We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene and beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knik River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knik River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Girdwood, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serene and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I took my parents to Knik River Lodge for my parents birthday. We were all thrilled. Peter, the owner and his wife were wonderful. The housekeepers were very friendly and did a great job. We loved our stay. I will bring all my friends that come to Alaska to stay at the lodge. Make sure you take a helicopter to Knik Glacier while you stay there. Round out your trip with a drive over Hatcher's pass and on to Talkeetna. It was an awesome time.

Thank you Peter 1 and Peter 2

Room Tip: All of the cabins appeared very similar. Ask for a cabin in the bottom row. The views are wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyfulbakerthetraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    36
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
113
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had an amazing long weekend at the Knik River Lodge. The property was beautiful- it was private and had a great staff. We liked the food and have already discussed going back with friends. It feels like you are at the end of the world. Make sure you have something for lunch as that is a meal they don't serve and they are pretty far away from a local store. This feels like the real Alaska!

Room Tip: The first row of cabins had the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

we booked a deluxe king cabin several months in advance for 2-1/2 nights. we had a BOGO from the Northern Lights discount book that Peter gladly honored which saved us over $200.

we arrived at 3AM (the half night) and was given a discount on the partial night stay. Peter was more than accommodating. the lights in our cabin were turned on and the keys were left so all we had to do was walk to our cabin.

our cabin looked exactly like the pictures on their website. the cabin itself was beautiful. we stayed in four different cabins during our stay in AK, and Knik Lodge was the nicest one. it was new with modern linens and nice bedding. housekeeping came around every day, not sure what the 'every three days' review was about.

we ate dinner at the restaurant once and ordered breakfast once. breakfast was delivered to our room at our choice of time. it consisted of orange and apple juices, pastries, yogurts and apples. dinner was delicious. i had the best seafood chowder in my life and my BF still insists it was the best salmon he's ever had. i tried other seafood chowders while in AK, and they all failed in comparison. the only problem is i'm craving Knik's chowder!

we're American, and at no time did we feel inferior because we're not Dutch (like another reviewer said). Peter might have some quarks, helloooo many Alaskans do. but to take his personality as anything less than kind is a misrepresentation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bisrdhazrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

If you are looking for peace and quiet in the middle of no where this is the perfect place for you. If you need lots to do or even cable television this is NOT for you. Personally I loved this place and would definitely return. We were only able to stay one night though. I would suggest you leave the kids at home and use this as a romantic getaway or maybe even a honeymoon. I thought the $9 breakfast was a little overpriced but they deliver it to your door so that's cool. I did not try their other meals. The place is 45min from anywhere in town so definitely plan for that. We did the helicopter glacier tour which was awesome too. There's not much else to do other than hike or walk around. There is wireless in the cabins, which was unexpected. Each room has a keurig machine too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Arriving in Palmer, this really is an oase in a dessert. Staff & Owner are very friendly, They make you feel like family. The restaurant food is excellent even as the matching wines. If we could have fitted an extra night in this place in our round trip we definitely would have. The cabins are modern, very clean. In the morning one can order a breakfast, which will be delivered in your chalet, so you can enjoy eating it at the terrace. The view is beautiful, especially when you witness the sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huizekees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Although it is at the end of the road and isolated what better way to enjoy a visit to Alaska! Cabins are modern and clean, all have great views of the mountains. We hiked after arriving which ended up being a very challenging hike, so be prepared! We ate in the yurt which was good but very expensive so be prepared for a hefty food and drink tab. We had wonderful weather so sat out on the porch and played cards and enjoyed the views.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fdunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a coupon. The staff here was very helpful in all ways. The place is a little out of the way, but the location can't be beat. The room is just adequate. The views are outstanding. We were looking forward to having a wonderful dinner in their yurt, but were not told that the chef had quit. So the only thing on the menu was salad. A very pricey salad at that. So needless to say we were disappointed in dinner. We were tired after our drive there and didn't want to drive another 20 minutes or so to reach town for dinner so we sucked it up. The day we were to leave the electric went out and we had to prove to the owner that we had paid him. He collects his money when you make your reservation, so he should have known that we didn't owe him any money. I'm not too sure if I would stay here again. It is just OK.

Room Tip: If you like serenity stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcosheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knik-River-Lodge, General Manager at Knik River Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. After we lost our chef earlier this year we have been experimenting with a lighter menu with soups and salads but I'm exited to announce that the menu that made us famous is once more available. Our prices are comparable to the better restaurants in Anchorage, we monitor our prices carefully and really think the quality of the food worth every penny. But you are right, we offer a higher-end menu for food and drinks, although our beer & wine prices are lower than in town.

Sorry about the electricity, it is very rare to not have power which is why we have to come to reply on the computers to keep track of payments. While we do collect a partial deposit, we don't charge our guests for the balance until they check out. Really sorry if this caused you any inconvenience.

Thanks again for your review, hope you'll come and enjoy the view again soon. Today is another beautiful sunny day after clear and cool fall night. We saw the first northern lights last night, what a treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
22.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
19.0 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
16.6 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#4 of 12 in Palmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
10.3 mi away
Butte's Bethel Farm and Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knik River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knik River Lodge

Property: Knik River Lodge
Address: 29979 E Knik River Rd, 50 miles north of Anchorage, Palmer, AK 99645-7311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knik River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself on the deck of a beautiful cabin, pondering the serenity of the wilderness. Look for our resident moose or listen to the great horned owl in his favorite lookout tree on top of the hill. Knik River Lodge is remote enough to be true wilderness, yet just one hour by car from Anchorage. Perfectly situated for exploring South-central Alaska, we invite you to share our magical part of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Knik River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knik River Hotel Anchorage
Knik River Lodge Alaska/Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing