We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place to relax”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Soldotna, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhonda B
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to relax”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We just returned home and wanted to let you know how much we loved your place. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. Beautiful setting and the cabin was perfect. The bear was a bonus ! Thank you for sharing your home with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Centeral location to the lower areas
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Printmake...
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great night stay with a moose to boot!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We unfortunately had only one night to stay at A Cabin By the Pond. Our cabin, the Dream Cabin, was just that...very clean and well appointed. It had a full kitchen which we put to good use, a comfy bed, and the best entertainment one can find right out on their own font porch...moose.

Shortly after we arrived, a moose, made her way into the pond right in front of our cabin. The owners joined us and other guests as we respectfully enjoyed the presence of this wonderful creature that makes a habit of visiting this pond. It was such a treat.

We got another treat the next morning before we headed out when we met little Jerome, a sweet little squirrel that just loves peanuts. So he had peanuts while we had our coffee.

Wish we had had more time to stay, but had an early flight the next morning. If ever we make it back to Soldotna, we know exactly where we will stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Was a very nice, well kept property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditt56
Ogden, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Cabin with Friendly Hosts”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at the Serenity Cabin with our two grown kids and loved our visit. The cabin was very picturesque and clean. There was a large master bedroom upstairs, and a twin bed and fold-out sofa downstairs. The owners furnish plenty of very helpful pictures and information on their website for prospective customers. We printed out and referred to their guide for the beautiful drive from Anchorage to Soldotna. The managers of the site, Jim and Kathy (the owners are Jim and Cathy so it might be a bit confusing!) were very welcoming and accomodating. When my husband and son left their suits behind, they called us as soon as they discovered our mistake and mailed them to us! Although there is a small airport and a gravel pit close by, the noise was pretty minimal. We hated to leave our lovely cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience was very positive for us.
Liked least: Melba the Moose, their advertised yearly visitor, was a no-show so far in 2013. We enjoyed feeding Jerome the squirrel, however.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
like_jane
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adorable Cabins in a Charming Setting”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Peace Within Cabin for 3 nights. A nice cozy little cabin. A very comfy queen bed is on the main level with full kitchen and a dining area. There is no living room. The second bedroom is in the loft space. A slightly odd layout as the stairs for the loft are in the bathroom and are a little steep... so for some that might be a challenge.

We really enjoyed our stay... there are several other cabins around a courtyard and pond. The chapel on the property is a common area for reading, playing games, with a library of movies for you take back to your cabin to watch. (There is no cable TV). Unfortunately we never did see Melba, the residential moose. She would usually come by in the afternoon and we were always out.

The Cabins are in a nice location in the woods... down the road from the Kenai National Wildlife Refuge Visitor Center which has a couple of really good trails. It is also located within an hour to the Skilak Wildlife Recreation Area with many great trails and even closer to the canoe trails.

The owner was very nice and accommodating. I would go back again!

**Just a note: lots of windows that have blinds but not blackout blinds... and the nights are very short in the spring and summer... so bring an eye mask.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The downstairs bed was really comfy and the cabin overall was just adorable.
Liked least: The odd location of the staircase to the loft bedroom being in the bathroom.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Reviewed 5 March 2012 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alaska
Reviewed 17 November 2011 for a stay in July 2007

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$149
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing