We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small town hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandia House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scandia House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Petersburg
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice small town hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Pleasant staff very responsive re request for pick up at Ferry and transport to the airport.

Good downtown location close to everything.They will rent a car for 60.00 per day.We did not
do so but other guests traveled to local lakes where they said free unattended row boats made for a pleasant experience on the water in this beautiful setting.
King size bed was comfortable.Bathroom was clean.

"Continental breakfast" consisted of three items (coffee,OJ,muffin).At check out we owed 3.00 per day for WiFi.The reasonable cost did not bother us but we wish hotel staff would have informed us of the charge when they gave us the password.
Overall it was a good experience and we would stay at Scandia House again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    34
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
24
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Scandia House was a clean and comfortable place to stay with friendly staff and a convenient location. They provide complimentary shuttle service to and from the ferry and airport. We had a very late/early morning ferry departure. The Scandia House stored our luggage for us and then welcomed us to stay in the lobby for the few hours prior to our ferry departure. Even though we had to leave for the ferry at 1 AM the desk agent very willingly provided us with a ride to the ferry. The Scandia House is a wonderful place to stay in Petersburg.

Room Tip: Take the complimentary shuttle service to the airport and then walk the road a short distance to San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Loved Petersburg. Check out all the bald eagles hanging around the fish processors. Folks are real friendly. So why is the the management so gruff and rude at this hotel? We checked out on the second day and spent the next two days at the other hotel up the street (see my next review).
All I asked for was an extra towel!....really didn't expect to get smoke out of the managers ears. Looking at the other reviews here I guess we were not the only ones who got this attitude. Also, we did not think the rooms were as clean as others here have said.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey-JJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean, rooms are spacious, and staff is really nice/helpful. We loved the shower... outstanding water pressure and an extra high showerhead. (great for my tall Norwegian husband). The street in front of the hotel was completely shut down when we visited so it was hard to figure out where to go and park, etc. I called from the car and they were really helpful. We liked the room and the wifi worked well. You just had to log in several times. For us, the breakfast was not great. There is a large grocery store a mile away, so we just ate in the room. The kitchenette was great.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Scandia House. The staff was helpful, the rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and it is in a great location within walking distance to most everything in town. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Scandia House is centrally located right downtown. They provided shuttle from airport and to the ferry terminal upon departure. The town is small enough you can easliy walk to anywhere else, including hiking trails, the bike rental shop and restaurants. WiFi at $3 a day is resonable. The local library has free wi-fi and you can print stuff there, if needed. Coffee shop off the lobby.
Airport and ferry are two minutes away from the Hotel. Continental breakfast was coffee, juice and muffins. Parking out front is limited to one hour, but ddditional parking is avail on 1st Street off the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: There are four king rooms overlooking main st at the front of the property on the 2nd and 3rd floow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a VERY nice - VERY kleen - nicely decorated hotel with a VERY friendly & helpful staff !

The continental breakfasts were very good / tasty ... with 'out-of-the-oven' fresh muffins every morn - along with orange juice & java.

We stayed there for 3 nites and felt 'at home' from the 'get-go'.

They provide a prompt shuttle to/from the AK ferry terminal.

We highly recommend it - & would stay there again !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petersburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#1 of 2 in Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Scandia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandia House

Property: Scandia House
Address: 110 Nordic Dr, Petersburg, AK 99833-0689
Region: United States > Alaska > Petersburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Scandia House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Scandia Hotel Petersburg
Scandia House Petersburg, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing