We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lodging in Petersburg AK”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Petersburg B&B and Inns
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Lodging in Petersburg AK”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Looking for excellent lodging in Petersburg, Alaska ? The WaterfrontB&B is a super choice. Clean, quiet and 74 steps from the Car Ferry. You will not leave the breakfast table hungry. Sammy prepares good hearty fare and if you are lucky, LeRoy will feed the Eagles and let them swoop past your head.

Room Tip: Facing the pier is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Waterfront B&B. I arrived early and although my hosts were not in, there was a fully detailed note and key left for me and I found my way around without any difficulty. It is right next to the ferry terminal - easy for someone walking. A good walk into town but lots to see and easy walking. The breakfast was wonderful and I found both my hosts friendly and helpful. Leeroy dropped me into town the first day (at the Museum which was great to look at) and took me to the airport on the day I left at no cost, Sammy printed off my boarding pass in advance. The room was clean, new and comfortable. The location was wonderful, on the waterfront with eagles flying by regularly. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed in Petersburg for several nights at the Waterfront. The place is very close to the ferry terminal so you do not have to carry your luggage far. Our room was comfortable but clean. Our host appeared to be initially sort of standoffish but once you got to know him, he was quite friendly.

Breakfast choices were limited but tasted good. He also said that if we wanted to use the kitchen facilities to make our dinner, it was OK as long as we cleaned up afterward. You can't ask for more than that.

There is really not a lot to do in Petersburg and we stayed there mainly because of ferry schedules. The Waterfront B&B was an acceptable place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donaldsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I'd like to echo another reviewer's comments--where do all these positive reviews come from? On the positive side--the B&B was clean and we didn't mind the 15-minute walk into town. The sitting room with TV was pleasant. Luckily no ferry noise. On the other hand, the hosts were taciturn and not particularly forthcoming with help; the breakfasts were plentiful but just average; the entrance to the rooms was piled with chair cushions and other porch detritus; the only chair in our room was a folding webbed beach chair; and the bathroom "amenities" consisted of a pump of antibacterial soap. Perhaps it is #1 in Petersburg--we didn't hear many good things about the hotels and motels in town either.

Room Tip: Stay away from 4 and 5--their entrances are off the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Good location, just two doors down from end of ferry ramp. Leroy and Sammy were wonderful hosts--even allowing us to stow our luggage early morning before check-in time. Breakfast was delicious each morning. Beds were comfortable and we didn't find outside noise much of a distraction. It's an easy 15-20 minute walk to town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missouri5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chillicothe,mo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Sammy and Lee Roy are such hospitable hosts, and the breakfasts were great! I enjoyed this clean,well-appointed B & B for 2 weeks. I recommend it if you like B & B's, waterfront views and are visiting Petersburg to see the beautiful area. It is close to downtown, several restaurants and the ferry. And a real treat was observing the eagles which are frequently seen "fishing" in the nearby bay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joidevive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We just left this B&B and will certainly recommend to anyone travelling to Petersburg. The location was great. The deck overlooked the water and ferry dock. It was a 2 min. walk from ferry dock. There were eagles on the outside the deck almost constantly. The hosts Leroy and Sammy made us very comfortable and always ready to accommodate our needs. They even allowed us to leave our luggage in the family room until our 11PM ferry departed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdownhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Lawrenceburg
152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hollywood Casino Lawrenceburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2544.0 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#1 of 2 in Petersburg
54 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrenceburg
12.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: P.O. Box 1364, Petersburg, AK 99833-1364
Region: United States > Alaska > Petersburg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Waterfront Bed & Breakfast Petersburg, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing