We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Ranked #2 of 13 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at Alaska Garden Gate B&B twice on our trip to Alaska. We loved the Palmer area and the property has a great view of the Knik Glacier. Both breakfasts were great and the bed very comfy with nice bedding. I loved the soothing homedics machines at the bedside and fell asleep with the ocean sounds. Karen gave us a tour of the property when we arrived and made sure we knew how to use the TV remote, the door lock, Wi-Fi information etc. She is very genuine and sincerely wants all her customers to be happy and comfortable at her cottages. Would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: a cottage at the front of the property gives a great view of the glacier.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi Donna, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with future visitors. It was a pleasure having you here on both ends of your trip! --Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Alaska Garden Gate B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location is perfect for weekend getaway with wonderful food and views just a short drive. I am a very picky person and our stay in the luxury Jacuzzi cottage was FABULOS! can't wait to stay again.
Kim

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks so much! We'll look forward to your next stay. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and photos with others! --Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Karen was a very gracious host. She came out to greet us , giving us a tour and making us feel very welcomed.
We stayed in the one bedroom room located at the lower level in the back of the house. The breakfast was left in the fridge and was delicious. First morning we had an omelet and the second day was quiche. The room was clean and had homey feel. The location was close to Wasilla , Palmer and Anchorage. It was a nice drive to to the Matanuska Glacier. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The cabins probably have a better view of the mountains than the rooms in the house do.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pogoogop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other travelers. I appreciate it! Thanks for staying with us. --Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose the 2 bedroom cabin as we had a friend travelling with us. It was clean, with everything we needed but very dated. There is a beautiful view of a glacier from the main bedroom window. We were left a fridge with food in for breakfast which suited us very well as our friend was being picked up early by shuttle to go to the airport leaving us to continue with our tour. It meant she could eat before she left. Karen was very helpful in booking us a table in a restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggirl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We enjoyed hosting your stay and meeting you! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments!
--Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here the end of August 2013. It was one of the worst places we stayed on our 15 day trip to Alaska. We booked the "Birch Hideaway", it was an OLD single wide trailer they had turned into two rental units. They had attempted a DIY project to make it pleasing to look at, but failed miserably. The walls in the room were so thin that when the people in the adjoining room arrived late that night, we could hear EVERY word they said. The owners know this is a problem as they provided a "noise machine" next to the bed in an attempt to drown out sounds. There were also solid air freshners scattered around the unit, the reason for this became apparent the first time the next door occupants flushed their toilet. It reeked in our bathroom and the adjoining bedroom as it gurgled in our bathroom toilet. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom. In the kitchen, they had made a big sign ordering occupants to turn on the exhaust fan when cooking. We had no idea why as the fan went maybe 12 inches inside the cupboard over the stove top and ended inside the cupboard. Stay somewhere else if traveling to the Palmer area.

Room Tip: I can't vouch for any of the cottages, but avoid the "Birch Hideaway" at all costs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Cindy,

I'm shocked and saddened that you count your stay here among your worst in Alaska. I wish that you had expressed your unhappiness about your unit while you were staying with us last summer, so we could have helped. We want every guest to be accommodated in a style that best fits their needs. With twelve choices of cottages and apartments (and more starting to be built this week!), we strive to offer everything from Luxury with all amenities to more economical choices.

Our Birch Hideaway, with bedroom, bathroom, and living room/kitchen, as well as a large deck, set on a lovely property, offers a lot of value when compared against "just a hotel room" along the highway, often at a higher price. We try to offer as much information as possible on our website to give visitors an accurate picture of what each choice offers, and we encourage any potential visitors to call us if they want to check on what might be a best fit for them.

To speak to your specific comments, because each of our cottages and apartments have kitchens, it's not uncommon for guests to want to cook salmon they caught. When we might have just a few hours between one set of guests departing and a next arrival, things like air fresheners and charcoal filtered exhaust fan can really help make things nicer for the next person. Every unit offers a white noise machine because although we ask for guests to be considerate after 10 pm, the "midnight sun" can throw people off and they don't think about being quiet "in the daylight," even if it is late. Quality sleep is important to us and we do everything we can to provide good beds and other things that support a good night's sleep.

This review really caught me off-guard and I don't feel reflects the hospitality product that we offer here. However, I am sorry very much that it was not up to your expectations, and we would have liked the opportunity to help find something more pleasing to you while you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had the privilege of staying at Karen Harris's B&B while attending a State B&B Board meeting at her house. The cabin was clean, new, comfortable, quiet and private - a lovely breakfast in a basket in the fridge as well as coffee . It was like having our own little house, supplied with all we needed or wanted. We would highly recommend it to anyone travelling in the Palmer/Wasilla area. We will definitely come again when we're up that way. I would vote Karen as the Hostess with the Mostess!

Room Tip: Even though the cabins are all (7) a similar layout, they are situated facing different directions t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedCabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts! We appreciate you staying with us and hope you'll come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in cottage # 6 at the Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages last week while attending a meeting there. The cottage was clean and had everything we could have needed. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom well laid out with hooks and space for toiletries. The breakfast supplied was very tasty! We would enjoy staying there again, and recommend it as a wonderful place to stay while vacationing in the area. Wonderful, warm, friendly & knowledgeable hostess.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzies_Nest_BnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you very much for describing details about your cottage. Even with pictures, it can be hard for guests to know what to anticipate, so your sharing is a great service. It was so nice to host your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
7.4 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
3.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
99 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#4 of 13 in Palmer
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Garden Gate B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Garden Gate B & B

Address: 950 S Trunk Rd, Palmer, AK 99645-7428
Region: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range: £63 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alaska Garden Gate B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, between Palmer and Wasilla, Alaska, just 35 minutes north of Anchorage. Take in the breathtaking views of glaciers and mountains while relaxing in the comfortable setting of your private apartment. At Alaska Garden Gate, we offer seven cottages and five guest apartments to accommodate the needs of everyone, from corporate travelers or international tourists. We feature Queen and King beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, full kitchens and living rooms, cable TV and free wireless internet. Additionally, a generous breakfast buffet is provided 7:30-9:30 a.M. Make our B&B your home away from home while you explore on day-trips in all directions. From everyone at Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, we look forward to sharing our love of Alaska with you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alaska Garden Gate B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Garden Gate B & B Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing