We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pops fishing trip with 4 sons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I found this place off trip advisor last year. No first hand references. All I read was favorable, and then we arrived. The accommodations were excellent, the food was great, and the staff superb. I am not blowing smoke rings, for real. Steve was exceptionally accommodating. All we had to do was catch the fish. Our guides were A+++. I will do this again, same place, same time of year. Schedule July 1-15 for the sockeye run. We fished for kings, caught, one jack. Halibut LIMITS out of Homer, trout and salmon in Kenai, Kosilof and upper Kenai. I would recommend this trip to anyone interested in fishing. We saw lots of game floating the river. Moose, eagles, bear. JUST DO IT!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joebobwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback!

We are glad that you appreciated our efforts.

We hope to see you again this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Can't believe it's been such a long time since I stayed and fished with Steve and Monika. I was there in 2008 with customers on a fishing trip and it was the best trip EVER! Now I am going back with my wife and I would not stay anywhere else. We are planning to start off at Denali and finish our vacation fishing on the Kenai. Again, I would not stay anywhere other than with Steve and Monika, they know what they are doing and they do it superbly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, General Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for the review.

We are so glad to hear that you will coming to visit us again this year.

If you have remembered us for six years, that means we must have made a good impression the first time!

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My father and I had an exceptional time in early September validated by the 65 lbs of salmon in my freezer that was hooked, landed, filleted, vacuum-sealed, and frozen within a few hours of landing them in the boat on both the Kenai and Kasiloff Rivers. The owners were extremely helpful and responsive in supporting our questions of where to stay, for how long, with what package, etc. and incredibly friendly during our stay. We definitely appreciated how Steve provided us with different guide experiences and sections of both rivers for greater variety. Even sitting on their dock in the evening enjoying our preferred cocktail provided experiences of viewing a grizzly bear, several moose, and multiple bald eagles just across the river. We had so much fun we are already planning our next trip in 2015. Thank you Steve & Monika!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!

We are so glad that you appreciated our efforts!

We are also glad to see that you are already planning your next trip to see us. Repeat business and referrals are the best reward for us. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Traveled to Alaska for the first time in late July/early August. Alaska is beautiful this time of year... absolutely breathtaking scenery everywhere you look! The vacation was fabulous, but the Soldotna B&B Lodge was the highlight of the trip. The backyard of the lodge overlooks the Kenai River, which is the most beautiful river I have ever seen, adding to the experience. The lodge is so comfortable it feels like home. The staff was terrific, helpful and so friendly... they made us feel like family. I highly recommend the B&B for family vacations or even a couples getaway... they cater to everyone..!! Monika, Steve and all of the friendly staff couldn't do enough for us... we were very pampered..!! I can't wait to go back..!!

Room Tip: I recommend a room facing the back so you can have a beautiful view of the river.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are so glad that you appreciated our efforts to meet all your needs and expectations. We like being the "highlight" of your trip!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights in a room with a private bath. It was smaller than an average hotel room but very, very clean! The b&b was close to everything in town. Nice river frontage. Try the thai massage the day after fishing, wonderful! The halibut fishing trip was awesome! It is a long drive to Homer at 4 am and even longer drive after fishing all day. I would recommend staying in Homer for that excursion. The boat captain, Mike, and his deck hand were so terrific! My husband was ill that day (but he toughed it out!) and the boat crew did everything they could to help me. I had so much fun catching fish and cruising through the water. The b&b froze and packaged my 55lbs. of fish and shipped it home. FYI, the one fish shipping box included in the package is only the box. It cost $400 to ship my fish to Oregon. Steve, the b&b owner, was kind enough to discount off our last night's room fee because my husband was ill and we wanted to go home. The weather was bad and we chose not to do the river fishing trip. No discount there... With the rainy weather, i hope those that couldnt fish did get a refund. The owner's do not live a the lodge anymore but Steve was around to check us in and out. There is an employee in charge though. All in all, a great trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a private bath in your room! Only four rooms have them. Or you will be using shared shower r...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewwellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

A few comments:

Rain is never a cause for us to cancel activities. We go rain or shine. Therefore, we supply raingear.

Our packages include all the fish processing (filleting/vacuum packing/freezing), fish shipping boxes and preparation for shipping or carrying home. Our packages state and confirmations that we e-mail clearly state that FedEx shipping charges are not included.

We (Steve and Monika, the managers) are ordinarily on-site 12-14 hours per day, seven days a week in summer. We are always there to help in any way that we can. Even when we are not on-site, we are accessible by cell phone 24/7. Also, when we are not at the Lodge in summer, we reside only 2-3 minutes away from the Lodge. There is also staff that is on-site 24/7 in summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was our first trip to Alaska and we had an amazing time, largely due to the hospitality and helpfulness of Steve and Monika.They went out of their way to make sure that our experience was as memorable as possible. The B & B is in a great location on the banks of the river, and is very well maintained. The setting allowed my wife to enjoy all the benefits that you expect from a B & B while providing our family with an amazing fishing experience! We would not hesitate to return and do it all over again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are so very glad that we were able to make your first experience in Alaska so memorable!

It certainly was not an easy to keep up with your fishing schedule as the weather did not cooperate. We are glad that we were able to arrange other fishing activities for you with our professional guides. We recognize that having professional, experienced, entertaining guides is a very important part of what we do.

We look forward to making your subsequent trips to our Lodge equally as memorable.

We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our first trip to Alaska and we had no idea how or what to plan and what to expect. Letting Steve and Monika handle everything was the perfect solution. The B&B was a great place to lay our heads at night and having our next day's lunches prepared and a continental breakfast available in the morning was great. The weather was not always cooperative, however, Steve kept us well-informed and made alternative arrangements for us. The guides he hooked us up with were excellent, friendly and professional. We will definitely be returning. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Although we did have a private bath because I requested it, people need to realize that not all the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tls562013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We are so very glad that we were able to make your first experience in Alaska so memorable!

We look forward to making your subsequent trips to our Lodge equally as memorable.

We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kenai
73 reviews
4.8 mi away
Diamond M Ranch Resort
1.3 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: 399 Lovers Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range: £131 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, 16-Guestroom Adventure and Fishing Lodge offering fine lodging and quality guiding. Directly on Kenai River with 300 ft of private river frontage. All-you-can-eat, full breakfast served in sunroom directly overlooking Kenai River. Professional, EXPERIENCED guides for freshwater and saltwater charters. All-inclusive packages including guided fishing and outdoor activities. Bearviewing and fishing fly-outs. On-site fish processing: filleting/commercial vacuum packing/freezing. Hosts speak fluent German, Japanese, and English of course. Meeting rooms for executive and off-site meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing