We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip all around”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bob's Cabin & Guide Service
Sicklerville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip all around”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My father-in-law stayed at Bob's Cabin at the beginning of June, 2013. We had booked the trip in February, 2013 and expected to be fishing on the Kenai River for King Salmon while we were there. Unfortunately, due to the number of fish in the River, the Kenai was closed down for fishing. Bob was an outstanding host. Since we could not follow our original itinerary, Bob made sure we were with the best guides and that we caught fish. His hospitality and advice were outstanding. The lodge is truly beautiful and you can tell that it is something Bob takes great pride in. Bob's staff (Cathy, Taylor and Mindy) were also truly wonderful and helped to make our trip the best it could be. Finally, Bob's fish processing and shipping is an amazing operation and he and his staff take great care in making sure that you receive your fish in pristine condition.

If you're thinking about staying and fishing with Bob, I highly recommend it. There will definitely be a return trip to Bob's Cabin in my future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

“I cannot say enough positive things about the entire staff! The Ladies were absolutely amazing – complete professionals. My Son and I felt completely taken care of from the time we walk into the front door until we pick-up our process fish to go to the airport. Also, Bob and the staff were tremendous with scheduling fishing guides, preparing lunches and delivering appetizers on the evening before our departure.

Thank you all; for making a very special week that much more enjoyable for us. What a brilliant crew! Nick and I thank you all!”

Room Tip: Lodge will not allow shoes on their floor, bring slippers No Dinners at the main lodge, it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Spent a week at Bob's Cabin in Soldotna and had a fantastic time. Hospitality was outstanding and we felt right at home from the moment we arrived. Bob arranged for guide service for 6 days with some re-schedules given weather and pulled off the entire week like clock work. His knowledge and experience is noteworthy and we caught out limits of salmon and halibut each day. His staff was fantastic getting up as early as 3 am to have breakfast and see us on the way for early morning fishing trips. Rick T.

Room Tip: The main lodge is fantastic and right on the Kenai River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our family completed another great fishing trip to Kenai/Soldotna in late August 2012. We stayed in one of Bob Standish's cabins on the Kenai river. In a word, the trip was AWESOME! Everyone (5 in the party) caught Silvers and Halibut on day trips/fly-outs with Bob and other guides that he contracted with.BO and his staff are the ultimate in professionalism, they prepared and packeage our catch for shipment to Virginia and Florida. And the fish arrived in perfect condition. Highly recommned that you plan your fishing trip to Alaska and the Kenai area with Bob Scanlon - you will not find a better guide!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

After many years of dreaming of a trip to Alaska, I decided on a father-son trip and linked up with my father to take him north. I had no idea how to arrange for guided fishing trips, as we wanted to experience the full Alaska experience and some of the Internet sites were a bit confusing. Bob's Cabins makes it easy. You tell Bob what you would like to do and a budget, and he builds the trip of a lifetime for you and your crew. His lodge is very comfortable, but don't think you'll be lying around (though I suppose you could, but then why did you come to Alaska?) .... Bob's is all about fishing and he will have you on the water early and chasing fish all day long. His staff is great and will provide you with a bag lunch to keep you casting. Don't look any further. Call Bob and let him help you create an Alaska dream trip. BTW, the fly-in trip was one of the highlights. Tight lines............

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bassra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I thought I was an old hand at Alaskan fishing - having spent a few years there in the service. But a friend's recommendation and the decision to include my brother's family with mine led us to the best fishing experiences we have had, at a superb locaation. Bob's Cabin -whether the main facility or the off-site locations - we have stayed in three of the available accomodations - are convenient to the fishing, restaurants, and sight-seeing on the Kenai. We have always enjoyed the cabins - they are wll equipped, spotless, and comfortable. We have enjoyed every trip and never failed to catch and ship home a respectable amount of fish, even in the years where the run timings don't cooperate with our schedule. On the Kenai, the real King is Bob. He is the hardest working guide I have ever seen - and the results show it. On days when the kings have been shy and we saw other boats were lucky to take a single fish , all three childre and my brother took a king - only I got skunked! Bob also is expert at placing guests for fly-outs, charters for other species, and sight-seeing trips with outstanding guides who deliver top notch service and quickly make you feel at home. This is certainly Alaska at its best - the location, the people, and the fish. We will be heading back this summer [2013], yet again!

Room Tip: Pick any of the cabin site by the number in yopur party and you will be happy. They are all superb a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My husband and I and our two teenages stayed in the newest cabin in July 2012. It was clean, comfortable, and looked just like the pictures. We had a great time fishing and touring the Kenai area and came back each night to the cabin with our catch. The cabin is well stocked from a cook's perspective with nice pans, utensils, and all the necessary tools to cook up the day's catch (no spices or such, but these are easily found at the local Safeway grocery). The beds and rooms were very comfortable and the maid service kept everything very nice during our stay. We would recommend this place to friends and family without reservation. Last, but not least, Bob took good care of us. Due to a low running of Kings we had to find an alternate activity on short notice and Bob was able to use his local connections to arrange a trip. I doubt we could have done that by just looking in the yellow pages.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colorado33527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
1.3 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
132 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
4.3 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kenai
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Cabin & Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Cabin & Guide Service

Property: Bob's Cabin & Guide Service
Address: 43560 Oehler Rd, Soldotna, AK 99669-8269
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenai River waterfront fishing lodge and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bob's Cabin & Guide Service Alaska/Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing