We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not normally a “B&B person” but this was a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Ranked #3 of 13 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not normally a “B&B person” but this was a great place”
Reviewed 9 November 2007

My wife wanted to stay at B&Bs when we went to Alaska. I wasn't too excited about that because I thought it would be easier to stay at hotels with our two kids. This turned out to be a good place.
Our boys loved the dog—just like in the movie Snow Dogs! And there was a big lawn and woods for them to run around and burn off steam. One morning we saw a moose during breakfast and the boys talked about it for days afterward. I liked the food -- I’d never had riendeer sausage or birch syrup—it was good on waffles. We met some new friends there, too.

  • Liked — relaxed, good wildlife, not stuck up
  • Disliked — would have liked to stay longer
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robdocred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    38
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
42
93
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Our favorite part was the delicious breakfasts. We stayed 9 days and never had the same thing twice - waffles with whipped cream and strawberries from her garden, elegant souffles, gourmet oatmeal, layered yogurt parfaits, lots of fresh fruit. My favorite was sourdough pancakes, homemade highbush syrup Karen made, and local reindeer sausage. Karen told us where we could get it so we brought some home, too. Can you tell I like to eat?! The B&B was very nice. A couple evenings we sat with an Alaska Pale Ale and watched the sun on the glacier and mountains out the huge windows. We had great hikes all around - Karen told us about different trails and how to find the trailheads. I hiked on a glacier - what an awesome experience!

  • Liked — delicious breakfasts
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2007

We came to see as much as we could in a week, and we spent long days out in the great wild country doing everything—we took a full-day ATV tour to a glacier, we took a flightseeing trip around Mt. McKinley, we panned for gold at Hatcher Pass, and guides took us hiking on a glacier and ice-climbing. That was all so awesome and we loved the adventures and seeing moose and eagles. We came back so jazzed but so tired, too, and this B&B was a great place to rest and refuel for the next day!

Our room was the budget one and we thought we were getting a steal of a deal to have everything else that the other people in more expensive rooms had too—fantastic views, great breakfasts, really nice place.

We don’t mind sharing a bathroom, so we felt like we were getting away with murder to stay there for $79/night and get to sit and look out at a glacier and huge mountains right outside the view.

This was absolutely the right place for us—central to everything we wanted to go do.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dlcmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2007

You will be asked to stay away from the B & B between the hours of 11 AM and 4 PM ( the owner operator wants privacy during those hours ) so don't think you can hang out and read a book. Dog hair covering the cloth covered sofa ( Little Girl (Huskey claims this sofa as her own ) - the leather sofa doesn't show the hair. You are not permitted to wear shoes inside anywhere and so must walk thru dog hair etc . Breakfast is OK but the breads are not made from scratch - cake mixes are used. Blueberries are lovely addition to breads etc but they are picked at Hatcher Pass competeing with the natural habitat bears who depend on them for end of summer fattening up for winter hibernation. You better not stay anywhere but your room after 10 PM or you will be told that the living room is closed. Remember in the summer it is still very much day light at that time. In general the description given in the literature of this B & B is very much overstated.

  • Liked — Close to Palmer
  • Disliked — Dog hair all over, breakfasts uninspired, stairs to bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OOGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, 16 October 2007
I owe these guests an apology--there was dog fur all over because the kids/family staying for the week had played with my husky that night after I had vacuumed earlier in the day.

Much of what she says is true in this review. I feel bad because I had just lost a very good summer helper (she got recalled to the military of all things) and it was a struggle to keep up excellence. However, my fruit breads are not out of a box and the bears are not underfed because I gathered a 5-gallon pail of wild blueberries. The eggs were simple due to a request from the older couple who stayed the same night and asked for something gentle to their constitutions.

I do defend my policy to keep the house quiet between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. It can be hard to sleep during the "midnight sun" and get your body to quiet down, even without people having a fun time conversing and laughing in the living room. I know these guests just wanted to use the computer quietly, but if they were in the living room, it invites others to come chat. There is wireless internet in each room, as well as TVs/movies in all but the two budget rooms. Everyone comes here from a different time zone and we recognize that your body might be wide awake at midnight or 4 a.m. but it helps others sleep if guests can keep themselves busy and quiet in their rooms until 7 a.m. so everyone gets a fair chance at quiet sleep.

Thanks to all who have taken the time to put in a review. I appreciate each review and always seek to improve. Because of the first review we got on TripAdvisor, we installed a new door so that B&B room now has a door to the bathroom and you don't need to go out into the hall to the bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battlefield, MO USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2006

My wife and I enjoyed our stay so very much, and Susan Harris, the owner is a great hostess. The B&B is in a newer home, and has a genuine "home" feel.

Hans and Little Girl, the huskies, are gentle and loving, and "mooch" a little if you let them.

The rooms are comfy, and well appointed. Several have whirlpool tubs, microwave and small refridgerators. Some have phones, and nearly all have small television/VCR

Our room, although small, was comfortable and neat. The only complaint is that the bathroom is not "within" the room, but in a small hallway just outside the room's door. It could easily be changed by moving the room door to just beyond the bathroom and enclosing the hallway, thus making the bathroom a part of the room itself. Other rooms have bathroom "ensuite".

Breakfasts are to die for! Belgian waffles, soufle's, home-made preserves, hot and thick oatmeal with fresh berries among other items were delicious and nicely prepared.

The grounds are lovely and offer great views of the mountains.

There are a multitude of books on local history and culture, both in the living room and in the rooms, and a computer with internet access is available for guest use.

Ms Harris is a wealth of information on the locality and can recommend any number of activities and sights for your enjoyment. She is also a delight to just sit and talk with.

Thumbs up for the Garden Gate!

Don and Sally Smith
Battlefield, MO

  • Liked — Views, grat hospitality by the owner, lovely setting
  • Disliked — Location of the bathroom for our room
  • Tips/Secrets — Call for directions, it is a little hard to find
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Amunhotep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
7.4 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
3.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
5.3 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
5.1 mi away
Eagle Hotel
Eagle Hotel
#10 of 13 in Palmer
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Garden Gate B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Garden Gate B & B

Property: Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Address: 950 S Trunk Rd, Palmer, AK 99645-7428
Region: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alaska Garden Gate B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, between Palmer and Wasilla, Alaska, just 35 minutes north of Anchorage. Take in the breathtaking views of glaciers and mountains while relaxing in the comfortable setting of your private apartment. At Alaska Garden Gate, we offer seven cottages and five guest apartments to accommodate the needs of everyone, from corporate travelers or international tourists. We feature Queen and King beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, full kitchens and living rooms, cable TV and free wireless internet. Additionally, a generous breakfast buffet is provided 7:30-9:30 a.M. Make our B&B your home away from home while you explore on day-trips in all directions. From everyone at Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, we look forward to sharing our love of Alaska with you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alaska Garden Gate B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Garden Gate B & B Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing