We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View of Glacier from Table”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Rifle Lodge

Long Rifle Lodge
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our lodge overlooks the 20+ mile long Matanuska Glacier. It is located at mile 102.2 Of the Glenn Hwy/Scenic Byway. We offer wonderful homemade desserts, great burgers and microbrews on tap. It is the perfect place to relax after a hiking, ice climbing or whitewater rafting trip.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
462 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Awesome View of Glacier from Table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This restaurant had the best scenic view from a table that I have ever seen. There is nothing better than eating good food with a glacier in the background. The prices were right, wait staff was good, and food was great. There is alot of interesting taxidermy animals. We sat near a bison. The address says Palmer but its not really near the town.

This place is a hidden gem. I'm not sure why but on a Saturday in July this place was empty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeWiseMen1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Basic rooms, good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at Long Rifle Lodge for 2 nights as we explore the Matanuska Glacier region. They offer clean, basic rooms, and the meals at the on-site restaurant are very good overall. Views of the glacier from the restaurant is absolutely majestic.
There are probably nicer lodges around the area, but they are definitely more pricey. So if price is a concern to you (as it is to us), as well as location (to be as close as possible to glacier to begin hiking/ice climbing), then I do think Long Rifle Lodge can be a good option for you for a short stay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

A simple, inexpensive menu, quick & friendly service, and dining room with stuffed bears and a great glacier view make this a super place to stop for lunch on your way to or from Matanuska glacier. Also the only place with a gas pump since you left Palmer! These folks were quickly taking care of customers without appearing hurried, and were attentive to refilling drinks and other needs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average food, very rude waitress.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

When we arrived, we walked up to the waitress and asked if the place was open (since no one seemed to take notice of us or offer to seat us). She said they were closing in 10 minutes, but that we could still order something if we put our order in quickly. I assumed that she meant the kitchen was closing, but that we would still have time to eat; apparently not. Another waitress (a European lady) served us and came back with our bill and told us we needed to leave about 3 minutes after the food arrived! We had to gulp down our food and as we got up to leave and took just a moment to admire the decorations, the waitress we first spoke to (a blonde lady) came up to us and rudely said "we're closed, you need to leave now". First of all, we had already gotten up and were in the process of leaving, so there was no need to rudely hurry us along (whe could have been cleaning our table and doing any other odds and ends while she waited). Secondly, I think she should have clearly explained that we could order but we would need to eat and leave VERY quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler01101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try the Glacier Burger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stopped in for a meal after the glacier trek with Mica Guides just down the road. The view that Long Rifle has of the glacier is breathtaking,the view from a short distance after the hike rather than up close and personal as we had just done for four hours. We were immediately seated and greated warmly by the waitress. We all had the Glacier Burger and fries which seems to be a signature entree. After four hours on the glacier, we were hungry and the glacier burger filled the bill. The food was served hot and the drinks cold, a great combo. The youngster with me was fascinated by the wildlife taxidermy that is a hallmark of the restaurant. It made for some very interesting discussion about the wildlife of Alaska for this first-time visitor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKwaterrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Rifle Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Long Rifle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing