We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaskan Fishing Adventures Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, CA
1 review
“Trip of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My 82 year old father and I took a trip to Alaska and stayed at Tim Berg's SeaScape Lodge in July. This was a trip of a lifetime for my father, and boy did it live up to all expectations. The staff at the lodge was wonderful and treated us like family.
All of the fishing adventures were just that. My father was "over the moon" when he caught a 60lb. halibut and deckhands helped him haul it in.
I would recommend staying at Tim Berg's and fishing with his very gracious staff. If you want a great trip book with Alaskan Fishing Adventures. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    7
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I attended a Make – A – Wish fundraiser last year in San Diego with some of our friends. One of the featured Auction Items that night was an All Inclusive fishing & lodging package for the Kenai Peninsula. The fishing really intrigued us as we are very avid saltwater anglers. And we had heard lots about the Kenai River and the giant King Salmon and also just wanted to take in all the scenery etc.

Well to make a long story short, we were the high bidders on this trip which was a 100% percent donation from Tim Berg and his wife Carol Berg, who have been giving donations to our local chapter for the past 7 or 8 years. All of these proceeds go directly to help support the Make-A Wish Foundation here in San Diego.

The donated package was for 5 nights and 4 days of fishing – boy are we glad that we added two nights and two extra days to the donation because the time at their lodge just went way too fast. We stayed at the Sea-Scape Lodge which is right on the ocean and we really enjoyed the wonderful beds at this lodge. The food was consistently good and the incredible king crab legs we enjoyed one night were the very best we have ever had.

Having a car here is essential as each day we were able to choose were we would like to fish. Each of these choices involved a drive, anywhere from ten minutes to an hour or so. The scenery just getting to these places was awe-inspiring and the toughest part of the trip was getting accustomed to all the day light, over 20 hours each day.

We were impressed by the Guides and the first class saltwater charter vessels – it is apparent that this operation has invested a lot of money in lodges, boats, equipment etc… and it shows. We had all of our fish, 6 big boxes, shipped home to us using FedEx, and this worked perfect. We had it shipped after we were home allowing us time to be sure we had plenty of room.

We can’t thank the owners, Tim & Carol, enough for their generous support of Make-A –Wish over the years and we plan on returning with two other couples next summer. You can also get King crab legs from their fish processing plant in Soldotna and have them shipped home as well – we did and they were fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My husband and I traveled to the Kenai Peninsula in search of beautiful surroundings and great fishing. We had the best time at Tim Berg's Alaskan Fishing Adventures and will return in the future. Our stay at The Trophy Lodge was great, the room wonderful, but best of all was the staff and meals. We were there during the Sockeye Salmon run and had the best time fishing off the dock after dinner each evening.
The guides on all our charters helped with anything we needed and really put us on the fish each day. The fly-out option to Big River Lakes was a hi-light and watching the bears was a real thrill. I would recommend this adventure to anyone who wanted to catch fish and then remember their vacation every time we open the freezer and have some of our catch for dinner

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisfont04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My family and I went fishing in Alaska with Tim Berg's company this last June. Never having done this before, hey no one in our family are fishermen – but my sons high school graduation present was not to be denied. We were super excited to book our trip with them because everything was included! Our fishing package came with fishing trips, great lodging, incredible food, a friendly staff, and we were able to get our fish produced at their own processing plant which is HUGE! We were even able to get all of our fished shipped home. Well this is what we were told going in – so it really appealed to us as novices and not having ever been there before we needed as much included as possible.

We had a trip of a LIFETIME – my son just had the very best time and now wants to be a fishing guide for Tim Berg some day! The fish we caught were the kind I had only seen in movies and on tv, up until this point. I had seen Tim Berg on tv many times and was so excited to go with him and his crew! What an amazing experience! We caught our fish limit! The scenery was absolutely beautiful! The crew was very helpful. All of our gear was included. They get everything ready for you and help you at the drop of a hat. They were always willing to go the extra mile.

The Trophy Lodge is where we stayed and it is great because it is right on the river! The food is incredible, gourmet chefs prepare the meals. They serve Napa Valley wine with dinner! AMAZING! We also had crab legs for dinner one night, which were huge! The food was some of the best I have experienced in my life! I personally never expected to see all the wildlife we encountered. Moose, caribou, eagles, beavers and even bears – pretty cool indeed.

The staff was very friendly and helpful! The lodge host Adam, a Marine who had just come home from Afganistan, had so many interesting stories. He even let us change one of our fishing trips last minute because we had such a great day in Homer and wanted to go again.


We will be back! We have told all of our friends about our trip. A week is just not long enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Went on a Tim Bergs fishing adventure last June. They hype it up but it is very disapointing for the amount of money paid. First day was in Seward they were supposed to have a lodge 3 of us shared a room with a bunk bed so high of the ground if you fell out it would break your neck, it wa also about ten feet by ten not as advertised. They also advertise an alaskan breakfast you would do better by going to McDonalds, they also tell you you will get a lunch to take with you on the days fishing, what they don't tell you is you have to make it yourself. Second day was in the lodge in Soldoltna be warned they have a restaurant that does not have a menu so if you are unlucky to get someting you don't like you are out of luck. Same scenario for breakfast and lunch. One other thing they don't tell you is that you have to drive 70 miles early in the morning to get to Homer to go offshore. Another Hype they email telling you the Kings are running we spent 8 hours on the Kasilof river freezing and not one bite, and found out later that very few Kings had been caught. Another thing they like to do is re-schedule your days, we were due to go salmon fishing and they re-scheduled us to a day when it was catch and return. The lodge in Soldoltna is reasonably nice however some of their staff leave a lot to be desired, especially the guy running the bar who has a bad attitude and leaves the bar frequently so it can be a long wait to get a drink. Overall the fishing boats and staff were very good and I would return to them anytime. I am going back in 2013 but will avoid Tim Bergs like the plague, there are other ways to go fishing in the Kenai without getting ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timmyberg, Owner at Alaskan Fishing Adventures Accommodation, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
For over 35 years we have been providing travelers and anglers many options during their Alaska Vacation. These options include where you would like to stay, as well as what you would like to fish for during your stay while in Alaska.

Every lodging establishment has its own personality and every fishery we offer has its outstanding days as well as periods of time when fishing is not as productive as others.

Our full time office staff answers phone calls every single day, going over all the details of our guests upcoming trips and doing their best to explain in great detail what to expect in terms of fishing expectations, lodging arrangements, meals provided and also logisitics once you get to Alaska.

Additionally we send out a detailed 12 page brochure explaing all the fishing and lodging options to help explain all the many options you have when you visit Tim Berg's.

The viewer mentioned that they were not happy with the accommodations in Seward, which was at The Exit Glacier Lodge, which is a very nice rustic style Alaska lodge that we use for overnight accommodations in Seward. This is the first complaint I have ever heard of anyone not being happy at this lodge. That being said, some folks llike green cars and some like red, and it is very hard to know what will make one person happy and another not.

As far as lunches are concerned, at all of our lodges and affiliate lodges, we have found that a self service lunch bar - wherein you make your own lunches - appeals to 99% of our guests. Guests can make 2 sandwiches or 6, can choose from turkey, ham, roast beef, pastrami....mayonnaise, mustard, pickles, lettuce onions...make em anyway you like. load em up. There are homemade cookies, chips, rice krispie treats, fruit, bottle water, juices, sodas, yogurts, hard boiled eggs etc...take all you want. we have found that this makes most everyone very happy - but their is the 99% rule. And if that 1% would like us to make their lunch for them we are more than happy - all they have to do is ask.

This reviewer mentioned logisitcs and sounded surprised that they had to drive 70 miles to get to Homer to go halibut fishing. I can assure you that not only had the leader of this group been told this many times in the planning process, but also that this group had received numerous maps and instructions regarding all of this during the booking process and received all of this prior to their arrival in Alaska.

It does happen on occasion that the leader of the group, that is the person who makes the reservation initially and who is in charge of the entire planning proceess, does not share or communicate all of this information to other members of the group. When this happens of course it falls back on "needing to blame someone" for not knowing this information.

Our guests have the option of staying at one lodge and enjoying the fishing that is closest to that lodge the entire time. Some guest do this - but most realize that by driving they have access to a different type of fishing every day. Most of our returning guests do exactly this.

In every reservation File, the office staff checks off every peice of information, every map and also a checklist to go over everything - every detail- of a travelers upcoming trip. Most guest receive four mailing from us prior to their arrival.

Most travelers understand that when coming to Alaska several factors will come into play that can ultimately effect their trip. It has always amazed me that one group of anglers can have an absolutely amazing time fishing at the same time as another party and staying at the same lodge, when another party or individual can come away with a totally different perspective. Some folks have a great time no matter where they travel, and others seem to want to find things wrong to take away from a magical experience they can have when traveling to Alaska.

The viewer was unhappy that he did not catch any fish on the Kasilof River. He was never told or promised he would catch a king here, only that he would have an opportunity to do so.

Some folks should not go on a fishing trip if they do not understand that fishing is fishing, some days you get them and other days you don't. If you caught them eveyday, there would not be the thrill of accomplishment when you do.

We do re-schedule our guests if bad weather makes ocean fishing impossible (some companies don't do this - instead you just lose a day of fishing) after checking with our guests to see what they would like to do. Re-scheduling our guests creates a whole lot of work on the office staff, but because we have boats in Seward, Homer, on the Kenai River and on the Kasilof River, we can 99% of the time keep our guests fishing while other companies in the area just have their guests miss a day of fishing. We do this because we are committed to doing everything in our power to see to it that our guests have the very best time possible.

I apologize for this guest having to wait for a drink. I have not heard this complaint before but will be sure this does not happen again.

At Tim Berg's we have made a committment and an investment as no other charter and lodging company has on the Kenai Peninsula. Featuring 3 waterfront lodges, outstanding meals and having high speed comfortable Offshore charter vessels in both Seward and Homer, plus experienced river guides on both the Kenai and Kasilof Rivers, gives our guests many choices each day.

Every year we are selected by the top fishing professsionals, ie Larry Csonka (North to Alaska), Mark Davis, ( Penn's BigWater Adventures), Trevor Gowdy (Monster Fish), Mike Rice ( Vice Preident Penn's International Products) when they are headed to Alaska to produce Shows for their T.V. series on the Outdoor Channel. There is a reason for this - because we make every effort to make your trip to Alaska successful, fun and full of adventure in a Land that is full of challenges. We offer upscale accommodations, upscale vessels, some of the very best dining in the area, top charter Captains and Guides and have a full office staff waiting on your every whim.

As with all businesses, we strive to keep 100% of our guests happy, and as with all businesses there will be situations for whatever reasons that things do not meet the guests expectations. We apologize to those who feel we have fallen short. We also always encourage all of our guests to communicate with us While You Are In Alaska what we can do to make your trip more enjoyable. Thank you for the opportunity to share with you my response and encourage you to call us - we will do everything we can to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is NOT a lodge. It is a bed and breakfast, minus the breakfast. (breakfast is stale cereal and coffee) Room 4 is HORRIBLE. about a 12X12 with a king bed. You will have to keep luggabe in closet, just to be able to walk around. It is also next to the garage and directly under the kitchen, so you won't get to sleep until EVERYONE at the B&B goes to bed. You had to pick up the shower mat (there are no tubs, just very small shower stall) to open the bathroom door. This B&B holds 8 guest. You dining schedule (which is ONLY DINNER) depends on when EVERYONE is back and ready to eat. One night we had to wait until 9:15 because we had to wait on the other guest to get back (they had stopped at the bar on their way back from fishing) This place is an overpriced joke. a 4 bedroom house they are making LOTS of money on. We fished 2 days without even gettting a bite (the guide was too busy on the cell phone to fish) Save your money and book elsewhere. Therre are a LOT of true lodges with competient guides for half the price and much nicer accomadations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Weeklytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timmyberg, Owner at Alaskan Fishing Adventures Accommodation, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
This couple had decided they only wanted to fish freshwater and they did not want to do any saltwater fishing in spite of the fact that we very strongly encouraged them to do so. We make very specific reccommendations to our guests to increase their odds of catching success during their stay with us but many decide to do things their way. Which of course is fine but personally when I travel i always try to get input from my guide and I usually listen to this advice or bear the responsibility if things don't go exactly the what I wanted them to.

Regarding the statement that this is not a lodge - you decide - SeaBreeze has four private guestrooms, with a total of 7 bathrooms. 20 foot ceilings and is loaded with incredible artifacts throughout.
Each guest room has a private bathroom with a full shower, not a small shower but a full size shower. Couples will find a King size bed with pillowtop mattress, fine linens, black out shades. The SeaBreeze sits directly on the shore of Cook Inlet, on a bluff with a private trail leading to the beach. Incredible views, great area to go beach combing and moose frequent the grounds. Two wet bars one on each level, is loaded with mixes, drinks and everything else to make you happy. A large Hi -Def "65 inch Flat screen is located in the lower wet bar area. This is a very private and upscale facility with a caring staff inclusive of your own personal chef.

The lodge has its own organic vegetable garden from which the chef picks nightly greens and herbs for the dinner service. Dinner service includes a no -host cocktail bar, Napa Valley wines paired with a four course meal nightly. Entree items differ each evening, king crab legs, cedar plank king salmon, pecan crusted Alaska halibut, house smoked Prime Rib etc.

A full cook to order breakfast is available to all - and everyhone is given the choice of a full breakfast prior to fishing - but most guests want something on the lighter side first thing in the morning ) especially because of the big dinner service each evening. The chef will have available quiche, cereals (hot and cold) muffins, cold cuts, pasties, fruit platter, yogurt, coffee, tea, chocolate and will also meet any requests you may have.

The culinay team will make your lunch for you and have it packed on the front porch of the lodge with your name on it each morning. Or if you prefer you can make your own lunch that morning - your choice - whatever we can do to make you happy.

While it is difficult to keep every guest 100% happy, we strive to give all of our guests a very upscale environment to do so. We have found over the years that angler successful tends to go hand in hand with ones perception of everything else involved in a trip. Which I think is very unfair.

In this particular case, other guests staying at the lodge at the very same time and who included saltwater fishing in their package ( and because so had caught lots of fish) had a very amazing experience - same lodge, same food, same showers.

We encourage all of our guests to always let us know if their is anything else we can do to make their trip more enjoyable. we also suggest coming for more than two days to increase your chances of success. Please give us the opportunity to explain our fishing and lodging program to you on a one to one phone call. We fish several hundred anglers every year - and have since 1978- and strive to give over 99.9% of our guests an Alaskan Experience they will always cherish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We just came home from our dream trip to Alaska! What an amazing vacation, experienced fishing guides, wonderful owners, and helpful office staff. My husband and I spent 2 weeks (1 week at Sea Breeze Lodge and 1 week at Trophy Lodge). Sea Breeze has the most amazing views of the ocean, where we could relax in a lush and comfortable atmosphere to take in the beautiful scenery. Trophy Lodge was snuggled against the Kenai River and offered a whole different experience (perks was my husband could fish right off the dock!). The staff at both lodges was warm, friendly, helpful, thoughtful, considerate, and always one step ahead thinking of our needs! The Chefs (Cole and Holden) created some of the most mouthwatering dinners! One small preference regarding dinners was we wished we were served more seafood. One night we had prime rib, and we aren't huge red meat eaters. The fishing guides were so helpful too. My husband who is a seasoned fish wrangler had no problems, but being my first time I required a little more TLC which the guides were more than helpful. I had no idea what I was in for.... I had the BIGGEST KING salmon on my line. However, the huge monster jumped off my line. I was pretty disappointed, hoping to catch "the one" but I soon had another bite and landed a just as good one (24LBS). One unexpected dilemma was the weather, it stayed pretty cool and 2 days it rained. I was pretty reluctant to venture out in the rain just to fish, but I did and let me tell you, the heated cabins (and bathroom) on Tim Berg's boats were a HUGE help! The drive(s) to Seward and Homer to get the boats were a little long, but on the drives we saw more wildlife than any other time! All in all, Alaska was everything we had hoped and much more. Thanks to Tim Berg and his impeccable staff it was truly a trip of a lifetime! Thank you and look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: If your a couple looking to stay in a plush relaxing environment I would recomment Sea Breeze Lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
1.3 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
78 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
132 reviews
7.1 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
3.1 mi away
Caribou Crossing Cabins
Caribou Crossing Cabins
#10 of 44 in Soldotna
31 reviews
2.2 mi away
A Cabin by the Pond
A Cabin by the Pond
#8 of 44 in Soldotna
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaskan Fishing Adventures Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Fishing Adventures Accommodation

Property: Alaskan Fishing Adventures Accommodation
Address: 720 Kalifornsky Beach Rd, Directly on the Kenai River, Soldotna, AK 99669-8226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Soldotna
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose between three different properties. Trophy Lodge, Anglers Lodge Lodge and The Exit Glacier Lodge. The Trophy lodge is located in the town of Soldotna on the banks of the Kenai river. Enjoy our upscale dining and Napa Valley Wines with a fully stocked bar. The Anglers Lodge is located on the bank of the Kenai River about the 32 mile marker. It is in a park like setting on the best King Salmon fishing river in the world. You can enjoy fishing from the docks after dinner at either lodge. The Exit Glacier Lodge is in the beautiful town of Seward Alaska. This town has the best overall fishing from the road system in the state. The Halibut fishing is world class, with Halibut over 200 lbs caught on a regular bases. Enjoy one of Sewards best restaurants just a short walk from your room. We can put together any Alaskan fishing vacation you desire. You can pick from Anglers lodge with its park like setting to the Trophy with its upscale meals and Napa wines with an open bar or the Exit glacier lodge with a choice of either world. If you are just looking for a great vacation, there is no better place to hang your hat than at one of these great locations. Or if you are looking to experience the very finest fishing Alaska has to offer, be sure to reserve an All INCLUSIVE Fishing Package. We have been serving anglers from around the globe for 40 years - call us for all the details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaskan Fishing Adventures Accommodation Alaska/Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing