We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our 20 day Alaskan vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Ranked #3 of 13 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roscommon, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great start to our 20 day Alaskan vacation”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Karen was a very gracious host. She came out to greet us , giving us a tour and making us feel very welcomed.
We stayed in the one bedroom room located at the lower level in the back of the house. The breakfast was left in the fridge and was delicious. First morning we had an omelet and the second day was quiche. The room was clean and had homey feel. The location was close to Wasilla , Palmer and Anchorage. It was a nice drive to to the Matanuska Glacier. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The cabins probably have a better view of the mountains than the rooms in the house do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pogoogop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other travelers. I appreciate it! Thanks for staying with us. --Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    38
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
42
93
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose the 2 bedroom cabin as we had a friend travelling with us. It was clean, with everything we needed but very dated. There is a beautiful view of a glacier from the main bedroom window. We were left a fridge with food in for breakfast which suited us very well as our friend was being picked up early by shuttle to go to the airport leaving us to continue with our tour. It meant she could eat before she left. Karen was very helpful in booking us a table in a restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggirl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We enjoyed hosting your stay and meeting you! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments!
--Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here the end of August 2013. It was one of the worst places we stayed on our 15 day trip to Alaska. We booked the "Birch Hideaway", it was an OLD single wide trailer they had turned into two rental units. They had attempted a DIY project to make it pleasing to look at, but failed miserably. The walls in the room were so thin that when the people in the adjoining room arrived late that night, we could hear EVERY word they said. The owners know this is a problem as they provided a "noise machine" next to the bed in an attempt to drown out sounds. There were also solid air freshners scattered around the unit, the reason for this became apparent the first time the next door occupants flushed their toilet. It reeked in our bathroom and the adjoining bedroom as it gurgled in our bathroom toilet. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom. In the kitchen, they had made a big sign ordering occupants to turn on the exhaust fan when cooking. We had no idea why as the fan went maybe 12 inches inside the cupboard over the stove top and ended inside the cupboard. Stay somewhere else if traveling to the Palmer area.

Room Tip: I can't vouch for any of the cottages, but avoid the "Birch Hideaway" at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Cindy,

I'm shocked and saddened that you count your stay here among your worst in Alaska. I wish that you had expressed your unhappiness about your unit while you were staying with us last summer, so we could have helped. We want every guest to be accommodated in a style that best fits their needs. With twelve choices of cottages and apartments (and more starting to be built this week!), we strive to offer everything from Luxury with all amenities to more economical choices.

Our Birch Hideaway, with bedroom, bathroom, and living room/kitchen, as well as a large deck, set on a lovely property, offers a lot of value when compared against "just a hotel room" along the highway, often at a higher price. We try to offer as much information as possible on our website to give visitors an accurate picture of what each choice offers, and we encourage any potential visitors to call us if they want to check on what might be a best fit for them.

To speak to your specific comments, because each of our cottages and apartments have kitchens, it's not uncommon for guests to want to cook salmon they caught. When we might have just a few hours between one set of guests departing and a next arrival, things like air fresheners and charcoal filtered exhaust fan can really help make things nicer for the next person. Every unit offers a white noise machine because although we ask for guests to be considerate after 10 pm, the "midnight sun" can throw people off and they don't think about being quiet "in the daylight," even if it is late. Quality sleep is important to us and we do everything we can to provide good beds and other things that support a good night's sleep.

This review really caught me off-guard and I don't feel reflects the hospitality product that we offer here. However, I am sorry very much that it was not up to your expectations, and we would have liked the opportunity to help find something more pleasing to you while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had the privilege of staying at Karen Harris's B&B while attending a State B&B Board meeting at her house. The cabin was clean, new, comfortable, quiet and private - a lovely breakfast in a basket in the fridge as well as coffee . It was like having our own little house, supplied with all we needed or wanted. We would highly recommend it to anyone travelling in the Palmer/Wasilla area. We will definitely come again when we're up that way. I would vote Karen as the Hostess with the Mostess!

Room Tip: Even though the cabins are all (7) a similar layout, they are situated facing different directions t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedCabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts! We appreciate you staying with us and hope you'll come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in cottage # 6 at the Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages last week while attending a meeting there. The cottage was clean and had everything we could have needed. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom well laid out with hooks and space for toiletries. The breakfast supplied was very tasty! We would enjoy staying there again, and recommend it as a wonderful place to stay while vacationing in the area. Wonderful, warm, friendly & knowledgeable hostess.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzies_Nest_BnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much for describing details about your cottage. Even with pictures, it can be hard for guests to know what to anticipate, so your sharing is a great service. It was so nice to host your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girdwoo, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Karen has thought of every detail. I stayed in the economy cottage and with perfect simplicity it has everything you need. The grounds are immaculate and the views are incredible. Great stop on your way through this area!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriagehousebandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Please come back again to sample some of our other spots, too! Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and we appreciated having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at this B&B on two separate occasions on our way to and from Denali National Park. Palmer was a very convenient place for us to base ourselves and we did a day trip to Seward from there as well. On first impressions Garden Gate presents very well and is attractively landscaped. It doesn't disappoint when you check in. The first stay we had a cabin and found it very comfortable - clean, roomy and well equipped. As I recall the bed was incredibly comfy and hard to get out of in the morning. Our room had a view overlooking the glacier and on the second morning the cloud lifted high enough for us to see it. The cabins are not too close together and private. On the way back from Denali a week or so later, we stayed again at Garden Gate and this time we had an apartment under the main office and it was even bigger than the cabin and fully self-contained allowing us to self cater, which was really good. It was an excellent place to stay and we very much enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hello, we appreciated your stays, both times you came through our Mat-Su area! Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
7.4 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
3.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
5.3 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
5.1 mi away
Eagle Hotel
Eagle Hotel
#10 of 13 in Palmer
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Garden Gate B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Garden Gate B & B

Property: Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Address: 950 S Trunk Rd, Palmer, AK 99645-7428
Region: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alaska Garden Gate B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, between Palmer and Wasilla, Alaska, just 35 minutes north of Anchorage. Take in the breathtaking views of glaciers and mountains while relaxing in the comfortable setting of your private apartment. At Alaska Garden Gate, we offer seven cottages and five guest apartments to accommodate the needs of everyone, from corporate travelers or international tourists. We feature Queen and King beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, full kitchens and living rooms, cable TV and free wireless internet. Additionally, a generous breakfast buffet is provided 7:30-9:30 a.M. Make our B&B your home away from home while you explore on day-trips in all directions. From everyone at Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, we look forward to sharing our love of Alaska with you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Alaska Garden Gate B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Garden Gate B & B Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing