We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!!”
Review of Inn at Tern Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Tern Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Moose Pass B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My husband and I took some friends on their first visit to Alaska. Inn at Tern Lake was one of our stops. Beautiful place, surrounded by mountains. Rose and Jeff were awesome. Rose made blueberry muffins one morning and scones another-best I have ever tasted. Highly recommended for anyone who will be visiting the Seward area. Sanders from Tennessee

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Paul & Rose have created a true oasis here. Unfortunately we were unable to stay as long as planned and would have loved to have been here on a sunny day as the gardens, lake and mountains surrounding the Inn are just beautiful. Guest accommodation is separated from the host accommodation and in addtion to guest rooms, you have the use of a full kitchen, sitting room and dining area. The accommodation was luxurious and spacious and you are left wanting nothing more. On recommendation from our hosts, we drove a few miles down the road to the Kinfisher Roadhouse for dinner and what a delight it was even though it doesn't look much from the outside. Cannot understand previous comments regarding breakfasts as Rose served us up the most astounding freshly made apple pancake with bacon on the side. Juice selections in the fridge and freshly brewed coffee just topped it off perfectly. Later in our trip, we tried to come back and stay again (we loved it so much) but unfortunately they were fully booked. Would certainly recommend a stay here and if you have the time, stay a while just to enjoy this fantastic spot.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very spacious and has fabulous views of the mountain behind the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tez823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent two nights with Rose and Jeff in 8/12. Their Inn and hospitality are both wonderful! The setting of the Inn is beyond compare! Surrounded by mountains is an understatement! We watched Salmon spawning in the 100's in their pond, adjacent to Tern Lake. The grounds are spacious and beautiful! The breakfasts are delicious and substantial (Rose, thanks for the recipe!)! The rooms are lovely, warm, spacious and modern! Some rooms could accommodate a family of 3 or 4. One of the very best B&Bs (among many in US, Canada and Europe) we have visited! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: This is a great central location for Seward and the rest of the Kenai Penninsula. Tell Jeff and Ros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHREdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were on our way to the Kenai Peninsula, so we stayed just one night, but it would be a good spot to stay longer and explore further. It is a wonderful place to relax and unwind. The hosts are friendly, but not intrusive. The breakfast was delicious and we could have easily stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a great stay here! Jeff and Rose were welcoming and the place felt like home. Our room was comfy with amazing views. They helped us find places to go around town and even gave us a personal tour of some very special things. Woke up to a hot, delicious breakfast and went to sleep after a nice soak in the hot tube. Lovely people and a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This was the best place we stayed in during our trip on the Alaska Highway from Bellingham, WA. We drove 4000 miles. The rooms were clean, furnished with everything needed, the TV worked fine, the view was beautiful, and breakfast included homemade French toast and all the cereals, yogurt, etc. one could want. The Kenai River is nearby but it would be a good place to relax if you're not into fishing. I would definitely stay longer next time and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Tern Lake for 2 nights during our recent trip to Alaska. We were disappointed with the quality of the breakfasts, compared to other B&Bs we stayed in. We were comfortable enough here, but it certainly is not luxurious, as some write-ups stated. The grounds and surrounding area are beautiful and very peaceful, but the room appointments and finish are only at the average level - pedestal sink, standard poly shower enclosure, etc. The bed was very comfortable. This B&B is conveniently located on the Seward highway but set back far enough that traffic noise is not a factor. In my search for accommodations in this area I did not find many places available,mostly because of the lateness of our decision to make this trip. It was a difficult decision to spend $200 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill93551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
5.8 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
93 reviews
14 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
116 reviews
7.9 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
5.9 mi away
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
#3 of 3 in Moose Pass
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tern Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tern Lake

Address: Mile 36 Seward Highway, 41843 Seward Highway, Moose Pass, AK 99631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moose Pass
Price Range: £95 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Tern Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alaska experience of unequaled excellence. Enjoy luxury accommodations at this exquisite bed and breakfast inn - located adjacent to Tern Lake and bordering the Chugach National Forest - central to the Kenai Peninsula directly between Seward, Girdwood, and Cooper Landing. Accommodations include distinctively appointed guest rooms with private baths. Each spacious room is equipped with a queen size bed, pullout couch, satellite TV, Internet access, fireplace and private balcony. The Inn offers a hot tub, sauna, and an expansive sitting area. Innkeepers Jeff and Rose Hetrick graciously indulge you with impeccable guest services - planning activities, itineraries, meals and making sure that your every need and desire is lavishly catered to. In essence, Tern Lake Inn is the ideal headquarters for your Alaska experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Tern Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing