins and eggs
2nd day – apple pan dowdy and bacon with birch syrup
3rd day – Crème brulee French toast with strawberries and sausages
4th day – Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Every aspect of the Inn at Tern Lake exceeded our expectations. My wife and I went to Alaska to celebrate our 15th anniversary in February. The accommodations were spotless, the rooms large, and the views spectacular (see photos). Jeff and Rose, the owners, went out of their way to serve us, provide information, and anything else we needed. Rose's gourmet cooking & culinary talents are amazing: apple pancakes lightly dusted with freshly dried herbs from her summer garden, homemade cranberry scones, scrambled eggs with freshly graded parmesan & spinach leaves...need we say more? We enjoyed the fireplace and roomy sitting room downstairs (along with the kitchen) as an added bonus & place to relax to soak it all in. In case you're wondering, we loved being there in February (the "off-season"). Fresh snow, snow-shoeing, and a serenity which was priceless. We were going to originally stay in Seward but found this more remote location with central access to many points on the Kenai Peninsula a better choice for us. When we make it back to Alaska, this will be our first choice for accommodations given its very reasonable price (especially in the winter), rooms, views, cleanliness, and service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coreymiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Having stayed at various B&Bs and Inns in the US and Europe we always look for something unique, something special. We found it at the Inn on Tern Lake. The Inn itself is modern "Alaskan Modern", set on a small lake, with mountains on either side. The rooms are quite large and comfortable, each with a great view of the surrounding Alaskan wilderness. The proprietors met our every need and treated us like family. This is not a cabin in the woods, it is a full service Inn, with excellent accomodations, between Seward and Anchorage. Beautiful and Warm, and well worth the cost !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingIllini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
5.8 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
93 reviews
17.0 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
111 reviews
7.9 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
34 reviews
24.4 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
278 reviews
13.1 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tern Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tern Lake

Address: Mile 36 Seward Highway, 41843 Seward Highway, Moose Pass, AK 99631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moose Pass
Price Range: £132 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Tern Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alaska experience of unequaled excellence. Enjoy luxury accommodations at this exquisite bed and breakfast inn - located adjacent to Tern Lake and bordering the Chugach National Forest - central to the Kenai Peninsula directly between Seward, Girdwood, and Cooper Landing. Accommodations include distinctively appointed guest rooms with private baths. Each spacious room is equipped with a queen size bed, pullout couch, satellite TV, Internet access, fireplace and private balcony. The Inn offers a hot tub, sauna, and an expansive sitting area. Innkeepers Jeff and Rose Hetrick graciously indulge you with impeccable guest services - planning activities, itineraries, meals and making sure that your every need and desire is lavishly catered to. In essence, Tern Lake Inn is the ideal headquarters for your Alaska experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Tern Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing