We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My teenage son and I very much enjoyed our recent one week stay at the Soldotna B&B Lodge. The Lodge is clean and well-maintained, and the owners and staff were always helpful. The breakfasts are great! The Lodge has a true family atmosphere. We chose the father/son package of fishing trips (plus a fjord tour) offered by the Lodge and for us it was a perfect choice. The Lodge made all of the arrangements with local fishing guides, and every day was a different experience. (And we caught a lot of salmon, trout, halibut and lingcod.) It is nice also that the Lodge vacuum seals and deep freezes your fish right on site. We would not hesitate to go back to the Soldotna B&B Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSmartABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We enjoyed your company!

We are so glad that you enjoyed the "Father and Son" package. It is very popular becuase it does offer a one-week snapshot of what Alaska has to offer.

Many of our guests do appreciate the fact that we take care of all of their fish on-site. We have two commercial vacuum packing machines and a walk-in freezer.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    13
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
54
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Palm Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at the Soldotna Bed & Breakfast Lodge. Overall it was a very positive experience and if it's your first time there, this is a good place to go because the owner/managers and their friends and employees (Mike, Bill, Sarah) are there to help you. We learned a lot on this first trip and we did some things right and others we would change next time. Here are some things that you should consider: The lodge is conveniently in Soldotna right off the main drag and whatever you might want is very close by. Despite that it's secluded enough and has good footage right on the Kenai river. Being right on the Kenai river, you can fish right behind the lodge although the fishing there isn't the best on the river and you need to bring or buy your own fishing gear. There are about 16 rooms plus they book trips and process your fish so it's more than a typical little B&B operation. The cost is premium and in the peak season, you must book daily packages with them such as fishing with guide, bear watching, flyouts, and for us, this brought our cost to about $1K per day for a couple. Our cost for the first 4 days in August was about $4K including a fly-out and two days of river fishing, fish processing including the 50 lbs of fish we caught in Homer. In peak season, you'll need to book N-1 days of excursions with them where N is the number of nights you stay with them. The breakfasts are decent with some basics like cereals and muffins and they make one hot choice such as Eggs Benedict one day, Pancakes and bacon another, etc. The nice young lady that cooks the breakfasts overslept one day so we didn't have it breakfast day which was disappointing but she was so apologetic we forgave her. The box lunches they prepare for you for the excursions were decent: small plain bread submarine sandwiches with a slice or two of ham and cheese, lettuce, tomato or turkey with chips, cookies, a bottle of water and a small apple. The excursions we took used our energy so these sandwiches were good to have! The facilities are above average I would say given what you see around the area. I especially liked and used the outdoor grill for dinner both fish and hamburger bought at the local Safeway.

There are a couple things that are not readily clear and need to be said because the couples we spoke to there were also unaware of two things. One is that you don't have a private bathroom in your room, instead you share the bathrooms and showers that are in the hallway. To do this you take your towel with you and walk out of your room to take a shower and you need to bring a shower mat as well because the floor is very slippery. There are signs to clean up after yourself for the next guest. The toilet is similar but toilet paper and paper towels are in there. There is also a note about keeping it clean and "aiming" accurately. The reason we and the other couples were surprised was both because of the premium price plus the high rating on Trip Advisor which we had read but didn't see the fact about the shared bathrooms and showers. We learned afterward that there are 3 of the 16 rooms that did have private bathrooms. I did not see where these rooms were. Had we known that, we would have specified private bathrooms on the agreement. The other important thing that people should realize is that you must drive yourselves to the off site excursion locations and they start early, typically 6AM or 6:30AM. There are some river trips that you can get picked up at the Lodge's dock from the guide right across the river. This is very convenient but other excursions require from 20 minutes to 1 1/2 hour or more if you have chosen to go to Seward or Homer. Then you must drive back too after fishing. For Homer and Seward, you have to get up so early you will miss breakfast and then after an exhausting day of fishing you have to drive back only to crash early to recuperate for the next day. I would strongly suggest based on the other couples that unfortunately chose to book those trips, that if you want to fish or visit Seward or Homer, that you do it before or after you go to this lodge or book the night before in that town and drive back after the fishing or the next day. I believe the owners can arrange rooms and book charters in those areas for you and the guides and rooms will have been checked out by the owners but you may pay a premium. We suggest you do the relatively local excursions in Soldotna which are 20 minutes or so from the lodge.

Bottom line is that the owners of this lodge do their best to accommodate you and they and their staff work to ensure you have a good stay. If you have an issue, bring it to them and they will solve it.

Room Tip: if you want a private bathroom, you must ask for it as there are only a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nhirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Well, we can not always be perfect?

Sarah did in fact oversleep one morning the entire summer! She is still feeling bad about it! She uses her cell phone as an alarm and the battery ran out that night because she had just returned from a two-day hiking trip and forgot to put her phone on charge. She now sets both her cell phone and a regular alarm clock. Guess that will work until her cell phone battery runs out and we have a power failure at the same time!!! Hopefully we can avoid that. Sarah really did and still does feel terrible about it!!

This reviewer had an observation that you must drive to/from various excursions. For some of our excursions, this is unavoidable. Either way, some additional driving would be required even if someone would like to stay in those other locations (primarily Seward and Homer). What we have also heard from many of our guests is that they appreciate having a "base camp" where they can set up shop and not have to move. Clearly, there is a lot of time involved with packing and unpacking cars and checking in/out of the different accommodations. This is all avoided by using the "base camp" approach. Another huge advantage of using the "base camp" approach is that a guest does not have to worry about asking the questions: “Where is my fish?”, "What do I do with my fish?", “How do I get it from here to there?”. We take care of all of that!!

We do recognize that there are different approaches and that different guests have different priorities. For that reason, we do customize all kinds of packages.

We would like to point out that we have among the best river access of any lodge on the Kenai River. We have 60 feet of aluminum grate walk for easy fishing access and a separate landing also with aluminum grate walk with an aluminum floating dock. The floating dock also provides excellent fishing access. However, we do regret that there is not always a herd of salmon swimming by the dock waiting to be caught. That is unrealistic. There are different times of the summer that fishing for salmon at the lodge is unparalleled. There is NOWHERE on the river where there are always salmon swimming around waiting to be caught. As much as everyone would like that to be the case, it just does not work that way.

Soldotna B&B Lodge has a total of 16 guest rooms. Four of these guest rooms have private bathrooms. Our rooms with shared baths do have a sink in each room for brushing teeth, washing hands, putting on makeup, et cetera. The rest rooms and shower rooms (which are separate and individual) are only two or three paces from the guest rooms. The restrooms and shower rooms are cleaned daily and sometimes twice daily during the busy season and therefore are kept clean. These restrooms and shower rooms are "private" in the sense that only one individual is in them at a time and you may lock the door such that no one interrupts you while you are using the restroom or shower room (there are no "stalls" where you are next to someone else). There are five separate restrooms and four separate shower rooms such that there are never "queues" of people waiting to use them.

Once most people see how our rooms with shared baths work, they ordinarily do not mind. Of course, you may always request a guest room with a private bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My Dad and I have made four trips to the Soldotna B & B Lodge to relax and fish for salmon. We plan to return. I fish from the Kenai river bank until I either catch my daily limit or colapse - usually the limit comes first. The service is great and friendly, and the food is outstanding.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Repeat business says it all. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Staff, food and rooms were all first rate. The trips planned for us were all excellent and enjoyable. I would suggest if you fly out for Siver Salmon, do it in the AM, the "bite" is best early. River fishing and whale watching were top notch.
Steve and Monica did their best to make sure we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We are glad that we were able to make your first visit to Alaska a memorable one! Our Everything But the Kenai Sink is a really great one week long snap shot of what Alaska has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleplain, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had the best Alaska Fishing Adventure! We stayed at the Soldotna B & B Lodge for 8 nights. Steve & Monika took care of every detail. When we arrived we received our list of fishing charters for the week. Halibut fishing out of Homer, King Salmon on the Kenai, fly fishing for Trout on the Kenai, etc. All the charters were set up with professional, knowledgeable and fun to be with guides. We caught fish...lots of fish...and had a great time! After we got off our boat charters we fished for Sockeye off the dock behind the Lodge. That was a ton of fun and we were able to catch our limit most days. The Lodge took care of cleaning, vacuum packing and freezing our fish, then packed it in boxes for us to take home. We took some on the plane and some they sent out for us Fed Ex. Our room had a great view of the Kenai River. It was very clean, decorated nicely, had a comfortable bed and a vanity sink which was very convenient. The bathroom & shower rooms were just next door. We never had to wait to use them and they were always very clean. For breakfast there was a hot option and always a plentiful variety of breads, pastries, fruit and my favorite muesli. I never had it before and now I am a fan. I even tried to make it when I got home, but it wasn't as good as Monika and Sara's. I'll keep trying. We would love to do this trip again someday. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
You guys definitely played/fished hard and definitely had the fish to take home to show for it!! Enjoy all that fish and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

In July my adult son and I made our fourth pilgrimage to the Soldotna B & B Lodge. What a fantastic experience. Steve & Monica have thought of everything we needed to have a perfect fishing vacation, combined with an "experience Alaska" time. The B & B facilities are modern and comfortable, the guides Steve books are very skilled and friendly, and the location is perfect. We shipped 155 lbs. of fish home. Alaska is a really wonderful state; we have been to other parts of the Kenai and the rest of Alaska, but we will return to Steve & Monica. Oh, and Sara's eggs benedict are to die for!

Room Tip: Let Steve & Monica pick your room. They know their business. I have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McFerrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Repeat business says it all. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A true Alaskan experience. We've been coming for years for salmon season. Stayed all over the Kenai area and up through Coopers Landing. My truest disappointment is not discovering this B&B sooner. Here's a list of what you can expect:
*Fishing directly in the back of the property, with plenty of room and friendly guests.
*Outstanding staff ready to serve every need, and provide meals.
*Walking distance to local restaurants, sporting supplies, fast food, and a lounge.
*Scenic routes to run for miles, cool air, beautiful weather.
*Top notch charters arranged on site, no guest comes back empty handed.
*All fish can be processed, traded, packed immediately on site...no need to go anywhere else.
***The best of all, however, is the atmosphere and staff running this operation. Monica and Steve won't let you down, and the family becomes your own. I don't even like to visit my family, but can't wait to see them again and again. This is the most private oasis, and hate to let the secret out, but don't take my word...SEE for yourself.

Thanks for soooo many wonderful years of service, I'm sad to leave again, but looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you so very much for your words of thanks.

We certainly care about what we do and we are glad that you noticed the results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Caribou Crossing Cabins
Caribou Crossing Cabins
#8 of 41 in Soldotna
29 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN King Salmon Motel
4.0 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 16 in Kenai
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Property: Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Address: 399 Lovers Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, 16-Guestroom Adventure and Fishing Lodge offering fine lodging and quality guiding. Directly on Kenai River with 300 ft of private river frontage. All-you-can-eat, full breakfast served in sunroom directly overlooking Kenai River. Professional, EXPERIENCED guides for freshwater and saltwater charters. All-inclusive packages including guided fishing and outdoor activities. Bearviewing and fishing fly-outs. On-site fish processing: filleting/commercial vacuum packing/freezing. Hosts speak fluent German, Japanese, and English of course. Meeting rooms for executive and off-site meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing