We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, CT
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at the Soldotna B&B last week after reading Tripadvisor reviews. I was not disappointed. This place is run on passion. If you love fishing and sharing down time with people of like interest, this is the place for you. If you have a 4AM departure for a fishing trip, you will have a hot breakfast waiting for you at 3:30AM. Thank you Sarah. They will set up any kind of fishing adventure you want and with the latest fishing intell. Monica and Steve are the owners and are there to take care of your every need. Their staff is passionate about fishing. The rooms are very comfortable. Given a choice, request a room with a bathroom. I had a room without one. My room had a sink and it wasn't a problem walking down the hall to the shower room or separate bathroom.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback!

We do strive to accomplish what we say: "Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding".

We are so happy when we succeed and are rewarded with happy guests.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    16
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
58
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letcher, SD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at the Soldotna Bed and Breakfast three times now, for one week each time, over the past four years. We always book the "fisherman's fantasy" package and couldn't be happier. Steve and Monika do a GREAT job of organizing our fishing outings, the pier at the lodge is absolutely great to fish from, and all the staff and very helpful and courteous. We couldn't be happier...and WILL be back!

Room Tip: First floor facing the Kenai River can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.

Obviously if you have been here three times, we continue to do something correct.

We look forward to seeing you next time!! Maybe next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our first experience staying at Soldotna B&B & our 5th time coming to Alaska. This was by far was our best experience with lodging and guide services that we have ever had! What sets them apart is there actually wanting our time there to be the best and it sure was. Monica and Ken did everything they could make our stay and adventure the best- There staff is utterly OUTSTANDING. They went out of there way to get us the best guides and fishing packages possible-When one got cancelled they got right on the phone so as to book us another trip(Never done by any other group). There just a first class outfit and when we go back we will definitely book with them.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms-very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We appreciate your wonderful comments.

You are absolutely correct when you say "they are actually wanting our time there to be the best".

That is how we treat each and every guest.

Fortunately, most of the time, we succeed in our efforts to send home every guest with smiles on their faces and pleasant memories in their minds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would rate the experience a 7 on a scale of 5. The B&B is immaculate and impeccably clean throughout ... and they have onsite fishing platforms and fish processing. No need to bring or buy gear for single time usage. They provide all of the rain gear, hip boots, mud boots you need. We will DEFINITELY stay here on the our next trip to Alaska.

The owners, Monica and Steve, and their hosts, Sarah and Bill, are amazing people. Monica created us at the front door, and made us feel at home from the moment of our arrival (and we got a hug on departure). Sarah creates fresh pastries and breakfasts from scratch that are delicious and served to you in a beautiful sunroom. Steve contracts only with the best guide services, who not only put us on the fish when others were not catching, but the guides he selects are knowledgeable, attentive and genuinely nice people. The caretaker, Bill, is a delightful, courteous, entertaining host with whom you will want to share a class of wine in the evenings. Robert, their fish processing manager, does an incredible job of cleaning, filleting and flash freezing your catch on the premises … and they arrange for your FedEx/UPS shipment home after your Alaska vacation is completed.

Finally, their 40’ aluminum fishing platform and stairwell to the Kenai River is safe, sturdy and well positioned for bank fishing for sockeye salmon. Just be careful that the person next to you knows the “Kenia Twitch” technique for sockeye fishing and be on the lookout for flying lead and hooks (or ask them to get a lesson from Bill or Steve’s dad, Scott).

Room Tip: Ask for a river view with balcony. The Eurpoean style family bathrooms and showers are immaculatel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments.

We are very glad that you appreciate our efforts and the efforts of our entire staff!!

We really do care about all of our customers!

We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

While there may be many places to stay in the Soldotna/Kenai area, the reason to choose this Lodge is their full service attitude! Steve works diligently to ensure you have amazing outings and experiences that will sends you home with fond memories about this beautiful corner of Alaska. Sarah feeds you well each morning, serving you with smiles and a feeling that YOU are the most important person in the Lodge! She and Monika prepare a hearty lunch to take on each adventure. Guests are placed in the hands of the finest Fishing Guides, or flown to breathtaking locations by the most competent Bush Pilots Alaska has to offer! Bill makes sure you have appropriate licenses and gear, sharing stories and tips as he prepares you for your experiences. He takes you on a tour of the facility including the special kitchen set up near the deck and grill where you have the option of preparing your own fresh catch at the end of the day. Everyone associated with this lodge has a super professional, yet genuinely warm and welcoming, attitude that will make you want to return again and again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so very much for all of your kind words. We are happy that you appreciate all of our efforts.

and in your own words . . . we hope that you will "return again and again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The food was delicious and creative. The home and rooms were meticulously clean and comfortable. The daily charters were an experience of a lifetime! The staffs attention to detail and presence was appreciated. Their friendliness helped us feel at home. We were able to walk into town several times and easily found shops, restaurants, and bars. This Bed & Breakfast is definitely one we would come to again if ever in the Kenai Peninsula for another vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

We do take seriously our endeavor to provide "Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding" and we are rewarded when guests appreciate our efforts.

Take care and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here in June, 2014. Our stay here was wonderful. Sarah prepared excellent breakfasts each morning and sent a delicious sack lunch with us for our fishing trips. We had Joe the first day on the Kenai River and just had a fabulous time catching the first salmon we've ever caught. The second day we fished the Kasilof River with Ben. The fishing was slow this day but we still had a great time. The third day we went to Wolverine Creek with Derrick as our guide. This was one of our favorite days in Alaska. The staff at the B and B are excellent. Steve had our fished all boxed for us when we came back through Soldotna and even helped us Fed Ex some things home. They go the extra mile at this place for their customers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reading54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words.

We appreciate the fact that you recognize we "go the extra mile".

We try to do that for all of guests. Fortunately, most of the time, we succeed!!

We are glad that you enjoyed our guides. We are very particular about whom we employ and we hope that is reflected in the quality of our guides.

We are very dedicated in our efforts to provide "Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kenai
62 reviews
4.8 mi away
Diamond M Ranch Resort
1.3 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Property: Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Address: 399 Lovers Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, 16-Guestroom Adventure and Fishing Lodge offering fine lodging and quality guiding. Directly on Kenai River with 300 ft of private river frontage. All-you-can-eat, full breakfast served in sunroom directly overlooking Kenai River. Professional, EXPERIENCED guides for freshwater and saltwater charters. All-inclusive packages including guided fishing and outdoor activities. Bearviewing and fishing fly-outs. On-site fish processing: filleting/commercial vacuum packing/freezing. Hosts speak fluent German, Japanese, and English of course. Meeting rooms for executive and off-site meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing