We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Ranked #3 of 3 Moose Pass B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Rustic and charming. We had a great time and the location was perfect to get to Seward or just to hike in the area. Would definitley recommend it!

Room Tip: Cabin #2 (Baby Bear) has an amazing view of the lake across the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    3
    4
    10
See reviews for
13
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, WI
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Visited Alaska for the 1st time and stayed at his place. Looked real cute from the outside, but the quality of the building was SCARY!!! It was situated on a steep hill and had very little parking. The cabin we stayed in was only a few feet away from a creek and we all wondered if that was where the toilet emptied into. There was a very small heater in the wall and the stairs were steep, narrow and had no railing, kind of stupid when you consider that all the beds were upstairs and the bathroom was downstairs. Good thing there was sun most of the time. All the beds were in the 1 room loft with no privacy at all. I also have never seen such a lousy job at wiring, extension cords all over and receptacles cut in half so they fit. My sister in law slept on the couch and could see through the walls to the outside, no wonder her feet were cold. It was WAY OVER PRICED for what was there. You can do better, with little effort

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moose Pass hotels

Elk Grove, IL
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We stayed at Midnight Sun Log Cabins (Cabin #5) for one night. We thought it was a good location to spend the night between Seward and Whittier. It was very easy to find since it is right off the main road. The cabin had a woodsy feel to it, but had some modern conveniences like a small refrigerator and a microwave. There is a TV which does not have any reception, but you can borrow VCR tapes for no charge at the cabin where you check in. The cabins all look new. There is a wooded area around the cabin that adds some charm. The heat in the cabin was wonderful and heated the room up quickly. I even used the heater to dry my hair since I didn’t bring a hairdryer. The bed was ok for comfort, certainly good enough for one night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woowoochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We needed a place right away on the Labor Day Weekend and took a chance on this place, seeing as there was only one review (although very good). We stayed in Cabin 4 which was great for 2 couples: a queen size bed on the main floor and two twins in the loft above that could be scooted together. The cabin had a great woodsy appeal with beautiful burled posts on the patio, rocking chairs, and the inside was very nice. No kitchen sink but a microwave, coffee pot, dining table and chairs. Bathroom shower was hot (on-demand water heater we think) and GREAT water pressure. No problem taking multiple showers. We could hear some road noise but it was not a problem for us; and the views from the deck of the mountains were excellent. Great breakfast at the lodge up the road. We would definitely stay here again. Great price, lovely clean cabin.

  • Liked — Clean, attractive cabins with lots of "Alaska" woodsy character, lots of hot water
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schmeepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

My husband and I stayed in Moose Pass (end of May 2007) to get away from the touristy areas, and also because I wanted a location between Seward and Kenai Nat'l Wildlife Refuge. We stayed in Cabin #5 at the Midnight Sun Log Cabins. If you want the cabin experience without roughing it too bad, this is a nice choice. The cabins all look new and are very cute and clean. They're right off the main road, but the area is wooded and the site overlooks mountains and a lake (across the road). The cabin has a queen size bed which was comfortable enough, though nothing luxurious, a shower stall, sink area separate from the bathroom, TV, small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. My only complaint was that the fridge and heater were so loud, I had to turn down the heat and unplug the fridge to get to sleep, though my husband had no problem falling asleep with the noise. Even with the heat way down, we were warm enough all night.

Anyway, I would recommend staying in Moose Pass if you want to get away from the crowds and don't mind driving a bit. Seward was a half an hour away. Homer may be too long of a drive, but it's do-able in a day. We only went as far as the Wildlife Refuge near Soldotna, which was definitely do-able in a day. There is a restaurant in Moose Pass, but we did not get to try it out as it was closed by the time we got there.

Helpful?
4 Thank TabithaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
12.6 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
91 reviews
23.9 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
26 reviews
19.5 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
364 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,028 reviews
9.5 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midnight Sun Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midnight Sun Log Cabins

Property: Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Address: Mile 28.9 Seward Hwy, P.O. Box 102, Moose Pass, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moose Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Midnight Sun Log Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midnight Sun Log Cabins provide a scenic getaway in beautiful Moose Pass. 45 minutes away from Seward, the lodge is far enough away from the nearest city to avoid the noise and close enough to enjoy a day trip sightseeing. Located right in the middle of prime hiking and fishing spots, there is always something to do both for the distant traveller and the city-dweller looking for a weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Midnight Sun Log Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing