We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knik River Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Valley Hotel(Palmer)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle River Motel(Eagle River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
181
40
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
40
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelicopter tourdog sleddingperchsalmonthe ownerhiking trailfront porchseafood chowdercheesecakeon site restaurantremote locationnice cabinbeautiful settingpeteryurtpilotdogs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We started planning for our group of twelve 8 months out. Peter was really helpful in getting us a mini van, driver ( John ) and a trailer. We were picked up from anchorage, by John, who at this stage was becoming part of our 'rent a crowd ' Aussie family. The scenery is spectacular, although we managed to be there when the fires created a haze down the valley. Accommodation is fantastic, simple, and really comfortable. You must do the helicopter tours from Knix River. We chose the trio- dog sledding, kyaking and glacier landing. All the odds were against us that day. You couldn't see the valley for the smoke, and 1 chopper was stranded at the dog sledding. The third pilot came back from anchorage with the advice that the air was clearing and another chopper had been sent so we could all do the combo. It was the best day ever. Dog sledding far better than from Juneau. You are not rushed and the guys are really great relating their iditaroid experiences. We next did the kyaking, six at a time with Randy the crazy guy with a passion for everything Alaska. Best option we took in the whole of Alaska. Don't miss it. Peaceful, beautiful and a bit mystic. Next the choppers got us all on board for a gathering on the glacier on the blue ice. Thanks Peter for putting this together for us. Definitely voted the best by our group over the month. Meals, accom, tours and transfers all big ticks from us.

Room Tip: We were on top row, closest to office better views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisMnewsouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knik-River-Lodge, General Manager at Knik River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thanks, Chris for your kind words! We certainly had an interesting day with challenging logistics flying your group all over the place. Our flight crew was great in managing all the flights and helicopters and making sure all of you got to do the 'triple treat'. Next time we'll pick a nice and sunny day like today and take you ice climbing or exploring an ice cave on the glacier, ok? Peter - Knik River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

First things first we would like to mention that there is no Lodge, this is a group of lovely cabins with a yurt for the dining room and its very nice but its not a lodge.We were happily surprised by the clean, modern well appointed cabins.The view of the mountains and the Kinik river were fabulous and we saw a huge bull moose right in the driveway.we had both a dinner and a breakfast there. our dinner was fabulous and we felt priced competitively based on the other restaurants in Anchorage area. they have a very nice wine and beer selection and our service
was good.we understand that the cabins have been there for more than 7 years now and we would suggest that it's time to upgrade some of the landscaping, the stairs from the parking lot to the year are not very well made or safe. beware of the heating unit in the cabins especially the one in the bathroom these get extremely hot to the touch and the cabin we were in there was no warning of that and I accidentally rubbed against it and got a significant burn.in spite of that we really enjoyed our stay there and the food.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjkrkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knik-River-Lodge, General Manager at Knik River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thanks for your review! Just last winter we have started a major landscaping project and the new parking lot is part of that. There are two different paths up to the restaurant, but we find that most people prefer to use our 'staff shortcut', the stone steps you refer to. We take these reviews very seriously and we will make sure these steps get upgraded to a proper stairway with a railing.
As far as the heaters are concerned: they do get hot and they all have a warning sign in the living room. Based on your experience we'll consider putting extra signs in the bathrooms, thank you for the suggestion! Peter - Knik River Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent three enjoyable nights which included a dogsledding adventure. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful and the cabins clean and comfortable with a European feel - think Ikea crossed with TempurPedic - unpretentious and luxurious all at the same time. We ate our meals in the lovely ambiance of the yurt but did not find the food to be as top-notch as expected; we felt our fish was consistently over-cooked.

One piece of advice is to be mindful that weather conditions play a large part in the adventures and book your adventure at the beginning of your stay. We had originally intended to take the trip to the glacier close to the end of our stay but the office staff recommended that we move it up to the first day. Which was a good thing because of the three days we spent there, only on the first day were the weather conditions conducive to flying to the glacier.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior cabin which has a front-row view. The Deluxe cabins have equally-lovely views as they are situated between the superior cabins on the upper row. You can't go wrong either way.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joni*girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knik-River-Lodge, General Manager at Knik River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We're really happy you took the time to write a review, thanks! I will check in with the kitchen crew to make sure we don't overcook the fish. We take great pride in the restaurant and both the seafood and the beef are the best available on the market. Next time you visit please make sure you mention to your server or myself that you want to make sure the fish is cooked medium and if it is not we'll make it right. Thank you for your reveiw, this is what makes Tripadvisor such a wonderful resource for our guests! Peter - Knik River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed this place. The cabins were very clean. The office offered DVD to watch for free. Breakfast and Lunch were good considering they were less than $10 a plate. We saw a bunch of wildlife such as moose and even a bear on the drive over. The staff was super friendly and helpful as well.

If we didn't have the Groupon for half off and free breakfast we probably would have rated this place 4/5. This is because there really wasn't much to do near the lodge unless you wanted to pay to ride the helicopters. There was also a slight taste of sulfur in the shower water as well. Other than these two things the lodges were great and would highly recommend staying here for anyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JerGregz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knik-River-Lodge, General Manager at Knik River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello and thanks for your review! I'd just like to expand a little bit on the available activities. It is true that the on-site helicopter tours are by far the most popular, but we do have a hiking trail starting right on the property, plus several world-class hikes nearby. Just three miles down the road Knik Glacier Tours offers amazing airboat and jetboat tours to the glacier. Just a short drive away we have the Reindeer Farm, Hatchers Pass, Independence Mine and the Muskox Farm. Most of the stream up north offer world-class fishing and at Eklutna Lake you can rent kayaks and bikes. Hope that helps in planning your next trip in the are. We'd love to see you back soon, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I spent one night at the Knik River Lodge and the following morning flew to the top of a glacier for the dog sled experience. This was the highlight of our trip to Alaska! The cabin was spacious, and the bed comfortable. Our dinner was the best we had during our trip—fresh salmon, grilled to perfection, good wine, fresh bread, and the unique experience of dining in a yurt. A flat screen TV is in every cabin, but there is no reception; a library of DVDs is available; but as my wife says, who really needs a TV when you are in the wilds of Alaska. Internet is available at DSL speeds (streaming not supported); I did not even expect DLS speeds to be available at this remote location. In the morning before breakfast, we spotted a moose in the clearing in front of our cabin (we also saw moose on the dirt road leading to the Lodge). A delicious continental breakfast was delivered to our cabin at the time we requested. A microwave, mini fridge, and a small Keurig are in each cabin. Peter, the owner, took all actions to make our stay perfect.

The helicopter ride to the glacier was indescribable as was dog camp. The dog camp was in impeccable condition, clean and well organized. When the mushers started to select dogs for the run, all of the dogs got excited and wanted to run. Some jumped on their dog houses, and all barked “pick me, please pick me.” We went on a two mile dog sled run. My wife was seated in front of the musher, and I took the musher position in the second sled. After the run, we were introduced to the dogs and were able to scratch them behind the ears. All of the dogs were happy. We could tell that they loved pulling a sled. Several of the dogs had raced in the Iditarod, and one was on the team that won a race. My wife and I could not have had a better experience. If you are looking to ride a dog sled, this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed0379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knik-River-Lodge, General Manager at Knik River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm glad you had a great time in Alaska and we'd love to see you back sometime. As you know we're constantly working hard to make our guest experience the best possible. We are really proud of our incredible crew that makes al this possible. See you next time! Peter - Knik River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews