We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Alaskan experience!”
Review of North Pole Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Pole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Pole Cabins
Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true Alaskan experience!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After much research we chose North Pole Cabins for our stay in North Pole Alaska. This being our second trip to Alaska, we know that experiencing a real Alaskan vacation includes being with a real Alaskan host. Nancy made us welcome immediately and was warm and gracious, providing us with tons of information about things in the Fairbanks and North Pole Area. The cabin that we stayed in was very cozy, and comfortable, with a large window and a little kitchen area that was all we needed to make dinners. After 4 nights on the road we were ready to have our own meals in the cabin. The bed felt like our bed at home. Very nice. We also enjoyed talking to Nancy and learning about her father's initial trip to Alaska back in the 30's. All in all, a great choice for couples, families, or singles. Great location too. Close to Fairbanks, yet out of town a bit, which we like! Did I mention The Santa Claus House is 2 minutes from Nacy's? Quaint and adorable!

Room Tip: I think the cabins are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EthanKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Nancy greeted us shortly after we pulled in. We felt very welcomed and well cared for. Since Nancy is a native, she was able to give us great recommendations of places to visit while we were in the area. She shared information about her dad who was one of the first to drive the Alaskan hiway. The cabin was very clean and comfy. We would definitely stay at North Pole Cabins again. She was one of the best hosts that we had for our Alaskan adventure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eyeteach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Nancy's cabin in the woods was a wonderful place to stay. We brought our grandchildren to Alaska to visit our daughter who lives in Ester. They loved their loft ,the mini kitchen and their breakfast supplies provided by Nancy. The beds were very comfortable and throughly appreciated after a day of sight seeing. It was our home away from home and would definetly stay again. Our granchildren didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany/USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We arrived late at night and Nancy still left instructions and key for us without hesitation. She noticed us pulling in and said a quick hi then gave us our space and privacy. Our son loved the loft bed. I liked that it had a little mini kitchen so we could do some of our own cooking. Bedding was VERY comfortable. Nice location with a great owner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oiseleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband & I decided to travel to this area for our 42nd anniversary the 1st week of April to try to see the Northern Lights. I booked a cabin here and Nancy was VERY helpful! The cabin was very clean and quiet. Plus she had milk, juice, bread, etc. already in the kitchen for us. Although the temp went down to -14, the cabin was warm and cozy. There was a loft w/another bed, where my husband would go read while I slept in! The internet service was great. Nancy recommended places for viewing the northern lights--which we DID see! AWESOME! Nancy also invited us to a musical in Fairbanks, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We hope we can return to this area again--& would definitely stay at the North Pole Cabins again! Thanks, North Pole Nancy!

Room Tip: There's only 2 cabins--so make reservations early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwynrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

woman made us move our vehicle a few times even though she said we could park where we were, the area sorrounding the cabin was very cluttered, woman accused my wife of credit card fraud and wanted to see a third form of identification even though she had an official military id, charged us the special room rate which is more than the winter rate even though it was clearly winter season, there was no breakfast as advertised in fact no one was present in the morning, there was a bunch of dogs in the adjacent cabin and kept us up all night barking, the ladder to the upstairs loft portion of the cabin was held together and mounted with thin nails and duck tape, yes duck tape, including cracks in the ladder. the woman told me to shut the cabin door very intrusively even though i was hauling luggage in. there was wifi which was nice. the woman made us feel like squaters rather than paying customers what you dont see in the picture is the cabin is actually their back yard, id recomend staying at chena hot springs for about the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in January. We thought it was cold when we arrived - minus 15C - but soon found out what cold really was when it went down to minus 42 C !! The log cabin we rented from Nancy stayed warm throughout.
The trip was for my 60th birthday, and I wanted to see the Northern Lights and they put on a good show for me. Nancy was a great host, offering whatever help we needed, and leaving us alone when help wasn't wanted. The cabin in the woods gave us a great 'back to nature' feel and we would thoroughly recommend a stay at North Pole Cabins for anyone wanting to visit the North Pole / Fairbanks area.
Nancy was able to recommend a good place to try Dog sledding, and even got me a visit to the local Radio / TV station for a tour. Be sure to ask her if you can watch the video of her Dad talking about his adventures. It brings the ruggedness of Alaska to life!
Next time we would like to visit in the summer, but then no Lights.........
Thank you Nancy for helping to make our trip such a special occasion.

Room Tip: Nancy only has 2 cabins, both are very nice. She also has a trailer (we didn't see that as it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elditig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Pole
0.9 mi away
Hotel North Pole
Hotel North Pole
#1 of 1 in North Pole
80 reviews
12.6 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
277 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,105 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
13.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Pole Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Pole Cabins

Property: North Pole Cabins
Address: 2502 Outside Blvd, P.O. Box 57194, North Pole, AK 99705
Region: United States > Alaska > North Pole
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in North Pole
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing