We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool lodge & views, but loud”
Review of Kenai River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kenai River Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I normally don't like staying at places with doors that open directly to the outside due to security concerns, but I didn't see that info on Booking. Besides, it's Soldotna, not NYC. The location is great, right next to the river, but you're also right next to the main road and bridge, so you hear the traffic. You also hear your neighbors slamming their doors if they're not considerate. All rooms have a view of the Kenai River, and there are even community grills, a log swing, fire pit and seating area on the river for guest's enjoyment. I ate dinner down there and got some great pictures of a golden eagle, bald eagle and seagulls fighting over fish. Guess who didn't win?? The bed was comfortable but the sheets were rough from age and pilling. The mini fridge & freezer was nice, and the log furniture added to the country-esque feel. The lack of elevator wasn't a big deal since I was only there one night, but for some people, it might be an issue. Adding breakfast service and a hot tub overlooking the river would be fabulous!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room, but maybe get one away from the stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Kenai River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here one night and the room was okay. VERY spacious and a great view, but the rooms are older, and the shower/tub was not that great. No breakfast, no room service, they did have a fridge in the room. Staff was friendly, no elevator that I could find, so carrying my bags upstairs during rain was a blast. Close to food and convenient location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rusurun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I've stayed here a few times on the drive between Anchorage and Homer. The rooms are comfortable, large enough for all of our gear, and it has been quiet every time we've stayed. The view is beautiful and there are a variety of dining options nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenairiverlodge, Owner at Kenai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the Kenai River Lodge! We really appreciate your business! I hope that any of your future visits are as good as the ones that you have had so far! Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for one night. We are not fishermen but we enjoyed being on the water & watching others fish. We had a nice view of the river from our room. This is an older hotel but it was clean & well maintained. There is no AC but they do provide a fan. With the window open & the fan going, it wasn't too bad. They also have cable TV which is a must for my husband. We enjoyed our stay at the Kenai River Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We actually really enjoyed our stay here. It was close to where we were fishing, and the staff was really friendly and accomodating. There isn't much to do in town...other than the river walk, and museum. The river is very pretty, we sat on the swing at the lodge with a couple of brews and watched the sunset. We were only there for one night. I would stay here again if we are ever in Soldotna in the future. We stopped at the Moose is Loose bakery on our way out of town, they had awesome donuts. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meggoMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very clean and the view is special. What fun to watch fishermen catch salmon right outside your window. There is no air conditioning which would not be a problem most years. The mattress on our bed was lumpy and extremely uncomfortable. Don't plan on turning around in the bathroom and count on soap and shampoo but nothing else. No breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My son, who lives in Alaska, and I were on a fun trip around Alaska, with Kenai River Lodge as our salmon fishing headquarters. Our day of arrival in Soldotna began in Denali National Park, ran through Anchorage where we dropped off our RV and picked up fishing gear. By the time we had stopped to fish the Russian / Kenai Rivers for a few hours, we did not arrive at the Lodge until about 1:30am (still light outside). Being out of cell phone range, the hotel manager had left 2 voicemails confirming whether we were still coming.

Unsure whether to call the number she had left at that time of morning, I did anyway faced with the other option of sleeping in the car. The on-site manager answered cheerfully and came right down to check me in. She was delightful, sweet and helpful, answering questions about the area, offering suggestions, and made us feel like family at an hour when most people were sound asleep!

The lodge itself was simple but perfectly located over the beautiful waters of the Kenai River. Sleeping with the window open we could hear the water rushing past and gulls calling. The room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable beds. We ended up checking out of the lodge a day early because the salmon had run early, and we encountered no resistance or guaranteed room charges at all - just a cheerful goodbye.

I would highly recommend staying there, and want to thank the staff again for their hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.6 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
36 reviews
7.7 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn Kenai
Quality Inn Kenai
#4 of 5 in Kenai
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
1.3 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai River Lodge

Address: 393 Riverside Dr, Soldotna, AK 99669-7899
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Price Range: £68 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kenai River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenai River Hotel Soldotna
Kenai River Lodge Alaska/Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing