We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait To Go Again!”

Chugach Backcountry Fishing - Day Trips
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FIshing on the Kenai Peninsula at its best. Fish with owner and head guide Corey Hetrick for you chance at Alaska's greatest sport fishing. Knowledgable about all fishing on the Peninsula, Chugach Backcountry Fishing offers the most customizable fishing trips around!
1 review
“Can't Wait To Go Again!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My dad had always wanted to go to Alaska for a fishing trip so for his 60th we surprised him. All of us in our group of four get rather sea sick so I called several fishing charters to find an alternative to ocean fishing and they all recommended we call Cory at Chugach Backcountry. What a great experience we had! First day we drift boated down the river for trout. Second day we shore fished for Salmon and limited out within a few hours. Our guide Jared was awesome. He knew exactly what he was doing, was friendly, and an all around great guide. We had a lot of fun and were not disappointed. Sure hope to go back and do it all over again in a few years and if/when we do it will DEFIANTLY be with Chugach Backcountry!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great guide - great fishing - great experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our experience began at the Alaska Sportsman's show in early April. My 88 year old mother wanted to line catch a Sockeye Salmon on her own. She has artificial knees and shoulders, so we knew this was going to be a challenge, so as I researched the vendors at the show, my first question was could they work with handicapped elderly people. Most of the vendors were reluctant, but not Corey. His response was an enthusiastic YES!!! and then he told me how we'd make the trip happen, so we booked with them. We decided to make this a multi-generational trip, so my 70 year old aunt and my 7 year old grandson also went with us. Our guide was Jerod. He made the transition from shore to boat easy for everyone, especially my mother. He rowed us to our fishing spot and set everyone up making sure we all knew how to cast and feel the way the lines moved in the water. He was extremely patient with all of us, but especially with my grandson who tangled his line quite often. I don't know how Jerod managed it, but each of us felt that we had his undivided attention. When each of us caught a fish, he was enthusiastic, helpful, and encouraging as he guided us in landing our catch. Due to Jerod's dedicated work, we all had a really fun day even though the fish weren't especially cooperative. We didn't catch a lot of fish, but neither did anyone else. That was more due to the salmon coming upriver later than normal, not because of anything that Jerod did. However, mom caught her Sockeye, as did each of us. We all had a lot of fun, relaxed, enjoyed the scenery, conversation, and each other. Thanks, Jerod for making it an awesome family experience. My son and I will be booking a silver salmon trip with you this autumn, and definitely will be back next year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Guide and trip”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My husband, brother in law, father in law and nephew went out with Grant on a 4 hour float trip on the Kenai River. This trip was fantastic compared to our experience with Miller’s landing. Grant Uren is completed dedicated to customer service and ensuring everyone had a great time. We would highly recommend him and Chugash Backcountry fishing.
The Chapman Family

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“outrageous”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed at Corey Hetrich's lodge totally spotless super comfy beds huge kitchen wonderful rooms the view is unmatched not one complaint. On top of our great stay we took the owner up on a king salmon charter we caught 3 king salmon on one trip outperformed every boat we could see on the river. I have fished the East coast for over thirty years and have not met a charter captain more focused on catching fish. I can't wait to return, had a 11 year old child who caught a king with Corey's help a lifetime memory. Can't rave enough about this place. Anyone needs a reference e=mail me at sagt2pd@yahoo.com

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Fishing Guide”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Corey of Chugach Backcountry Fishing Expeditions is an excellent guide. I would definitely use him again and would recommend him to others. I booked my trip with him months in advance and described that I would like to do some shore fishing. When I contacted him a few days before our fishing trip he advised me that we would have a better chance at catching fish if we used the drift boat instead. Because he was willing and able to change the game plan based on where the fish were biting we had a successful trip.
The river we were on was crowded with other drift boats. Since we showed up at the launch a few minutes before everyone else we were able to stay ahead of them on the way down the river. I noticed other boats on the river that day that did not catch a single fish. With two people fishing off of our boat we landed four king salmon and had several other hits. I don’t believe early June is the peak time to be salmon fishing so I feel that landing four fish that day was a huge success. Our success rate was the highest I saw on the river that day. Corey is a great guide and has all the equipment you need for a day of fishing, plus he knows the fishing regulations (which seem to change quickly and often in Alaska). He took care of everything for us. In fact it seemed too easy at times. All we had to do was reel in the fish. He did everything else. I can't say it enough, I recommend Chugach Backcountry Fishing Expeditions for your next Alaska fishing adventure.

Visited June 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank liketotravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chugach Backcountry Fishing - Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Chugach Backcountry Fishing - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing