We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Alaska”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Ranked #2 of 13 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Perfect in every way. Beautiful cabins, beautiful view, most cheerful host. Our fourth visit to Alaska, and 8 nights at 5 different locations this time. This one was the best by far over all years. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms or cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xsubmariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen-GardenGate, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you so much for your compliments! I will share this with our cleaning girls. They work so hard to make sure each small detail is just right for your arrival! I appreciate you posting a review about your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Karen was wonderful and provided lodging, breakfast and a special request that exceeded anything we could have asked for. This was the start of our Alaska trip and our two night stay was a perfect beginning.

Room Tip: Book any room you will be very pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim372014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen-GardenGate, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

It was a pleasure to host your stay for your special vacation! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Alaska Garden Gate B&B was one of the best places we stayed in on our travels. The room we had was actually under the home located down a small path. It had a wall of windows yet was very private. The room was spacious, cozy, and full of character and charm. We had a kitchenette, sitting space with a free standing fireplace, tv, bed, and bathroom. All of the furniture was very comfortable. We had a vase of fresh flowers on the table and a basket full of goodies for breakfast. The owner was wonderful and you could a lot of thought and heart went into everything she did. We will definitely stay here again when we travel back to Alaska. A great place that I highly recommend.

Room Tip: I don't think you would go wrong anywhere you stayed on this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kris49472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen-GardenGate, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Aw, thanks, you guys! I appreciate you sharing so many details with future visitors, so they have a full picture of what we offer. If you ever make the big trip back to Alaska, I hope you'll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our group of 5 stayed here our last night in Alaska before returning home. What a jewel of a place!! The folks there were so friendly and the place was great. We had two connecting rooms and it was just like being at home. The beds were very comfortable and the views were incredible. The food prepared for our breakfast was very good. What a way to conclude a vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CooksCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen-GardenGate, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thanks so much for writing a review! We enjoyed having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Alaska Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast! Unfortunately for us, we only stayed one night. We wish we could have stayed longer! We stayed in the Midnight Sun Guest Apartment, and it was great. The beds were clean and comfortable, and the room was very large and spacious. The kitchen was nice, and included everything needed to cook a meal. The breakfast was in the fridge, and consisted of a potato and cheese omelet, homemade banana bread, yogurt, bananas, and frozen orange juice. It was delicious! The B&B is very well located, as it is just a few minute drive outside of Palmer, and a short drive to Anchorage. It offers great distance views of the Knik Glacier and surrounding mountains. We really enjoyed our stay here, and we will definitely return! We would recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: The guest apartments are located on the lowest floor of the house, and the cottages are nicely space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel_Lindner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen-GardenGate, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us! We will look forward to your next trip to Alaska. Thanks for taking the time to write a review, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Garden Gate was very easy to find thanks to the detailed directions that Karen sent a few days before our arrival. The cottage we stayed in was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Lots of natural light with large windows with amazing views of the mountains. Breakfast was ample - broccoli, potato and cheese omelet, fresh fruit and homemade banana nut bread - and very tasty. Our only complaint was that our stay was too short to really enjoy this lovely and comfortable cottage.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank PegBtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to share a review with others! We appreciated having you here and are glad you had a great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at Alaska Garden Gate B&B twice on our trip to Alaska. We loved the Palmer area and the property has a great view of the Knik Glacier. Both breakfasts were great and the bed very comfy with nice bedding. I loved the soothing homedics machines at the bedside and fell asleep with the ocean sounds. Karen gave us a tour of the property when we arrived and made sure we knew how to use the TV remote, the door lock, Wi-Fi information etc. She is very genuine and sincerely wants all her customers to be happy and comfortable at her cottages. Would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: a cottage at the front of the property gives a great view of the glacier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi Donna, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with future visitors. It was a pleasure having you here on both ends of your trip! --Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
7.4 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
3.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
5.2 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#7 of 13 in Palmer
15 reviews
19 mi away
Knik River Lodge
Knik River Lodge
#1 of 12 in Palmer
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Garden Gate B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Garden Gate B & B

Address: 950 S Trunk Rd, Palmer, AK 99645-7428
Region: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range: £56 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alaska Garden Gate B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, between Palmer and Wasilla, Alaska, just 35 minutes north of Anchorage. Take in the breathtaking views of glaciers and mountains while relaxing in the comfortable setting of your private apartment. At Alaska Garden Gate, we offer seven cottages and five guest apartments to accommodate the needs of everyone, from corporate travelers or international tourists. We feature Queen and King beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, full kitchens and living rooms, cable TV and free wireless internet. Additionally, a generous breakfast buffet is provided 7:30-9:30 a.M. during the summer, and a continental breakfast basket is delivered in the winter. Make our B&B your home away from home while you explore on day-trips in all directions. From everyone at Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, we look forward to sharing our love of Alaska with you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alaska Garden Gate B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Garden Gate B & B Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing