We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alaska State Railroad Museum
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit and our support.

A very delightful find. So glad we stopped in Nenana. This place is a very interesting slice of... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2017
WEK54
,
California
Very Sad Town

Life is passing this town bye - just off Parks Highway we drove on into the Alaska State Railroad... read more

Reviewed 1 June 2017
352bobs
,
Lake Wales, Florida
via mobile
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
4
4
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
4
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden spike minute stop parks highway worth a visit commemorating history photos alaska
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Attempted to visit in early April, but the whole town seemed shut down. Then I reread the trip advisor reviews and discovered that everyone who wrote reviews visited in the summer. Using mobile version of TA, but there was no link to a website nor was there any info about hours. Too bad- it looked like a fun place to stop.

1  Thank stephaniewoolsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

A very delightful find. So glad we stopped in Nenana. This place is a very interesting slice of history that is not mentioned in school books. Visit the small museum and ask questions ... stories of the railroad, of the ice classic tripod, of the iditarod, of the town and community. The docent, Beau, is very knowledgeable. We did not expect to learn so much on our 30 minute stop from Denali to Fairbanks.

Thank WEK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stopped here on our way to Denali. Quaint little museum (free) with a small gift shop, One of last still existing rail depots in AK. Lots of Alaska Rail history in an off the beaten path location. Close to Nenana river and the famous Ice Classic location.

Thank DickandPaulineP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Since I live in Nenana, I visit often! The History of Nenana is presented in different decades. The displays are in ongoing progress. The proprietor, Beau Hawkins, is always adding to the already many artifacts and photos. I have a somewhat knowledge of the History of Nenana, and his displays I am impressed with. Nenana is a crossroads of Rail, Highway, River, and Air in central Alaska. From the driving of the Golden Spike by President Warren G. Harding commemorating the completion of the RR bridge across the Tanana River, a portrait of the age of the Steamboats plying the Chena, Tanana, Yukon and Koyukuk Rivers headquartered in Nenana, to interior dogsledding and trapping. Nenana was a very bustling river town until a great fire destroyed the town and the completion of the Railroad to Fairbanks. Well worth the stop on your way North or South on the George Parks Highway!

Thank Theodore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Life is passing this town bye - just off Parks Highway we drove on into the Alaska State Railroad Museum. Interesting place rich in history / small gift shop that's was run by a friendly young man.
Only a 15 minute stop but worth while !

Thank 352bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

My wife and I have visited this museum many times over the years and we always enjoy our visits. It is worth a stop and that is for sure.

1  Thank Kanbaatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

It is a slice of history that is nicely preserved. Plus you can rent a room above the museum with advanced planning. This is a cute town where the ice break is a contest every spring.

Thank dkorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This is a very small display in the original Nenana train depot. The gentleman running it told us you could still catch a train there with a couple of hours' notice to the railroad! It is a snapshot of history and worth a quick stop.

Thank pktva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

This little museum was a real treat! I only wish we'd known that there are rooms for rent upstairs, as it would have been a great and unique experience.

1  Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Well kept and original RR Station that holds a treasure trove of antiques! We loved this Station that felt like walking into time travel to back in the day when Nenana was put on the map! If you love the history of the Alaskan Railroad, you will be on cloud 9. Very small but very interesting to check out! Wish I had a pic of the fresh rubarb that was growing out front of main door!!

Thank spacecoastkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews