We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Soldotna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Soldotna B&B Lodge. The room was very comfortable, the food was delicious, and it is located in a beautiful setting on the Kenai River. Steve and Monica were gracious hosts and very accommodating. My husband and grandson greatly enjoyed their fishing trips and found the guides to be first class. We're looking forward to eating the salmon! We highly recommend the lodge. Thank you Steve and Monica.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

We think so too but it is great to see that you feel so as well. Take care, see you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at the Soldotna B&B with my two children. We had a very nice room facing the Kenai river. 3 beds easily fit my family and the beds were very comfortable.

These rooms do not have a private bath though I understand some of the rooms do. There were multiple bathrooms just down the hall so this was never a problem. A separate shower room was literally right across the hall from me. We had some unseasonably warm weather for Alaska so the room got a bit toasty. Opening the windows let in a fair amount of noise early in the morning as people got off to fish.

The hosts Monika and Steven could not have been nicer. Anything you needed they were willing to help. We had really nice conversations with them and the other guests.

We did not use them to book fishing so I can't really comment on those services. Unfortunately king salmon fishing was heavily restricted by the state so many people didn't have much luck. But there are plenty of things to do in Soldotna and the B&B is pretty much in the heart of it all.

I'd stay here again if I returned to the area

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!!

FYI, we do also have rooms with private baths. However, the rooms with shared baths are also very popular because of the way everything is layed out. The shared baths are separate and individual and there are enough of them that there are no "queues". Also, every guest room with a shared bath does have a sink in the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our recent stay was wonderful. Everything was taken care of for us. Monika and Steve went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. We stayed for 5 nights and fished 4 days. The guides we were provided were professional and very knowledgeable about the areas we fished and where to find fish. The accomodations although somewhat dated were clean and well kept and I would not hesitate to stay with them again. The setting on the Kenai river could not have been better. Centrally located in the town of Soldotna it was easy to get to everything we needed. The meals provided were good and hearty. Thank you Monika and Steve! We will be back.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in had a private bath, but no balcony. I would have given up the bathroom for a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

We are very particular about which guides we employ and that tends to show.

We also strive to provide a high level of service and high quality of service in everything we do.

Fortunately, sometimes the results speak for themselves.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great place to stay, the place was immaculate. The breakfasts were very good, my favorite is the Eggs Benedict. The owners Steve and Monica went out of their way to make sure that we had a good time. They had great suggestions on where to go hiking nearby and activities for the family to do while on the peninsula.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

We are so very happy that you appreciated our efforts.

We enjoy trying to meet or exceed our guests' expectations and besides that makes you all want to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We spent several nights at the Alaska Fishing Lodge/Soldotna B&B with our family of four.
The Lodge was a perfect place for us, because it accommodated all our different needs.
We had a nice room overlooking the Kenai River.
Some family members wanted to go fishing with what turned out to a great trip with great guides.
Some wanted to go sightseeing and others relaxed at a nearby Spa.
Monika, Steve and Bill are great hosts. The guest room was comfortable and the common areas including a large living room overlooking the river and the large directly on the river were very nice.
They also have two large aluminium docks for river access.
We highly recommedn the Alaska FIshing Lodge/ Soldotna B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you very much for all the positive feedback! We really do care about what we do and try very hard to meet or exceed every guest's expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

A friend and I stayed at the B&B for a week in September focusing on Silver Salmon fishing. The owners of this beautiful place offered a perfect service for us fishermen by organizing everything. A delicious 4 am breakfast, guide pick-up on the dock of the lodge, fishing gear, fish cleaning, filleting, vack-packing and sending home our fish.
The B&B itself is located directly on the river and offers very good bank-fishing possibilities with the appropriate "Alaska-nature-feeling". On the other hand it is in walking distance to the amenities of Soldotna.
The rooms are very clean and the whole lodge has a charming, home-like atmosphere. I did not miss the private bath, but others may. I therefore only gave 4/5 points on the room rating.

Room Tip: Try to get a riverfront room. The view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sockeye404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you very much for writing a review. We appreciate the feedback. We care very much about our guests and want them all to enjoy the bounty of Alaska. Certainly part of that experience is enjoying the comfort, convenience and beauty of our lodge. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed in Soldotna in order to take a flight-seeing fishing/bear-watching combo (don't do it - see my review of High Adventure Air), so we wanted a place that was not too expensive but looked nice. This place fit the bill. We got a very nice room with three beds (good, since we are four people) with a lovely view of the Kenai River. The place was nicely furnished and comfortable. There were no private baths in the rooms (something I was not expecting!) but the public bathrooms were clean and in any event we didn't see any other guests, so it was like we had the place to ourselves. I highly recommend it if you are comfortable sharing a bathroom. I must clarify that Soldotna B&B did not organize our flight-seeing trip, and I wish we had used them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzNoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Although we do have rooms with shared baths and private baths, this guest did not request a room with private bath. We recommend to all potential guests that if they require or prefer a room with private bath that they request it. We also have the policy that if a guest is unhappy with their room for any reason, we will either move them to one of our rooms that better meets their needs or we will offer/provide them alternative, comparable lodging at another property on the river. This of course presumes that the guest informs us during their stay that they are unsatisfied with their room. Otherwise how would we know?

As is born out by many of the reviews, most guests readily accept and enjoy the rooms with shared baths once they see how they are designed and located. There are never any "lines" and there are NO stalls. The restrooms and shower rooms designated for those rooms with shared baths are all "private" in the sense that they are only occupied by one individual guest at a time. Shower rooms and restrooms are separate so that guests showering do not prevent other guests from using the restrooms and vice versa.

For all of the guestrooms with shared baths, the restrooms and showers are directly adjacent to the guestrooms not on a different floor or a mile down the hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
85 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
8.3 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: 399 Lovers Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range: £121 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, 16-Guestroom Adventure and Fishing Lodge offering fine lodging and quality guiding. Directly on Kenai River with 300 ft of private river frontage. All-you-can-eat, full breakfast served in sunroom directly overlooking Kenai River. Professional, EXPERIENCED guides for freshwater and saltwater charters. All-inclusive packages including guided fishing and outdoor activities. Bearviewing and fishing fly-outs. On-site fish processing: filleting/commercial vacuum packing/freezing. Hosts speak fluent German, Japanese, and English of course. Meeting rooms for executive and off-site meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing