We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norwegian flare”
Review of Scandia House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scandia House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Petersburg
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Located downtown, the Scandia is close to the action. Restaurants, harbors, churches are nearby. Juice, water, coffee are available 24/7 in the lobby. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and had a small desk and two chairs. Someday they will upgrade the old TV to a flat screen. Oh, almost forgot, if you don't want to take a cool shower, you had better get up early and shower before they run out of hot water.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great place to stay in Petersburg, extremely helpful and very clean rooms. Even though we didn't stay at the tides inn, I definitely feel like we made the right choice. Make sure to rent your vehicles from Scandia House as well, tides inn sold our vehicle we reserved a week in advance the day we arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanlmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

As other reviewers have noted, it's nothing special: rooms are clean, decent sized. They serve a very slight continental breakfast in the morning. It's conveniently located to everything in downtown Petersburg and Inga's Galley is right next door. Didn't notice that the staff were particularly helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank mccambjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I spent a night here when the B&B I prefer had new guests coming in. The location is ideal, close to everything. The room was spartan and motel-ish but clean, and I had a good night's sleep. The rates are not cheap and, compared to the many B&Bs around, not great value but it is perfectly adequate for a night or two.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Nice, clean, accomodating hotel. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Shuttle service to and from Petersburg Airport. Located in the small downtown area, and within walking distance to dining and shopping. A fish cleaning station and large freezer are available for anglers to use. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There is no elevator to the 4th floor, not sure if you have to walk all the way or if you can take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80FXWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Pleasant staff very responsive re request for pick up at Ferry and transport to the airport.

Good downtown location close to everything.They will rent a car for 60.00 per day.We did not
do so but other guests traveled to local lakes where they said free unattended row boats made for a pleasant experience on the water in this beautiful setting.
King size bed was comfortable.Bathroom was clean.

"Continental breakfast" consisted of three items (coffee,OJ,muffin).At check out we owed 3.00 per day for WiFi.The reasonable cost did not bother us but we wish hotel staff would have informed us of the charge when they gave us the password.
Overall it was a good experience and we would stay at Scandia House again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Scandia House was a clean and comfortable place to stay with friendly staff and a convenient location. They provide complimentary shuttle service to and from the ferry and airport. We had a very late/early morning ferry departure. The Scandia House stored our luggage for us and then welcomed us to stay in the lobby for the few hours prior to our ferry departure. Even though we had to leave for the ferry at 1 AM the desk agent very willingly provided us with a ride to the ferry. The Scandia House is a wonderful place to stay in Petersburg.

Room Tip: Take the complimentary shuttle service to the airport and then walk the road a short distance to San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scandia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandia House

Address: 110 Nordic Dr, Petersburg, AK 99833-0689
Region: United States > Alaska > Petersburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range: £68 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Scandia House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Scandia Hotel Petersburg
Scandia House Petersburg, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing