We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hamburger...”
Review of Mad Hatcher - CLOSED

Mad Hatcher
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Hamburger...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We decide to come and give them a try.
The good: big, tasty hamburgers on home made buns. Home cut French fries. Fun, eclectic decor.
The bad: at one point there were kids running in and out and screaming. Our orders didn't come out exactly right.

They have outdoor seating if the weather is nice, and it looks like they do music events.
I don't think we'll make a trip just to eat here, but if you are in the area, it's a good stop.

Helpful?
Thank AKStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great little place that is family owned. Owners son waited on us and he was the cutest darn thing- he kept coming back to the table to make sure that we had everything we needed. Check these folks out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasYaYaSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent burger”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Drove by on the way to Hatcher Pass. On the way back we stopped and are glad we did. Really know how to make a burger. Try it you won't be sorry.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pjalexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

we saw this as we were driving up to the mine and decided that was going to be the dinner spot and we stopped on the way back down… so glad we did. the place was busy when we arrived but we sat at a table immediately and ordered shortly after… the pizza was really good and there were so many interesting combinations to choose from on the menu we had a hard time deciding. The decor leans to an alaskan alice in wonderland vibe which was quaint…all in all a fun and yummy food experience… very relaxed and casual.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryQuade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

After driving past Mad Hatcher many times going to and from Hatcher Pass to camp and hike, we were very excited to finally be able to give this new place a try. We arrived a few minutes before noon, and were surprised to find not a soul in sight except for a few other men who were there for lunch waiting for the restaurant to open. It was was supposed to open at noon, but there weren't any other cars in the lot or lights on inside. We decided to wait a few more minutes to see if the restaurant would open.
At noon on the dot, a Chevy Suburban pulled into the lot and right up to the front of the restaurant. A women piled out of the front seat in short jean shorts, a tank top, and flip flops with an infant on her lap. Yes, on her lap. I was appalled. I don't care if you are just driving down the street, no infant should ever be out of a carseat, let alone riding on someone's lap on the front seat. This same woman than proceeded to open up the shop and welcome the other men waiting in for lunch. On principle alone, I could not bring myself to eat at Mad Hatcher. I cannot support someone's business who does not feel it necessary to follow the law and keep their child safe. I can only assume that she is the restaurant's owner as I doubt they have many staff members.
The carseat issue aside, I was disappointed that the restaurant did not open on time. If the doors weren't open until noon, that meant that none of the grills, ovens, or other cooking equipment were fired up and ready. Even if we had stayed, it would have been quite a wait until we received our food.
We were very excited to give this establishment a try as there are very few restaurants in the area, but sadly, we were quite disappointed. We don't plan to be back again anytime soon. We'll opt to drive up the mountain to Hatcher Pass Lodge or hold out until we get into Palmer or Wasilla.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArmyWife3-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mad Hatcher also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing