We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Decent Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hooligans Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hooligans Lodge
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's a Decent Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I think the biggest problem with this place is that they are calling themselves a lodge (as many similar units in the area do), when, in fact, they are a motel. The room we had for 4 nights was very decent. 2 queen beds, table and chairs, frig and microwave. Very neat and clean. Room was made up daily even though it really wasn't necessary.
We were at the desk when the previous reviewer and his 2 friends beat up on the desk clerk, totally overwhelming her. She did everything she could to make things right. They would not give her a break. They really need to get over themselves.
The back side of the building DOES need attention. The yard needs to be cleaned up. Either paving or loads of gravel and a whipper snipper would go a long way. A fresh coat of paint and repairs to the roof edge would make it more welcoming.
We got the deal of the century- rate wise, on an online booking site.
The motel is a 5 minute walk to fantastic fishing at the information center.
There was no spa or fitness center. I am ttying to get to "na" on my notepad and it will not toggle there. Hence the rating fir those 2 items

Room Tip: Roons on the back side are quieter. We had room 111. No air and fan didn't work (we did not repo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    4
    2
    10
See reviews for
8
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

In addition to being overpriced for the amenities and condition of the rooms, there were multiple problems with reservations, and the response by staff and owner when problems occurred. Notably were missing sheets on beds (they ran out of bottom sheets), no deadbolt locks on doors to rooms, even those with outside access. The credit card used to pay our bill in the lounge was lost (reportedly returned to another patron) and never retrieved. We ultimately had to cancel this card and no compensation for our inconvenience was offered. The owner merely defended her staff and did not attempt any productive remediation to the problem. My advice would be to not take your chances, and stay somewhere else in Soldotna where you will be likely to get a better room, more competent staff and satisfactory experience for your money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abby t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Rooms were clean and spacious with wood floors. Since we had dogs they put us in the back, though. When we drove around and parked by the door there were cigarette butts all over and poop bags waiting to be picked up. No security chain or deadbolt on the door. When we opened the door, the window opened. We tried to lock it closed but the lock was broke and the window seal was rotted out where it was supposed to be locked. I could open the window from the outside too so we couldn't leave any valuables inside when we went out. For being remodelled, I think they forgot to do the back side. Cut our stay short.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blondebookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

was nice to have employees listen to us. courtious to our needs and rooms were very comfortable.. will be there again. great location for business or leisure needs. great to visit with friends next door...

Room Tip: ask the front desk which to recomend when checking in, they accomodate for each customer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stopped for a quick unsceduled beer while driving down from Anchorage to Kasilof , service was great grabbed a burger by the bar and stayed on for a few more cold ones ,(dont worry left the car there and got cab on to the lodge ) Nice bunch of guys and gals both serving and drinking we had a laugh ,stopped in again the next night for a bit of food ,bit to late for the kitchen but they were happy to let us order a take away from somewhere else perfect , great service thanks

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I recently stayed at Hooligans and couldn't have been happier. I heard they just did a new remodel and the rooms look great. the beds were very comfortable and love the location. Breakfast was Waffles and coffee plus more. I was very happy with my stay and will for sure go again. The bar next door is very nice and great food. I would recommend Hooligans

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed here recently and was very satisfied with my entire stay. Nicely remodled rooms, much nicer than before. Staff was helpful and friendly. i would deffinently stay here again. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.5 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kenai Magic Lodge
Kenai Magic Lodge
#5 of 12 in Sterling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
0.9 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hooligans Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooligans Lodge

Property: Hooligans Lodge
Address: 44715 Sterling Hwy, Soldotna, AK 99669-7939
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Soldotna
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hooligans Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hooligans Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hooligans Lodge Alaska/Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing