We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Ranked #3 of 12 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I really enjoyed by stay at Alaska Garden Gate B&B near Palmer. It was the perfect location for our day trips. The suite we had was clean and quiet and a pretty good price. I'm planning to stay there again when I go to Palmer this fall.

Room Tip: I would try one of the cabins. They offer a bit more privacy. We stayed in the main B&B which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    35
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
36
90
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I was only 4 nights here and had the bad luck that it was a bit windy outside but this place is so beautiful and peaceful you wish that you could stay forever.
So I had the Luxury Cottage with the Jacuzzi and it was really awesome here you have your own little home with kitchen and a nice view, and the hostess is really friendly.
The next town Palmer is just 3 miles away so you can go for dinner out there or cook yourself just something.It takes by foot approx. 2 hours from there to palmer so if you have a bike or even better a car than use that. The Host Karen was really friendly and helpful and is bringing evryday day fresh breakfast. Of course you have here also coffee (sugar and milkpowder) and Tea and more, you have in the Room also a folder and map with useful info as direction to restaurants and other activities here around, or you can ask Karen she knows evrything about the Area. So Iam really glad I made the way up here from Anchorage to the Garden Gate, Its a lovely place to stay and I would recommend it to evrybody, karen treats evrybody as a good friend and not as a customer so thumbs up for the Garden Gates from me.
100 % SATISFACTION is here guaranteed !!! looking forward to come here in summer again. Jana Krupka from Prague, Czech Republic

Room Tip: each cottage here is perfect cant really say whats better:P
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanaKrupka711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages that is only 3 years old and looks brand new. It was very comfortable, convenient and private. Our frig was stocked with breakfast food that was okay, but nothing special. Karen supplied us with very helpful information on our destination. I would highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsaxtonCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colgate, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This B and B was really lovely. Our room was in the lower floor of the main house. It was very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. We had a full size Jacuzzi tub in addition to a full bath. Karen was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauriePoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Karen doesn't treat you like just another customer like the Big Hotel Chains do. She treats everyone like her family. She takes such good care of you!!! I give Karen and her Alaska Garden Gate B & B a thumbs up. It is clean, neat and her Breakfast was amazing. Karen home cooks it with love and great pride. 100 % SATISFACTION!!! We stayed July 1st through July 9th 2012. Karen loves her work and people and it shows in everything she does. I look forward to staying here again.
Bonnie Dvorak from Athens, Wisconsin.

Room Tip: They are all GREAT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

With my husband and kids I stopped in Palmer driving from Denali National Park to Valdez. The B&B is delightful and our room was beautiful, spacious, clean and very well equipped. The only negative point that we report is that breakfast was very poor : the innkeeper gave each of us an apple juice, a yogurt and a slice of quiche, leaving everything is the refrigerator the night before. Disappointing compared to the delicious breakfasts we had in similar B&B's throughout Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Sole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

This place was clean and pleasant but we made the mistake of thinking we had booked one of the cottages. Instead, we booked a bedroom/bath/kitchenette inside the owner's home. This was spacious and clean. Breakfast was juice, banana bread, pre-cooked scrambled eggs to microwave and sausage. The only complaint is a male was sleeping in a room right on the other side of the divider curtain and loudly snoring. We wished we had booked one of the cute cottages instead for more privacy. Overall, a nice, clean place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
I appreciate the feedback in this review and I'm sorry these guests didn't get good sleep! Next to each bed is a white noise machine; perhaps these guests didn't notice it. In our guest apartments, are portable electric fans which can help moderate temperature or provide steady sound, too. It's true that some snore-ers can make it past walls and doors, so we try to provide everything needed to make a peaceful and quiet environment for everyone. I'm sure these guests would enjoy a cottage on their next stay! The cottages stand independently and don't share a wall like the guest apartments in our house do. However, occasionally there are loud noises around the cottages, too. Many times people who are arriving late don't think about other people sleeping, since it is still light outside at midnight or later. In both our cottages and guest apartments, we have wonderful pillow-top beds, white noise machines, and room-darkening shades or curtains to give guests the best chance for relaxing and restful sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lake Lucille Inn
3.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
5.3 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
7.2 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#4 of 12 in Palmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Garden Gate B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Garden Gate B & B

Property: Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Address: 950 S Trunk Rd, Palmer, AK 99645-7428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alaska Garden Gate B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, between Palmer and Wasilla, Alaska, just 35 minutes north of Anchorage. Take in the breathtaking views of glaciers and mountains while relaxing in the comfortable setting of your private apartment. At Alaska Garden Gate, we offer seven cottages and five guest apartments to accommodate the needs of everyone, from corporate travelers or international tourists. We feature Queen and King beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, full kitchens and living rooms, cable TV and free wireless internet. Additionally, a generous breakfast buffet is provided 7:30-9:30 a.M. Make our B&B your home away from home while you explore on day-trips in all directions. From everyone at Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, we look forward to sharing our love of Alaska with you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alaska Garden Gate B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Garden Gate B & B Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing