We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B Hospitality with Hotel Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great B&B Hospitality with Hotel Service”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Came here on a last-minute fishing getaway with my son and not much homework done. After a 15-minute call with Steve, my whole short trip was handled--I had directions for the three-hour drive from Anchorage, I had a room there, I had a room at another B&B for nights Soldotna was sold out, I had a guided fishing trip for me and my son, I had fishing equipment, I had fileting, freezing and packing of my catches, I had information, I had directions, I had help, and I had assurance I was in good care....and I was.

The trip did not disappoint, all arrangements were made, and the breakfasts very good (not a short-order kitchen - always something good planned and some fabulous German/Austrian baked goods to go with). And I came home with fish.

I had never been to Alaska before and I'd heard how crowded the river banks can be with fisherman. The Soldotna B&B sits on the Kenai River and has private walkways and docks to fish from. I appreciated this arrangement, not having to leave the property for a day of fishing from the walkway. And being able to throw the catch(es) in a bucket, and able to leave it for processing.

The only surprise here was that almost everyone I met at the B&B during my stay was also from Texas!

The B&B is a 2-story, kind of a 'boarding house' concept - bedrooms with in-room sinks and small TV (with cable), common bathrooms, common shower rooms. Room was comfortable; quilted bedding and synergistic wallpaper reminded me of my grandmother's home (but she didn't cook like this and didn't filet my fish!).

If we make our way back to Soldotna/Kenai, I won't be looking for another place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 for me, comfortable king bed and a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vita_bene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
We pride ourselves in meeting people's needs. Whenever we meet or exceed people's expectations, it makes our job easier. Why do it any other way?

We have had guests make reservations for packages less than 24 hours prior to check-in. When they arrive, everything is organized for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    16
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
58
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We enjoyed our room with a private bath. The food was excellent! Every detail of the trip was taken care of from time of arrival until departure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskatrip73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
The devil is in the details.

Get it right, and everything goes seamlessly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Nice and clean European style B&B on a high bluff over the Kenai river. Steve and Monika provided for our every need. Very clean rooms and bathrooms. Good WiFi service. We caught 400 pounds of fish (220 pounds filets) which were cut into servings for two, vacuum sealed and frozen by the lodge. Upon departure, Steve packed our filets into insulated boxes suitable for airline checked luggage. Everything was in tact and still frozen when we arrived in Florida.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
We try to do everything professionally. From cooking breakfast to vacuum packing fish to packing fish in boxes to carry home or ship overnight air we do it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This lodge was very nice. The lodge and our rooms were very clean and comfortable.There is a beautiful view of the Kenai River from the lodge. Steve and Monika do a first class job of running the Bed and Breakfast. I absolutely appreciated their hospitality! They arrange all the activities that you want to participate in and your daily itinerary is posted for you so you have all the specifics you need to know at your finger tips. I was very impressed by the fact that they have a fish packaging process set up at the lodge for anyone who catches fish. We returned from an all day fishing excursion and were able to turn over our fish for special packaging and they were put into a freezer to deep freeze and then would be shipped directly to our home upon our return. Definitely plan to vacation here again one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bredrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
We couldn't say it better ourselves.

We love making people happy!

We would never claim that everyone feels this way. However, if over 90% of the people do, we must be doing something right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My husband and I are celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, what a wonderful place to celebrate it. Steve and Monica made us feel like family, every detail of the trip and the fishing charters were well planned. We had our breakfast ready no matter what time we had to leave and lunch was packed for the charters. They had all the extra equipment we needed including hip boots and rain gear.
Our room was clean, with big windows so we could enjoy the view of the river, and we got fresh towels daily.
My husband and I enjoyed the exciting fishing on their dock almost every night, we caught dolly varden, rainbow , and sockeye .

We enjoyed the company of the employees, Kate,Bill and especially Alex, my husband's new found fishing buddy.
They provided a separate kitchen where you can enjoy coffee, tea and hot chocolate all day.
Breakfast was fantastic, Monica made the best lintzertorte and she even shared the recipe with me, I love the hazelnut french toast and they were truly very accomodating to whatever breakfast you want.
Steve personally packed our catch and weighed it for shipping.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grino44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Hey why not "Best of the Entire World"

No, seriously, just kidding. We love making people happy!

We take pride in what we do and we try to treat fish that guests catch with respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Steve and Monika run a first-rate B&B on the bank of the Kenai River. Their staff was extremely accommodating making sure we had packed the proper license, gear, and lunch, even though we were departing before 5 AM. A delightful breakfast was prepared in front of us while we enjoyed the coffee and fresh fruit. At night after sitting around the patio or campfire, we found our room to be quiet, clean and very comfortable.

The lodge’s guides hand-picked by Steve and Monika are the most professional guides we have traveled with. Our safety, comfort, and enjoyment were always paramount.

We are looking forward to returning next year and extending our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words. So glad you guys had a great time here. We hope to see you again soon!

We love to make our guests dreams come true or even exceed them.

Take care, Steve and Monika, Proprietors
Soldotna B&B Lodge, Alaska Fishing Charters, K-Bay Charters
"A Bit-of-Bavaria" directly on the Kenai River providing Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massillon, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We opted for an all inclusive package-all of our six trips in the package we chose were great and we had no problem whatsoever in meeting up with our guides each day. There was always an "activity sheet" for all the guests posted the night before with all the info needed for the next day.
Breakfast each morning was excellent, the lunches that were packed for us each day were perfect.
The lodge was very clean, the rooms were great, and Steve and Monika and staff could not have been any nicer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leophipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words. So glad you guys had a great time here. We hope to see you again soon!

We love to make our guests dreams come true or even exceed them.

Take care, Steve and Monika, Proprietors
Soldotna B&B Lodge, Alaska Fishing Charters, K-Bay Charters
"A Bit-of-Bavaria" directly on the Kenai River providing Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kenai
62 reviews
4.8 mi away
Diamond M Ranch Resort
1.3 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Property: Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Address: 399 Lovers Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, 16-Guestroom Adventure and Fishing Lodge offering fine lodging and quality guiding. Directly on Kenai River with 300 ft of private river frontage. All-you-can-eat, full breakfast served in sunroom directly overlooking Kenai River. Professional, EXPERIENCED guides for freshwater and saltwater charters. All-inclusive packages including guided fishing and outdoor activities. Bearviewing and fishing fly-outs. On-site fish processing: filleting/commercial vacuum packing/freezing. Hosts speak fluent German, Japanese, and English of course. Meeting rooms for executive and off-site meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing