We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and private”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A River's Edge B & B
Ranked #3 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and private”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple nights and absolutely loved it. We had Wifi and TV with a large room. It also felt very private as you are on one side of the house whilst the family live on the other side. The house is on the banks of the magnificent Kenai river and it was lovely sitting on their little metal deck with a seat by the River.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our family of six spent three wonderful days there. The rooms and bathrooms were large and very clean and very private. We used both rooms and felt so comfortable. Forrest made sure we had all the comforts of home, and her breakfasts were enjoyed by all! Our coffee was ready every morning and the extra snacks and breakfasts, especially the blue berry muffins, were perfect. A perfect place to take an extended family for a relaxing fun time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I am so glad we found this bed and breakfast! The room is just like the pictures, it's separate from the rest of the house and there's a stairway down to the river. It felt like home away from home. Forrest's breakfasts were delicious. It was perfect. Can't wait to come back and stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwineteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We've never met a more warm, accommodating and friendly couple than Forrest and her husband, Oscar. They welcomed us and made us feel like family.

Tucked between the towering pines and aspen, "A River's Edge" is not only comfortable and spacious, it is right on the Kenai River! Fish from the sturdy aluminum dock without even getting wet! The fish cleaning facility is right on the dock and there's freezer space in the garage for your daily catch. Nature graces the ground with fascinating exotic mushrooms, low bush cranberries, and lingonberries. Overhead the sights and sounds of gulls and bald eagles vie with spectacular sunsets and the rapid, non-stop rush of the silty grey Kenai River. "A River's Edge" is the peaceful place "to get away from it all" and "enjoy it all".

By chance, we were lucky to stay in all three of the available accommodations. The "Blue" Room, the "Americana" Room and the "Apartment". All were lovely, spotless, and neat as a pin. The cozy common area is a dining area with a full size refrigerator. Breakfasts were a delicious treat! "Chef" Forrest's choice ranged from bacon and eggs with toast & butter, fresh fruit, home baked goodies, fruit juice, coffee, teas, to an assortment of high quality hot chocolates, yogurts, and cereals. I guarantee you will not leave hungry! I am gluten sensitive and I especially appreciate that she made a special effort to accommodate my needs.

Hunters and fishermen alike will enjoy the many trophy mounts and the stories that go with them.

It is hard to believe tucked away in this peaceful place, but you are not far from town. We would highly recommend your trip to the Kenai Peninsula includes several nights' stay at " A River's Edge".

Room Tip: Either room would be an excellent choice, or, if you have a family, and it is available, the "A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsonyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was huge with a big private bathroom. There was a small common area outside the room with a fridge to share, coffee, and fresh fruit. Forrest was a wonderful hostess, and made a delicious breakfast for us. It is a wonderful location right on the river. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAturtlelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very convenient and spacious!
We stayed 2 nights in the larger room which adjoins the common area which is very nice with full size fridge for guests’ use. Our room was clean and comfortable and even more space than we needed! We were at the end of a 3 week trip so we felt a little spoilt and happy for the extra room. Forest was very friendly and attentive, and provided a nice breakfast both mornings. The website says continental breakfast. We had taken that in consideration and the accommodations were still such a great value; but we were very pleased with the breakfast also. We had pastry as a treat, but there were healthy options as well; yogurt, cereal and fresh fruit. We don’t fish, but this would be a great place for those who do. The Kenai River runs behind the house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pranalotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I located this perfect B&B thru Trip Advisor, and it was perfect for our stay in Soldotna. 2 couples each had own large room with large 'private' bath. Quaint well stocked kitchen is just outside the bedroom door for breakfast & late nite snacking. Oscar & Forrest are very congenial & enjoy sharing stories of life on the River, both being avid outdoors enthusiasts. We are from Tampa & the other couple from New York, so I asked Forrest if it were possible to have some wild game to taste while there. And, there it was, for Breakfast...a homemade Moose n Egg dish. So good that we had it the next morning too...but, there is oatmeal, cereals and abundant fresh assorted fruits in the basket as well. If it is season, and you have time, you can fish right from their dock on the River...or, a guide can boat in & pick you up. The drive from Anchorage is spectaculare & be sure to stop at the Alaska Wildlife Center...beyond your expectations in viewing wildlife in large open natural setting with majestic mountains in the background. Easy drive from the River's Edge. For the price and the amenities I will look no further when I next return to Soldotna, which I hope will be sooner than later. (have posted a few photos).
Mike & Judy in Tampa
Don & Angie in Upstate New York

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
1.2 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
73 reviews
6.9 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
1.5 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A River's Edge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A River's Edge B & B

Property: A River's Edge B & B
Address: 218 Daisy Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7715
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
A River's Edge B & B Alaska/Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing