We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Donuts!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The moose is loose

The moose is loose
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Soldotna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bakery
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Donuts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We've stopped here for breakfast every time we go to Soldotna. The donuts are fantastic and HUGE! Be sure to get an apple fritter, they're super moist and as big as your face. We have yet to try their other desserts, but the salmon and halibut sugar cookies are so cute! A definite favorite, we'll keep coming back! :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaysuiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    54
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just wanted to add to the wonderful reviews for this bakery.
Great service by the very busy staff. Very helpful in giving information about the many delicious treats to choose from.
Our favorite was the danish donut but try a few things to decide for yourself. Luckily we were in Soldotna for a few days to try a few tasty treats.
The gift shop is fun to browse through as well.
It is well worth the stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PascalJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SUGAR!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a combination bakery/ knick-knack store. They were very busy on a Sunday morning. I wish there were a few 'healthy' items in the display case, but everything we tried was super. Lots of muffins and donuts and pastries. A few tables in the rear to eat if you don't want to take it to go. The store was a bit overwhelming. Tons of moose things to buy if you wanted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best bakery in Alaska!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here since 2006. Their baked goods are fresh and delicious. They bake many kinds of all natural breads and give wonderful service! My fav are the apple fritters and the Road Kill. It is a flattened cinnamon roll, deep fried until crisp, then iced. So good!
I love their Black bread and Orange Cinnamon bread. Go early, they sell out of things. I tell all my friends who come to Alaska they have to stop here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisY1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“My sweet tooth thanks you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

When I mentioned we would be going to Homer, a friend told me I had to stop here on the way. We went on a very crowded Saturday morning, and the smell in the parking lot (fresh pastries, cinnamon rolls) drew us in despite the crowd. This looked like a popular tourist spot but there were a lot of locals there too. Our donuts and pastries were delicious and we'll definitely stop by if we are in Soldotna or pass through again. It's very convenient (right on the Sterling Hwy), service is fast, and there are so many selections!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappilyHitched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The moose is loose also viewed

 

Been to The moose is loose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing