We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small warm pool a plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
rural ak
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“small warm pool a plus”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed one night here in an upstairs room with 2 queen beds. We didn't pay for it, so I can't access cost vs. what you get. Not a budget hotel, but not upscale either. There is a small, warm pool which was good for my toddlers, especially as there are stairs that descent into the pool for easy access. Breakfast was ok. Nothing special but we didn't starve. Location is right next to an Arby's and across the street for a large grocery store and right in town. We stayed here in winter and our upstairs room was HOT. When we checked in we were told the upstairs rooms were "warmer" as opposed to "cooler", downstairs rooms. We wanted a warmer room because of our toddlers, but it was HOT. Microwave and small fridge in room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    56
    33
    12
    1
See reviews for
32
36
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Overall, I like staying here. Comfortable rooms, microwave, fridge in each one. Decent breakfast. Maids aren't always super thorough, sometimes have to call the desk in the evening to have basics done, like the trash taken out. Always respond quickly and take care of things.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Good breakfast, nice hotel very spacious and close to a Walmart. We may have been able to find something cheaper but we found lots of room options here so we took it. Staff was good. The room we got was set up for short term stay so we had a microwave, coffee pot, iron and I think it had a one or two burner stove.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnorris12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Aspen hotel can be rated along the lines of a Holiday Inn Express, minimally complimented, cold continental breakfast, but comfortable facility and rooms. We have stayed here three times prior in the last two years, during summer season mainly.
For the most part, the staff was customer friendly; however, one individual was curt, not accomodating at all, and even rude.
Myself, wife and another couple stayed at the Aspen for 3 nights, during Thanksgiving 2013. We wanted to just get away this year and have a place to relax and use the pool and hot tub. Everything was pretty much as we expected it to be within the facility, and the staff was accomodating as usual, except for this one young man who would not turn the lounge TV on for us to watch, which completely took us off guard.
It was the Saturday evening after Thanksgiving, around 6pm. We were all exhausted from all the Black Friday, and Saturday, shopping and ready to watch a little TV together, both familys.
We have sat and watched TV in the lounge area before, even played cards and had our TG dinner there. But, on this night, a young man was at the front desk and when we asked to watch TV, he stated bluntly "no, I cannot allow you to do that". We thought he was kidding at first, but he was dead serious. I requested to speak to a manager, and he said "I can't do that, but I'll tell him you asked". Again, we were blown away by this guys rude and confusing behavior. I requested that he ask the manager to contact me before our next morning departure, but no one ever contacted me about this situation.
Well, it was our last night, so we said forget it and went back to our rooms.
We will not stay here again unless the owners make this up to us, which will likely not happen.
This is an unfortunate thing to have happen, but we could not feel good about staying here again under these circumstances.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at the Aspen in Soldotna, make sure to get a room on the back side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Good place to stay, pool, exercise room, continental breakfast, along with refrigerator and micro in room. The only negative is the king size bed was very weak, when rolling over the whole bed moved. Not a stable mattress and the pillows are a little to firm for my liking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKfromAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a couple nights this week for a volleyball tournament and had made a very long 5 hour drive to get there. When we arrived Cassie was the hotel clerk and she was so wonderful to work with ~ very helpful and accommodating. Thank you so very much Cassie for making our arrival and first night there so pleasant ~ you deserve a gold star for your efforts. There were to be a lot of kids staying at that hotel due to various sports events and meets happening in that area. The room was nice and spacious, I loved and appreciated the mini kitchen, and the pool was a perfect ending to the long drive that day. The complimentary breakfast the next morning was wonderful and fun for the kids. The majority of the hotel staff was so very nice. Unfortunately the pool crashed the next day and Kelli - the new clerk on duty - didn't get any one to come in and adjust the levels till Saturday - closing the pool for all the kids and hotel guests for the rest of the trip. Kelli informed us that it happens all the time, they don't know why it always crashes, and definitely can count on it happening whenever there are a lot of kids at the hotel. My advise is to make sure you call ahead and check on the pool condition and maintenance issues, if that is a priority for you and your family as it was for us. I would have given this hotel a 5 star rating had it not been for the pool closure and the great disappointment to the kids. it was a sad ending to our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O2TravelTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was a very clean hotel. The hotel was in very good shape. It is located next to the river and has access to a very nice boardwalk along the river. A great place for an evening stroll. It was close to several places to eat. My only issue was the soundproofing. There was none. Everytime a door shut in the hallway it woke me up. It sounded like a herd of elephants. The first night I didn't notice it because I was so tired from traveling. The next night I didn't get any rest because I was being woke up everytime a door closed. Very annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.6 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
34 reviews
7.8 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
38 reviews
7.9 mi away
Quality Inn Kenai
Quality Inn Kenai
#4 of 5 in Kenai
62 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eagle Rock Lodge
Eagle Rock Lodge
#5 of 5 in Kenai
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Hotel Soldotna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Hotel Soldotna

Property: Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Address: 326 Binkley Cir, Soldotna, AK 99669-8058
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aspen Hotel Soldotna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the banks of the beautiful Kenai River in the heart of the city of Soldotna, Aspen Hotel Soldotna is an ideal Alaska home base for business or leisure travel. Perfect for starting an Alaskan fishing vacation, guests will appreciate 63 beautifully appointed guestrooms, complimentary WiFi and continental breakfast, and an indoor swimming pool and spa. We also have a business center for corporate guests. Famous for world class salmon fishing, the Soldotna, Kenai area of Alaska offers a rare combination of Russian and native history, exciting outdoor activities and unique cultural events .Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy this vibrant community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aspen Hotel Soldotna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Soldotna Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing