We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“True cabin”
other travellers have booked this property
A Cabin by the Pond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Cabin by the Pond.
Dream Cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
A Cabin by the Pond.
Dream Cabin
Melba moose with two calfs laying on the lawn.
Joy cabin
Gratitude Cabin.
Gratitude Cabin
Dream Cabin
Chapel Lodge
Historic Log Lodge
Peace Within Cabin
Serenity Cabin
Serenity Cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Soldotna, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LucianoII...
Vallejo, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True cabin”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Location, cleanliness, helpful staff, relaxing place, price, convenience....all the buzz words
We'll be back

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
griffids
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

If you've done your homework you realize there are limited hotels in Soldotna and Kenai. and none of the hotels that are in the area are exactly the 4 star hotels. Cabin by the pond offers a serine quite place to stay just outside Soldotna. The cabins are within easy reach of all the sights and activities. The cabins are clean and quaint and have all have a full kitchen. I stayed for 5 nights May 2014 and will definitely be returning on my next stay.

**My only complaints**
1 - lack of blackout curtains to block the midnight sun.
2 - Proprietor does not take credit cards makes payment a pain since I don't carry checks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: No black out curtains
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Sorry for any inconvenience, Our original credit card processing company would not allow us to charge for services not rendered within 60 days. We had to ask for a deposit check for a future stay more than 60 days in the future. Now, with our new credit card processing company, this is not an issue. We take any major credit card. JIm & Cat Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snoball53
raymond wa.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in July and stayed in the bunkhouse. We loved everything about the Cabins by the Pond. So peaceful. You could walk to the river for the salmon fishing. The owner and caretakers were wonderful. Anything you needed just had to ask. We loved it so much, we already have our reservation for next year. Can hardly wait to go back. We highly recommend these cabins. You will love them!!! Robert and Janice Coty, Raymond, Wa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!!!!
Liked least: nothing!!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
05cummins
1 review
“Awesome cabins at a great price!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Joy cabin for two nights in August. We showed up pretty late the first night and we greated by the caretakers who showed us the cabin and around the small village setup. The cabin was very clean and well built. This was by far our favorite cabin that we stayed on our trip and the best price. The staff was very friendly and would help you with anything that you need. Great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to relax”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We just returned home and wanted to let you know how much we loved your place. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. Beautiful setting and the cabin was perfect. The bear was a bonus ! Thank you for sharing your home with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Centeral location to the lower areas
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Printmake...
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great night stay with a moose to boot!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We unfortunately had only one night to stay at A Cabin By the Pond. Our cabin, the Dream Cabin, was just that...very clean and well appointed. It had a full kitchen which we put to good use, a comfy bed, and the best entertainment one can find right out on their own font porch...moose.

Shortly after we arrived, a moose, made her way into the pond right in front of our cabin. The owners joined us and other guests as we respectfully enjoyed the presence of this wonderful creature that makes a habit of visiting this pond. It was such a treat.

We got another treat the next morning before we headed out when we met little Jerome, a sweet little squirrel that just loves peanuts. So he had peanuts while we had our coffee.

Wish we had had more time to stay, but had an early flight the next morning. If ever we make it back to Soldotna, we know exactly where we will stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Was a very nice, well kept property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditt56
Ogden, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Cabin with Friendly Hosts”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at the Serenity Cabin with our two grown kids and loved our visit. The cabin was very picturesque and clean. There was a large master bedroom upstairs, and a twin bed and fold-out sofa downstairs. The owners furnish plenty of very helpful pictures and information on their website for prospective customers. We printed out and referred to their guide for the beautiful drive from Anchorage to Soldotna. The managers of the site, Jim and Kathy (the owners are Jim and Cathy so it might be a bit confusing!) were very welcoming and accomodating. When my husband and son left their suits behind, they called us as soon as they discovered our mistake and mailed them to us! Although there is a small airport and a gravel pit close by, the noise was pretty minimal. We hated to leave our lovely cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience was very positive for us.
Liked least: Melba the Moose, their advertised yearly visitor, was a no-show so far in 2013. We enjoyed feeding Jerome the squirrel, however.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$149
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing