We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing.....Bears....Glaciers......Service & Luxury Accomodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bob's Cabin & Guide Service
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fishing.....Bears....Glaciers......Service & Luxury Accomodations”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The title says it all....From the moment you make the turn into Bob's Cabin you know you made the right choice. Bob is more than just a fishing guide. He and Cathy, his always available assistant look out for your every need. From day one.....it was a seaplane ride to our first salmon fishing spot.....and what a spot it was.....loaded with salmon...family of four bears....we witnessesed a bear fight between a huge brown bear protecting its three cubs and a black bear that learned a big lesson....After catching our limit we boarded the seaplane to skim the mountain tops then view the glacier from 100 feet, then return over the tundra to watch the bears. That was just the first day.

It just got better and better. Cathy, pampered us. With my buddies Sergio from Florence, Italy, Mike from New York City and me from Newport Beach, Ca. we are accustomed to good service but Cathy was over the top. Bob would have it no other way.

We caught our limits every single day. Bob hooked us with the very best captains that brought us to where the fish were. No matter if it was Halibut, Cod, Rainbow Trout, or Salmon these guys mentored us to our limit.

Then of course they pointed us to the right restaurant each evening for dinner. Go see Alaska Bob and Cathy's way at Bobs Cabin

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bud J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mendon, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I just came back from an awesome trip at Bob’s cabin, the Kenai area is beautiful we saw an abundance of wildlife, the fishing guides were great, Bob did a good job of juggling fishing trips around for us as we hit a time when the weather was unseasonably hot for a few days the river was pretty high and the salmon wasn’t in yet, caught plenty of fish. This was our honeymoon so this is a couples friendly place to go by no means a strictly guy thing, we met other couples and family’s as well. We would recommend Bob’s cabin’s to anyone. Frank & Shelley Walters ( Michigan )

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoke777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We just got back from spending a great week in Alaska. Bob's Cabins were great. We spent the week in one of the river side cabins and fit 6 people very comfortably. The cabins were very clean, with all the amenities we were used to having at home. Bob did a great job setting up all our fishing trips, processing our fish and sending it home to us. I would definitely recommend staying with bob.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were thoroughly impressed with Bob's accommodations and his service. He went out of his way to accommodate our party of four. Accommodations were great with nice people staying in the adjoining cabins. All of them were repeat customers.

The fishing was a little tough due to high water and very warm temps but we managed to enjoy ourselves and take home about 150 lbs of Halibut and salmon fillets. Fishing with his guide Jason on the Kenai was fantastic. Jason had a great attitude, and had a teachers spirit.

Keeper king salmon on the Kenai was restricted to less than 22" or greater than 55". I asked Bob to substitute our planned Kenai King Trip with a Kenai Sockeye Trip the week before we arrived. He did it with no problem even though it cost him more money for the Sockeye Trip. That's great customer service in my opinion.

Bob's fish packing service is also top notch with clean state of the art equipment. Everything was labeled and tagged to ensure we got our fish back. Bottom line is that Bob is an honest guy that provides a great fishing adventure at a good price. Thanks. I'm sure I'll be back.

Room Tip: Riverfront cabins are not co-located near the main lodge. They are all very nice. We stayed at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galackawitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My father-in-law stayed at Bob's Cabin at the beginning of June, 2013. We had booked the trip in February, 2013 and expected to be fishing on the Kenai River for King Salmon while we were there. Unfortunately, due to the number of fish in the River, the Kenai was closed down for fishing. Bob was an outstanding host. Since we could not follow our original itinerary, Bob made sure we were with the best guides and that we caught fish. His hospitality and advice were outstanding. The lodge is truly beautiful and you can tell that it is something Bob takes great pride in. Bob's staff (Cathy, Taylor and Mindy) were also truly wonderful and helped to make our trip the best it could be. Finally, Bob's fish processing and shipping is an amazing operation and he and his staff take great care in making sure that you receive your fish in pristine condition.

If you're thinking about staying and fishing with Bob, I highly recommend it. There will definitely be a return trip to Bob's Cabin in my future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

“I cannot say enough positive things about the entire staff! The Ladies were absolutely amazing – complete professionals. My Son and I felt completely taken care of from the time we walk into the front door until we pick-up our process fish to go to the airport. Also, Bob and the staff were tremendous with scheduling fishing guides, preparing lunches and delivering appetizers on the evening before our departure.

Thank you all; for making a very special week that much more enjoyable for us. What a brilliant crew! Nick and I thank you all!”

Room Tip: Lodge will not allow shoes on their floor, bring slippers No Dinners at the main lodge, it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Spent a week at Bob's Cabin in Soldotna and had a fantastic time. Hospitality was outstanding and we felt right at home from the moment we arrived. Bob arranged for guide service for 6 days with some re-schedules given weather and pulled off the entire week like clock work. His knowledge and experience is noteworthy and we caught out limits of salmon and halibut each day. His staff was fantastic getting up as early as 3 am to have breakfast and see us on the way for early morning fishing trips. Rick T.

Room Tip: The main lodge is fantastic and right on the Kenai River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
1.3 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
132 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
4.3 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kenai
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Cabin & Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Cabin & Guide Service

Property: Bob's Cabin & Guide Service
Address: 43560 Oehler Rd, Soldotna, AK 99669-8269
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenai River waterfront fishing lodge and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bob's Cabin & Guide Service Alaska/Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing