We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first time at Funny Moose” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaska Funny Moose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaska Funny Moose
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great first time at Funny Moose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

My girlfriend and myself stayed at Funny Moose the first time this year and we did our research for months prior to planning the trip. We used tripadvisor and read all reviews, made phone calls and we knew what we were getting long before we booked. I can say it was just what they say it is, a fishing camp and that is just what we were looking for this vacation. As far as the cabins we found them to be perfect and just what we needed. We had a clean cabin with clean sheets and blankets along with all the cooking items we needed. We actually enjoyed this cabin as compared to some places we have stayed on prior fishing trips. To be honest if your truely there to fish and enjoy Alaska you dont spend many hours in the cabin or at camp. We spent little time in the cabin or at camp we were way to busy fishing, hiking and site seeing.
When it comes to the people Jim and George, I found both to very nice and concerned about our trip and safety. Jim would go out of his way to help any way he could and George was pleasant to us the whole trip as well as the personal guest George had were very nice. We have both traveled and have been to resorts and or cruises and we have never been treated better then we did here at Funny Moose and this is no lie. I dont think we were just lucky I saw first had Jim going out of his way to help other guest and making them feel at home. The fishing was tough no doubt. Salmon run was down due to the winter they had and water levels. BUT we knew this prior to arriving in Alaska because we did our research from the time we booked right unit the morning we left. We knew what the fish counts were the emergency orders ect. We also had a learning curve to overcome, we had to learn the spots to fish, how to catch and the different rules but we were willing to put in the time, effort and not have someone hold our hand do it for us. This makes the trips more enjoyable when you can have the chances to just go and do it yourself. During our stay in 8 days we only slept 35 hours most of our time like I said was out enjoying the rivers and fishing. We got lots of advice from Jim as to where and how to fish, locals, the tackle shops, others on the river and our guides all were great and pointed us in the right direction to get into fish.
The charters were great no complaints what so ever. All the guides were awesome and very helpful not only on their charter but helping us plan our DIY days.
Overall we had a great trip and are bringing several of our friends wtih us next year. We felt the cabins were just what we needed and no more plan and simple because you don't spend time there other then to sleep and take a shower. As far as Jim what can I say he was wonderful and a true gentleman to us. He helped me with fishing spots, equipment ,tackle and good conversation. He exchanged books with us and was joy to sit and share stories with.
Lou from the camp next door was great guy and did our fish packing and we had no problems. Lou was very helpful with some good tips and site seeing areas.
Can't wait to get back next year.
Jon and Cheryl Pennsylvania

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
16
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Arrived at camp first day it's open. Jim and Lou very nice guys. George the owner couldn't care less to meet any of us. Completely ignored. There are NO FISH the first month of season. NO FISH. Caught 2 small halibut in high horrible seas. Member of party slammed onto floor from waves. It was a pukefest even with patches. Cabins DO NOT have drinkable water! Horrible SULFUR water from earthquake. Must rinse dishes in bottled water before using. Showers STUNK! Absolutely no ocean or lake access locally. You can drive hours and not get to fish able water without a guide. The area is setup for GUIDES. Not you. Local lake had 4" rainbows and only boat access. Kenai river is devoid of catchable fish near camp. Lots of 1" baby fish
Beautiful area. Lots of moose rabbits birds etc hiking trails.
Grocery and restaurants 2-3X regular prices. Local Alaskan Trooper station close to town. I had a visit for my son who is going into law enforcement. Crime and arrests were high all around area. Troopers really earn their money. GREAT people who work hard to keep area secure.
This could have been a great stay IF the owner had said there are NO FISH at ALL in the river and we would have put trip off for 6 weeks BEWARE
2 salmon trips with Jerry NO FISH He won't let anyone touch the fishing poles while fishing. Guides can't fish --He said he doesn't need to fish because all the poles out are his any way. Not fun

Room Tip: Bring towels soap etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fishingfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Alaska Funny Moose, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
I will try to answer this one issue at a time...
Jim and Lou good .. George could care less. This is not true. George has hired me for a reason. I am good with people. George has been in the business since the 70's and prefers after years of working with customers to take care of the fishing schedules and the bookings rather than the day to day interaction with guests. We have some of the best guides on the Kenai and George manages to book them and keep the schedule for 10 groups smoothly.
Sulfur Water: We have had some issues with a sulfur smell from one well on the property. There is no "City Water" throughout most of Alaska. The smell is slight but I do understand that some might have a more sensitive nose.
The idea you can drive for hours: Bogus.
The early runs in May and June happen on the lower rivers. We are 38 miles up and we do have trout, dolly varden and the occasional whitefish at camp. May and June are BIG KING SALMON days, The kings on the Kenai Peninsula are the largest in the world and that is what people come for... The rivers are much less pressured than the later months. We book people in May and June specifically for Kings. IT is only 38 miles to the ocean by river and less to the lower river and the Kasilof River where many of our guests fish from the bank in May for King Salmon. Tthey catch fish. The Russian River Reds start coming up the Kenai also and there are places on the Kenai to catch them about 16 miles from camp. There are over a DOZEN parks with lakes with fish and holdovers. There are also lakes in the Skilak Loop area, and there are several parks in the Swanson River area that can be fished. I keep this info available, and I am always willing to help people find places to fish. Had the guest asked I would have willingly provided it.
Grocery Prices: It is Alaska. We are not connected to the lower 48 without going through Canada. We have short growing seasons, most food is barged in, other than seafood, etc. Thus prices here are higher. Still they are not outrageous, and the coupons for Krogers / Fred Meirs you have at home work here as well as the points for gasoline.
Crime: We are 15 miles out of town and have never EVER had a problem here. No customer has ever had a criminal issue in town. The rivers are VERY safe that is where you will spend most of your time.
The idea that there are not fish at all is proven false by the 30 pound king salmon caught by another guest the same week. Other guests caught red salmon on the Kasilof, and some caught what are called Jack Kings which are under 20 inches and there is a limit of 10. We do not control the weather, I am sorry the Halibut trip was not up to your expectations but that is part of weather in Alaska. . There are fish, the review before this is a good example of the difference in customer expectations. The guest was here the same week. Check the dates on that review.
The last comment makes no sense at all. Jerry is one of the easiest going guides on the river. He does tell folks that there is a rod holder to use. Most guides when back trolling in a drift boat watch the rods and when a fish hits can take a good back stroke before the guest can grab the rod and set the hook. Otherwise Jerry tells them they can hold the rod all day. I have personally fished with Jerry several times and he takes great care to give advice that will best get you the fish. I can only imagine there was a missed communication between the guest and Jerry.
Late May and June are not as busy as July for fish, HOWEVER the biggest KING SALMON are caught at this time, and fishing is good normally. Red Salmon, Steelhead, Dolly Varden, are readily caught. The techniques here are specialized but I am always here to help and our guides will be willing to answer questions about fishing in the area as well. It just takes communication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Great value for the money, very accommodating, good people, willing to go above and beyond to ensure your stay is enjoyable. Thanks Jim, George, and captain Lou. Will have memories and experiences to share for the rest of my life. Already starting to make plans to come again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brush_buster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We had fun and caught a lot of fish. The place was clean and the management will do everything possible for you. They hooked us up with the best guides around. My wife caught a 50# king salmon on the Kenai! I highly recommend the fly out trip & halibut trip out of Homer. They will clean and vacuum pack your catch at the camp. We took home lots of salmon and halibut. Still have half a freezer full.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

the place was quite a dump! Had a good time. Fishing guides were excellent. Do yourself a favor, don't let capt. Lou process your fish. I had re-vacuum pack almost every package!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woozyob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimDicken, Manager at Alaska Funny Moose, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
The key to all vacuum packing services is to treat the fish as if it were packaged in glass. If you toss fish around the FROZEN packages will develop leaks. In the 4 seasons I have worked at the camp this is the first complaint about the on site Vac Packing. It is normal to have around 2% of your packages develop leaks. If you take home 100 packages of fish or 150 pounds that is 2 packages. That is the average we normally see. HOWEVER if you boxed your fish yourself and tossed it in the boxes as I have seen more than one person do, then you are going to have multiple bags to repack Captain Lou is very conscientious in his packing. He even goes around to the camp freezers we keep in a separate cabin, and rechecks the fish and the packaging daily. You are not going to get that service with any other vac packing company, because they are not on site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Check out and go when the "reds" are running up the Kenai, for the best meat haul. Maybe around middle of July? Also take a good reel filled with 25 -30# test to help prevent breakoffs. This is our third trip & they've all been great. From all our research, this is for sure the very best & cheapest fishing vacation in Alaska. The guides are top notch, as is all their equipment. George continues to keep his prices low to where you don't have to be rich to see Alaska for a week. Also his manager, Jim is a GREAT asset to the lodge. He is very friendly, helpfull, & goes above & beyond to make your stay pleasant. Lou, who's there next to the lodge, does a very professonal & cheap job of processing your catch. I would "highly" recommend using him. Thanks, Seaborn of Victoria, Tx.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Seaborn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was another great trip even if the weather did cheat us out of our last day of halibut fishing :( . If you are traveling threw Soldotna and dont want to spend an arm and a leg just to stay in a clean,quite,secluded place then Funny Moose may be for you. Now mind you this is not a Bed&Breakfast nor the Holiday Inn. No TV or room service.The rooms are basic, you have kitchen and bathroom and the beds are clean,warm and comfortable. Book a fishing trip, meet your nieghbor or bring your wife and reconect. You can aways ask Jim for help or advise 24/7 Lou too but you will have to catch him between happy hours LOL! Lou is great. We didnt get the 50-55lb King this year (others did ) but we will try again. We did pretty good on Sockeye and our first Halibut day ( cought some nice cod to so that was a plus). All in All Funny Moose is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5FishingStooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
11.9 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kenai Magic Lodge
Kenai Magic Lodge
#5 of 12 in Sterling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
11.7 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN King Salmon Motel
11.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Funny Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Funny Moose

Property: Alaska Funny Moose
Address: Sara Street, Soldotna, AK 99669 (Formerly Funny Moose Lodge)
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Soldotna
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funny Moose Lodge is a lodge directly on the Kenai River. We have fishing right on the property and staff will clean and package your fish. There is a fee for vacuum packing your fish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Funny Moose Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Funny Moose Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing