We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite stay in Alaska by far !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Tern Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Tern Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Moose Pass B&B and Inns
Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Our favorite stay in Alaska by far !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I am a very thorough researcher when it comes to lodging . This is by far one of the most incredible places to stay . When we arrived after a long day driving in from denali Jeff greeted us warmly . The first thing we did was sit in the lovely hot jacuzzi at sunset gazing at the mountains . Each morning Jeff had a different breakfast which was good . We stayed in room 1 but had the opportunity to look in each room and there is NO bad room or view . Room 1 and room 4 is larger . You cannot hear any other guest , the rooms are seperated nicely . There is a kitchen downstairs for your use as well as a refrigerator . Some would bring picnic lunch fixings for their travels . We ate at the locations Jeff recommended which ended up being the best places we ate in all our stay in Alaska . He was helpful and had storytellings that amused my husband . Everywhere we went we would meet someone who knew Jeff . The inn is clean , well kept , beautiful !!!!! The location is central on the kenai penisula so you could go different directions . It is close to Seward and we made our morning kayaking trip easily . We will definitely be back and want to visit now when it snows !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2vacation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    6
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Haven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We just had our wedding at the Inn at Tern Lake. It was a fantastic day. Jeff and Rosie are amazing. They went above and beyond to make sure we had the wedding of our dreams. They are incredibly accommodating and professional.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Somewhere between Nervana and Perfection I found the Inn at Tern Lake. When you walk into the home it is so clean, warm and comfortable. I had asked Jeff the proprietor if the fudge factory in Moose Pass was still open and he said yes. When I arrived 2 boxes of fudge were waiting for my wife and I. The grounds are so amazingly beautiful. The suite was very big, well decorated (like a home). the view from room #2 is great but I think all the rooms have similar views. The breakfast was over the top with a fluffy pastry and fruit filling. The eggs were presented with home grown veggies. This property is understated. The internet does it no justice. I am a 9 year veteren of visiting the Kenai Peninsula. The location is perfect for fishing the upper Kenai, Kenai rafting and horseback riding traveling to Seward and Soldotna. The most romantic, warm and comfortable stay of my life.

Room Tip: Book early! Stay a long time. Use it as a base camp for all your Kenai travel from Seward, Soldotna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thehblifeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Rose and Jeff were hostess and host - Fabulous breakfast - Thanks Rose!! There to answer questions regarding where to go, when to go and how to go - Thanks Jeff!!!

When we return to Alaska we would definitely return to this sweet inn.

Room Tip: While there are only four rooms at the Inn, they all looked great - Our room looked out the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We just spent 3 glorious nights at the Inn at Tern Lake. We brought my 91 year old Mother with us on what will probably be her last trip. We were all totally impressed by the cleanliness of the rooms and the wonderful dining and living room open to all guests. But what we liked most were Rose's incredible breakfasts. I would definetly recommend this Inn.The location is also great,,an easy drive to Cooper Landing,Hope,Whittier and Sewardi. Also a special thanks to Rose and Jeff for their wonderful hospitality

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had an awesome experience staying at this B&B when stopped on the way to Seward and Homer. It's a very romantic idyllic place in the mountains. The family is lovely and rooms are very spacious and clean. Perfect place to find peace and relax. Highly to recommend. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Amazing place in a wonderful quiet location with great view on the mountains and a lake. The house is gorgeous and Jeff and Rose made us feel welcome. They gave us also good tips for the rest of our journey. We only stayed one night but this was the best B&B I have seen so far on my trips. This place is a "must stay" on an Alaska trip and it is close to Seward, so if you are going on a cruise, this is where you should stay. The rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
5.8 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
14.0 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
8.0 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
#3 of 3 in Moose Pass
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
13.1 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
24.4 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tern Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tern Lake

Property: Inn at Tern Lake
Address: Mile 36 Seward Highway, Moose Pass, AK 99631
Region: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moose Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Tern Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alaska experience of unequaled excellence. Enjoy luxury accommodations at this exquisite bed and breakfast inn - located adjacent to Tern Lake and bordering the Chugach National Forest - central to the Kenai Peninsula directly between Seward, Girdwood, and Cooper Landing. Accommodations include distinctively appointed guest rooms with private baths. Each spacious room is equipped with a queen size bed, pullout couch, satellite TV, Internet access, fireplace and private balcony. The Inn offers a hot tub, sauna, and an expansive sitting area. Innkeepers Jeff and Rose Hetrick graciously indulge you with impeccable guest services - planning activities, itineraries, meals and making sure that your every need and desire is lavishly catered to. In essence, Tern Lake Inn is the ideal headquarters for your Alaska experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Tern Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing