We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of Kenai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trail Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trail Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moose Pass
New Orleans
1 review
“The Best of Kenai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

I stopped at the Lodge by accident on my first trip to Seward. All I wanted was a quick breakfast and coffee. Chef Wayne's breakfast creations were the rival of the best of New Orleans. I came back that evening for dinner on my return to Anchorage. Dinner was so delightful we decided to spend the night. I returned the following weekend with friends, and have not stopped raving about it. The owner, Steamer Fulton, the staff and Chef Wayne and wife Debbie made us feel very comfortable. The place is the shiniest gem on Peninsula full of shining gems.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    18
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
25
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2009

Stayed here and would go back again, in fact planning on it. Had a wonderful time, rustic place, good food, fun atmosphere and gorgeous location. Lots of fun at their open mic night with lots of local talent performing and folks having a good time. Rooms are comfortable and inexpensive.

Helpful?
Thank southamericancherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

We stayed here in one night in December because a friend who had been here in July raved about the great food and atmosphere.
Something must have changed. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the scenery was magnificent.
The restaraunt, however was horrible. The menu was horrible, the food was horrible, the owner/cook/waitress was very rude and snobby. The prices were way to high and the portions were skimpy. The bartender seemed pretty drunk and couldn't seem to manage our drinks.
What a shame. This could be such a nice place!

  • Liked — The scenery and comfortable room
  • Disliked — The restaraunt, bar and staff.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idoskidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moose Pass hotels

Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

We stayed in the motel unit located about 100 yards from the main lodge. The room was one of smallest I have ever been in.
It was clean, however. Forget watching TV, there were only about three channels. The restaurant food was good and so was the service. The staff was very accommodating and helpful about any questions we had. If you were looking for a place just to sleep in, it fills the bill.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catlady72003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

Trail Lake Lodge was a bit rough. But we were not expecting a whole lot other than a place to sleep for a couple of nights. Our room did have a couch with the queen and twin bed. TV channels were very limited. No aircon, typical for Alaska. The bathroom was a bit cramped and worn. After taking a shower, a big wet spot developed underneath the carpet next to the sink and remained there for the duration of the stay. Perhaps the reason why the room smelled a bit musty. No big expectation going in, and certainly none gained.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cstercl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

Advertised as full bed and two twins, which was OK so we booked a room. When we arrived they ran our credit card (debit).
When we entered the room we found a full bed, one twin and a fold out couch ( second twin). We are four adults, the fold out was horrible, we asked for another room, which they had several available and were told by a very rude young lady, that they were all the same. Another very rude young girl was backing her up.
We had driven a long way and our final destination was still a couple hours away. We decided to drive the next leg and at least get a decent room. We asked for a refund and were told by the rude young lady that she would not give us a refund as she could have rented the room, not so! They had several rooms available.
Being a visa debit card, the card company could not reverse the charge, the owners would not help us either. We went to the restaurant to eat and were confronted by this very rude young girl again accusing us of just wanting to use their restroom, needless to say, we got up and left, we will never visit Moose Pass AK again. Please save yourself a lot of grief.
STAY AWAY! from Trail Lake Lodge. The rest of Alaska was beautiful and all the places we stayed were great
(as advertised). Everyone we encountered during or two week stay was wonderful and warm.
Except for the owners and the rude young girls of Trail Lake Lodge. We spent $126.00 and received nothing. Don't book Trail Lake Lodge, you will be very dissapointed.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Very Rude Employees
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank euphorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

We stayed one night at the Trail Lake Lodge in one of the motel rooms. These rooms are not on the main road or over the restaurant so the only noise issues we had was people moving on the wooden walkway in front of the rooms. The last arrivals came in around 11 PM and people started moving again around 430 AM. Typical for Alaska in the summer.

The room was small and basic. The bathroom was small, but not overly so. Both were clean. There were only four channels of TV, but that wasn't a big deal. The big deal was the bed. We had a double and since it was pushed up against a wall, it was terribly uncomfortable for sleeping two. You can get a room with two twins, but who wants to that when traveling with your spouse? I think there might be some bigger beds in the lodge rooms, but I can see how those rooms might be fairly noisy as another reviewer mentions.

Overall, the Trail Lake Lodge was just what we expected, a small basic room with no amenities and a small bed. We paid $99. For that, we got what you can get for $99 a night in Alaska in July.

We would stay again based on the place being clean and the price, but would take the two twin beds. If you want a quick stop between Seward and Anchorage or Whittier, the Trail Lake will work. The restaurant was good and the room did have good black out curtains.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
18.8 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
23.2 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
11.4 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
23.2 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
12.7 mi away
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
#3 of 3 in Moose Pass
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail Lake Lodge

Property: Trail Lake Lodge
Address: Mile 29.5 Seward Hwy, Moose Pass, AK 99631
Region: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moose Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trail Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trail Lake Lodge and the Kenai Peninsula Learning Center provides our customers with the highest quality, friendly service and comfortable atmosphere for an unforgettable lodging, dining, and recreational experience on Alaska’s Kenai Peninsula. Trail Lake Lodge and the Kenai Peninsula are famous for its location and proximity to spectacular fishing, hunting, and wildlife and scenery photography. We offer: •Many all inclusive vacation packages •Professionally guided sport fishing for trout, salmon and ocean fishing for halibut, cod and other Alaskan species. •Floatplane fishing trips to remote lakes and streams on the Kenai Peninsula •Wilderness trips for fishing, overnight backpacking expeditions, sea kayaking and canoe rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Trail Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trail Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing