We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Difference in Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel in July. It's clean and the staff are helpful. The rooms with king beds are all on one side of the building and the rooms with double beds are on the other side. Be aware that the rooms with king beds all face the parking lot and buildings in town. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, so if you leave the window open to cool the room down, you will hear traffic noise all night long. But the rooms with double beds all face the river and trees, and are quiet, and have fantastic views.

Room Tip: Rooms with king beds face the parking lot, have no views, and are hot in the summer. The rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We needed to overnight in Soldotna and stayed at the Aspen Hotel Soldotna. This is a very basic hotel/motel. Room was clean - again basic (but did have a kitchenette). There isn't AC in the rooms - so if it's warm/hot, you have to open the window. And, the hotel is on a somewhat major road (so if noise is an issue...). There were some odd characters hanging around the hotel and in the parking lot, but no incidents. It is right across the street from a grocery store and coffee shop. For the price (this might be a summer/AK thing), certainly not a great deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We'd originally planned to drive straight from Seward to Homer, but decided to break the trip with a night in Soldotna (as we couldn't get at extra night at Alaska Glacierview Cabin (review pending approval on this property - don't forget you can register previously un-reviewed gems with TA)). Efficient internet booking from home, and the reservation was quickly if perfunctorily found at check-in.

Room was clean, perfectly comfortable, and sufficiently spacious for 2 adults/1 teenager (two good queen beds). Good wi-fi internet connection.

Breakfast choice was rather limited, so we ended up heading across the road to McD's (yep, sadly, it was a better option).

It's not a particularly scenic location, but it's easy to find from the main highway, has closeby access to a Kenai River boardwalk, and also provides convenient access to the Kenai spur road if you want to explore the 'north road'.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atrebate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed in the family room with our two young children and it was perfect. The kids enjoyed the pool as well. At the end of our stay we were headed to homer for a few days before heading back to anchorage and the manager was very accommodating and let us keep our fish in the freezer those 2 extra days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Been coming to Soldotna for 23 years to Salmon fish. For the longest time I rented a home until they sold the property so tried it here last year and returned again. I am in a hotel 320 nights per year every year. I know hotels. This is a 'holiday inn express' or 'Fairfield inn' style hotel. Convenience is the key here since they are centrally located. They have an indoor pool and Jacuzzi which is nice after hours spent fishing to relax your back. It is in the center of town so not much in terms of ambience or view...especially street facing rooms which have zero view.

Beds are on the soft side but rooms are very clean. Hotel is well kept. Breakfast is your standard carb fest. Flat screen tvs, laudry facility, business center...like I said a 'holiday inn express' in a town with no major chain hotels.

Like everything in AK...it's expensive. About 2 times what you would pay in most places. Long term rooms with cooking are $219 plus tax.

If you're here for the fishing than this is just fine. Safeway across the street and near Odie's (great sandwiches) and The Moose is Loose (can't miss bakery).

Room Tip: Don't face the street...no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pompui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We didn't plan to stay here but our car broke down and got towed here. So we got a room. It's close to the Kenai River and the rooms are clean but have no A/C... now I know it's Alaska but paying $200 a night makes A/C a little guilty pleasure, alas denied. Good security and parking. Good lobby and wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geneatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We came to stay at Aspen before we had planned to due to the fact the previous place we were booked in had mold.Anne was very helpful when we arrived. Helping us to pick out a room that although less expensive was better for me since they do not use harsh chemicals to clean the room. When we returned days later, when we had planned to stay, they had reserved that room for us again. The hotel has a walk-in freezer to keep your fish box before going to Anchorage Airport. David was extremely helpful in that helped my husband pack the boxes. We had to pick up up the salmon from processor that we had left after catching in Soldotna. The breakfast was very filling and good. Waffles, cereal, milk, bagels, jams, peanut butter, juice and really good coffee!! The fish walking pier behind the hotel was a pretty walk. The rooms had wi-fi that worked quickly. There are washers and dryers on premise that came in handy. The pool looked very well maintained, we did not have time to use. I would strongly recommend staying here and say Hi to Anne and David.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106. No view but spacious, comfortable king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybuginthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.6 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
83 reviews
7.8 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
0.5 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Quality Inn Kenai
Quality Inn Kenai
#5 of 5 in Kenai
68 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Hotel Soldotna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Hotel Soldotna

Address: 326 Binkley Cir, Soldotna, AK 99669-8058
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Price Range: £65 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aspen Hotel Soldotna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the banks of the beautiful Kenai River in the heart of the city of Soldotna, Aspen Hotel Soldotna is an ideal Alaska home base for business or leisure travel. Perfect for starting an Alaskan fishing vacation, guests will appreciate 63 beautifully appointed guestrooms, complimentary WiFi and continental breakfast, and an indoor swimming pool and spa. We also have a business center for corporate guests. Famous for world class salmon fishing, the Soldotna, Kenai area of Alaska offers a rare combination of Russian and native history, exciting outdoor activities and unique cultural events .Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy this vibrant community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Aspen Hotel Soldotna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Soldotna Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing