We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at this Inn”
Review of Inn at Tern Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Tern Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Moose Pass B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We had heard about the Inn from Frommers Alaska, but we
generally don't make reservations in advance. As it turned out we were passing it just as we were about to look for a place to stay. We went to the door and met Jeff the owner, saw the house and were delighted that they had had a cancellation. The place is gourgeous and in a gorgeous setting.

We stayed for 3 days and had a wonderful time getting to know Jeff and Rose. It felt like staying with friends or family. They have been in Alaska for many years and we enjoyed hearing stories about their experiences and what its like to live there.

There is a comfortable living room with a fireplace. a full kitchen
and a hot tub available for guests. Outside the kitchen are a few tables for guests to eat meals and get to know one another. There is even a BBQ grill that can be used so that if you decide as we did that we were tired of eating out every meal you can cook for yourself.

The breakfast was fresh, homemade and different everyday.
Coffee, tea, hot chocolate was always available.
The rooms were gorgeous and spotless. Each had its own balcony, a TV and was very nicely decorated. Extra towels and personal robes were provided in the closet. The towels were luxurious

We loved it so much and felt so comfortable that we returned for a second stay after visiting Homer and the rest of the Kenai peninsula. We traveled around the area for over 2 weeks until our cruise left from Seward.
Bev & Donna, Florida

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank warshado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Tern Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2008

The four of us were so pleased with our 2 nights at The Inn at Tern Lake. The owners, Jeff and Rose, were friendly and welcoming; we felt comfortable bringing in our own food and drinks into the guest room (spacious yet comfortable, with a breathtaking view of the mountains and lake) so we could watch the Olympics in the evening. The hot tub was just right after a chilly day out on the Glacier Cruise. Rose's dinner restaurant recommendation was the best of the trip. Breakfast was homemade and delicious. The rooms were large and immaculate, nicely decorated and again with fabulous views. Even the towels were larger and fluffier than we are used to , and the beds were super comfortable. We loved this place!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sanan2nio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

I made reservations at the Inn at Tern Lake in September 2007 for a stay in August 2008. We received a confirmation from Jeff the owner that we on to stay there. we showned up on August 8th 2008 for our stay at 4pm and guest what? First his wife was rude to us and had no knowlege of us having a stay with them, even though our name was on their books. Jeff finally shows up and says they have no room for us. What dishonest people, they never offer to compensate us for their screw up. If any wants to stay at their Inn I would say, go ahead and get ripped off .

Ron

Thank lufish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKMAN_9, Owner at Inn at Tern Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2009

We are disappointed to read this review. Unfortunately the reviewer did not have a reservation confirmed with a deposit, saving his information does not constitute a reservation. This information was clearly stated.
At his arrival we were preparing for hosting a wedding for over 100 people. We invited the guests into our establishment, offered food and drink and made several phone calls until securing lodging close by. We also offered sincere apologies for their inconvenience. I'm not sure what else we could have done.

We certainly didn't rip them off, act rude or do anything to be the worst part of their vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Have you ever had a wonderful experience at a modest little B&B because of the great hospitality? Well, the Inn at Tern Lake is just the opposite. It's a nice place in a nice setting, but we felt more like intruders than guests .

When we arrived, we had to yell out to get someone to help us. We were shown to our rooms and reminded to take our shoes off in the entryway (a fair request since the carpet is off-white). That was the end of the hospitality.

The web site mentions a hot tub and sauna. I never saw the sauna, and the hot tub was covered, with no note on how (or even whether) guests can use it. One thing about it felt just like home -- if you don't make your bed or leave a towel on the floor, it will be just like that when you get back. Not having maid service is not normally such a big deal, but having paid $350 for two nights, I expected a bit more service. Oh, and don't forget to bring those little bottles of shampoo from one of the other places you stay, because you won't find any here.

Breakfast was also disappointing. A breakfast casserole and a pot of coffee (no decaf) was left out on the counter, which the guests could reheat in the microwave. If you're expecting a more substantial breakfast (a little sausage maybe or even a glass of juice), you're out of luck. There was some bread on the counter and some milk in the fridge, but no word on whether it was for the guests or not.

If you're just looking for a place to crash and stash your stuff while you explore the Kenai Peninsula, then this place will do. For the money, however, I think you can do better. I believe the same people own the Spruce Moose, so I wouldn't expect things to be much different there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Incommunicado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKMAN_9, Owner at Inn at Tern Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

I'm so sorry to read this review, and I'm also sorry that it has taken me so long to see it and respond! We are committed to making sure each and every one of our guests feels welcomed and at home. It is clear that we failed in your case and I want to personally say I'm sorry.

We do our best to talk with our guests at check in about all the things they want to do and see in the area including our hot tub and sauna, so we can be sure to have everything ready. This also gives us chance to get a sense of timing for things like breakfast as we love interacting with our guests and we love to WOW them with our cooking!

If we fail to catch key information in the conversation, we try to accommodate guests as best we can and it sounds like that is what happened in your case.

As for the towel and bed service, our policy is to provide that service for guests who are staying for several nights, but not for those who are staying just one. We figure it would be intrusive to have us in your room on such a short stay.

We try to walk the line between being too friendly and respecting our guests privacy and we did not get it right for you.

Thanks very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It will help us provide a great experience for our guests in the future.

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

This was a lovely setting in a beautiful location. The room was clean, airy and very comfortable with a beautiful view from a small balcony. We arrived in the early afternoon. The home was open, but we could find no one around, so we left and drove into Moose Pass to eat at Trail Lake Lodge (wonderful). We returned a couple of hours later we met the owner who was loading his golf clubs and told us to go on in. We left again after depositing our bags and drove to Exit Glacier. When we returned they were leaving to go out to dinner with friends and we just went up to our room for the evening. The next morning we had to be up early (about 7:30) No one else was up, there was no breakfast or even cereal or rolls or juice or coffee available, so we just left. When I got back home, I kept checking my credit card and found that we had not been billed for our stay even 3 months later. I called them and told them and they eventually put the charge through. Nice place, but the owners were not what I would consider good hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKMAN_9, Owner at Inn at Tern Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

I am very sorry to read this review and I know exactly what happened. We go to great lengths to accommodate our guests for breakfast. We LOVE to cook for people and will serve breakfast as early or late as necessary. We will even swap a breakfast for a lunch for fishing parties that don't want a big breakfast at the crack of dawn.

What happened with you is that neither Rose nor I has a conversation with you about your plans. We both thought the other would and it never happened. As a result, we were like ships passing in the night during your stay and when you got up in the morning, nothing was ready and you left disappointed. Let me say personally, I take responsibility and I'm sorry.

As for the credit card processing, we have switched to an online system for bookings and payment which has streamlined our business and eliminated mistakes like the one that inconvenienced you.

All in all, we understand that your stay with us was not what you hoped and that is simply unacceptable to us. We are committed to making sure every one of our guests is treated to a wonderful experience when they stay here. It has been a long time since you wrote this review and I can't believe I am just seeing it, but if you read this, and decide to visit Alaska again, please contact me and we'll work something out to make it right.

Thanks for your feedback,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Horstkemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Heinrich85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
5.8 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
93 reviews
17.0 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
112 reviews
7.9 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
34 reviews
24.4 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
278 reviews
13.1 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tern Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tern Lake

Address: Mile 36 Seward Highway, 41843 Seward Highway, Moose Pass, AK 99631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moose Pass
Price Range: £132 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Tern Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alaska experience of unequaled excellence. Enjoy luxury accommodations at this exquisite bed and breakfast inn - located adjacent to Tern Lake and bordering the Chugach National Forest - central to the Kenai Peninsula directly between Seward, Girdwood, and Cooper Landing. Accommodations include distinctively appointed guest rooms with private baths. Each spacious room is equipped with a queen size bed, pullout couch, satellite TV, Internet access, fireplace and private balcony. The Inn offers a hot tub, sauna, and an expansive sitting area. Innkeepers Jeff and Rose Hetrick graciously indulge you with impeccable guest services - planning activities, itineraries, meals and making sure that your every need and desire is lavishly catered to. In essence, Tern Lake Inn is the ideal headquarters for your Alaska experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Tern Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing