We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed at the Soldotna B& B because it was the only lodging available for the Kennel Club Dog Show that would accept our show dog and the one time we weren't in our RV. Having spent my entire life in Alaska and knowing the problems of tourist season Soldotna B & B was a treasure find. Our room was large and roomy and spotless. In fact the entire property was spotless throughout and the landscaping was well groomed. The bathrooms and showers were across the hallway and not once did we hear any noise of the fishermen coming or goings. Monika and Steve were delightful and the breakfast they cooked up was splended. I had expected the same breakfast each morning but to our surprise it was different all three days. The hazel nut french toast was to die for and the apple, blueberry, banana pancakes were so light and fluffy they could float. I appreciated the community kitchen area, shared fridge and microwave for those quickie meals during show breaks. The river view was lovely and for my 1st experience staying in a B&B I don't think I could have asked for any more. I raved so much my husband wants to come spend a couple of nights. As for price it was below or on par with other establishments and considering the fantastic breakfast which was included well worth the value. Having spent many a treasured moment fishing on the Kenai River as a child it was great to sit out on the deck and relish those memories. Monika, Steve, Bill and Erika, see you next July for sure

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    14
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
63
55
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I stayed at the Soldotna B&B for three nights with two friends on a eight night long AK fishing trip. The Lodge was exactly what we wanted and the fishing trips that we chartered from there were great. The lodge was exceptionally clean and we were able to use the outside grilling facilities to cook our fresh fish each night which was great. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2009

The lodge offers several different packages for fishing, wildlife and nature viewing. They work closely with other charter services to try and get you the best expereince possible. The owners and staff at the lodge are terrific. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and make your stay pleasant. The lodge has 16 different rooms and can accomodate around 60 people. Rooms are kept very clean. Most share shower and restroom facilities. Breakfast is provided by the lodge and lunch is provided if not provided by the charter service for your daily activity. You are on your own for dinner. If you fish you have the option of cooking some of your catch at the lodge. Restaraunt selection in Soldotna is limited but adequate. The lodge also accomodated my diet, which is vegatarian. The fishing was great and the wildlife was awesome. This was our first trip to Alaska and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geigenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Just returned from two weeks in Alaska (our first trip there). Stayed the first 6 days at this wonderful fishing lodge & B&B. Our hosts could not have been more hospitable and
helpful. Went there on a four event fishing/nature viewing package. Three fishing trips (halibut and king salmon on a charter out of Homer, a fly-out across Cook Inlet to a salmon spawning creek headwater complete with bears and sockeye, a middle Kenai River trophy rainbow and sockeye trip and, finally, a Kenai Fiords day trip out of Seward for wildlife and glacier watching. Spent the fifth day at the Kenai River Festival there in Soldotna. All events were as advertised and very enjoyable. Have become hooked on salmon fishing and want to return. Cost was very reasonable and would recommend it to all my friends. As a surprise event, even had a mother moose and her new-born calf right outside our room for the first two days. Also had 51 lbs. of halibut and salmon filets packed and shipped home by the Lodge. Steve, Monika and Bill do a great job.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duke6066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olching, Bavaria
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Our family of four spent a week at this wonderful lodge. The location directly on the Kenai river is marvelous and conveniently located in town. The hosts/owners were very polite and entertaining and also very well informed about local activities. We did a little bit of everything during our stay and it was all arranged by the lodge staff. The fishing guides we went with (Bill, Joe, Dave) were great. All of our fish was fileted, vacuum packed, and boxed very nicely all of which was included in our package. They also fed-exed our frozen catch door to door. We also did a bear viewing fly-out and a glacier viewing day cruise arranged by the lodge.

During our stay, we stayed in rooms with private bath and shared baths. All of the rooms were extremely clean and well maintained. The facility also has a very nice dock on the river and a bunch of other outdoor amenities. It also has a huge common living area in the case of bad weather. We were served nice full breakfasts in a sunroom which overlooks the river.

Overall had a great experience and would love to go back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HipFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

My husband stayed for one night at Soldotna B&B Lodge in Sept. Our room was with a shared bath which caused us no problem. Everything was clean and neat. The location was lovely overlooking the river. Very nice people....nice breakfast.

  • Liked — Lovely room with view of river...friendly owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badboy10wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We stayed two nights at this lodge (we would have left after one night if the reservation allowed it). It is a worn-out property that appears to have not been redecorated or updated in at least 15 years, and the accommodations are way overpriced ($200/night for a small very tired room). The owners are selling, and were not to be seen.

The exhaust fan in the kitchen was not working, so the place was full of strong cooking smells from dinner that permeated the rooms and made it hard to sleep, and then again at 5:00 am when the first breakfast was started. The breakfast was minimal. The resident manager is hospitable, and the on-river location is good. At half the price, guests could tolerate the facility's shortcomings.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor value
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Laker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2010
Soldotna B&B Lodge and Alaska Fishing Charters is very sincere about our motto: “Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding”. We strive to always provide excellent service but unfortunately sometimes we do not succeed. From those experiences, we can only learn. Most of the positive reviews will reflect the fact that we strive to provide excellent service and that normally, we do succeed. We are continually trying to improve our level of service. We invite any potential guest to contact us and then compare our amenities, services, and prices with any other river property in our area.

We have the policy that if a guest is unhappy with their room for any reason, we will attempt to move them to one of our rooms that better meets their needs. Otherwise, we offer them alternative, comparable lodging at one of our partner riverside B&Bs to better meet their needs. Or they may cancel their lodging and move on. This of course presumes that the guest informs us during their stay that they are unsatisfied with their room. Otherwise how would we know? We do not allow guests to change their plans at the last moment for convenience sake. This violates our cancellation policy, which they are informed of at the time the reservation is made.

Given that we are a Bed and Breakfast, most guests understand that there will be at certain times of the day smells of breakfast cooking. It is also a home, so there may be at certain times of the day smells of dinner cooking. This is typically part of the Bed and Breakfast experience. By the majority of our guests, our breakfasts are a highlight, which we personally serve. In any case, they are also “all-you-can-eat” with many guests asking for seconds because they like it so much. That not withstanding, our ventilation fan was broken for around one month during the busiest time of the entire year. Unfortunately, it proved very difficult to find replacement parts because it is a custom installation. It is also much more difficult to find things in Alaska than most states. Albeit with a since repaired exhaust fan, there is definitely less of an impact than without.

As the proprietors of Soldotna B&B Lodge, either my wife (Monika) or I (Steve) are on-site normally 7 days per week from around 4:30 am till around 8-10 pm. However, there clearly are RARE days where we are fortunate enough to break-away. We have had the same on-site helper for 7 of the last 8 years and he (Bill) is by most guests considered fantastic as is pointed out by the reviewer “The resident manager is hospitable”. Yes, Soldotna B&B Lodge is for sale. However, this does not affect the level of our service nor our commitment, we have continued to upgrade aspects of our property every year and still invest innumerable hours on the property serving our guests.

We are members of the Soldotna Chamber of Commerce and the Kenai Chamber of Commerce as well as the Kenai Peninsula B&B Association and the State of Alaska B&B Association. In fact, I (Steve) am also a former Vice President Of The Board of the Kenai Peninsula Tourism Marketing Council. Soldotna B&B Lodge is still an active member of all of these associations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
132 reviews
8.3 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kenai
58 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caribou Crossing Cabins
Caribou Crossing Cabins
#10 of 44 in Soldotna
33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Property: Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Address: 399 Lovers Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, 16-Guestroom Adventure and Fishing Lodge offering fine lodging and quality guiding. Directly on Kenai River with 300 ft of private river frontage. All-you-can-eat, full breakfast served in sunroom directly overlooking Kenai River. Professional, EXPERIENCED guides for freshwater and saltwater charters. All-inclusive packages including guided fishing and outdoor activities. Bearviewing and fishing fly-outs. On-site fish processing: filleting/commercial vacuum packing/freezing. Hosts speak fluent German, Japanese, and English of course. Meeting rooms for executive and off-site meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing